RSS

REVIEW: The Whole Truth “Pilot” S1 E1

25 Sep

Wow this show tanked in the ratings!   That I was not expecting and I’m not really sure why it didn’t do very well.  I know it was against Part II of the season premiere of L&O SVU and the new show The Defenders, but wow!  It has a good cast and a good premise so what happened?

Since I’m not an industry member or a TV expert by ANY means, I’m not a good judge at knowing the pulse of the TV viewer.  I would have surmised that most TV viewers like serialized dramas, law shows, cop shows, and investigative shows.   Why else would there be 3 CSIs, 2 NCISs, 2 Criminal Minds (the 2nd is coming in the spring), and 900 Law & Orders?   So I would have thought The Whole Truth, at least out of the gate, would do well.  I don’t remember reading any bad press about the show or heard anything bad from people who saw advanced copies of the pilot so what gives?  I do, however, recall reading some other recaps AFTER the show aired that weren’t very endearing.  But I didn’t have the same opinion.

I really liked this show.  I am very excited to see Maura Tierney back on TV, especially after all she had to survive with her health last year!   I didn’t think I was going to like Rob Morrow’s character after seeing promotions for the show.  But I liked his character much more than I thought I would.  I am a big fan of law shows.  The Practice is my all time favorite.   But usually shows like this give you just one side of the equation.  Or the show is about one side, even though you do see the other, so you are conditioned to root for them to win.  No one wants to see a show about defense lawyers who always lose to the prosecution.  So 95% of the time, they do win.  With The Whole Truth, both sides are the star of the show so in theory, it should always be a crap shoot who wins.  This week’s case, about a teacher charged with the rape and murder of one of his students, was a toss-up.  I really didn’t know who was going to win.  I thought he was guilty.  Then at one point I thought it was either his son or his daughter that committed the crime.  But at the end of the show, the teacher is convicted and the jury was right because the last scene shows the daughter going through her father’s book and finding a key piece of evidence, covered in the victim’s blood, falling on the floor.

I liked seeing the case develop from both sides and seeing how certain conversations come back into play after seeing the defense or prosecution’s side of the investigation.  I know that bothered some people who saw the show but it didn’t bother me at all.  I liked how there is a competition and rivalry between Jimmy and Kathryn but there is also a mutual respect of what the other person has to do for their job.  Sometimes in these types of shows, you don’t get that kind of respect.   There is a hatred more than a rivalry and I think in some of those shows, that’s how the writers want it to be.  In a show like this, you need to make both sides, to some degree, likable and I think the writers did that.  And I thought they did a good job casting.

I shouldn’t get too attached to this show because if the ratings continue like they did this week, this show won’t see Halloween.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 25, 2010 in ABC, Recaps and Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “REVIEW: The Whole Truth “Pilot” S1 E1

  1. Mike

    September 25, 2010 at 11:02 pm

    The Defenders was more fun.

     
    • fortheloveoftv

      September 26, 2010 at 9:23 am

      I agree. That is going to be my next review. That show surprised me with how much I enjoyed it!

       

Leave a Reply

 
