RSS

RECAP: Glee “Britney/Brittany” S2 E2

29 Sep

Since I do have a full-time job (damn you career) I have to skip over some reviews/recaps or I will always be 6-7 episodes behind.   So all I am going to say about “Audition” was that I really enjoyed it.  Coach Beiste is a good addition to the cast, Charice can sing the doors off the Pentagon, and Cheyenne Jackson was not on the show long enough and didn’t sing…bummer.   But I guess since he is the new Vocal Adrenaline coach, Idina Menzel won’t be coming back to Glee?   Unless they decide to re-incorporate Rachel’s mom some how, which I hope they do.

On the flip side, I didn’t like this episode at all!   And it has nothing to do with the fact that I am not a Britney Spears fan.  It’s because this episode epitomizes everything I hoped Glee would NOT become, a show to be there for the sole purpose of promoting music and iTunes downloads, storyline and characters will get fit in where they can.   That is what B/B felt like.  Really, what SL did this episode move forward?  Other than Brittany comprehending that she can move out of the shadow of Britney Spears and Will figuring out he still has feelings for Emma, what character SL moved forward?  None.   And that has me SERIOUSLY concerned about this show moving forward.

I’m not going to lie, I am a Broadway junkie.   I LOVE live theater.   So when Glee hit my TV, I fell in love instantly with the music, the people, the basis of the show.  Not to mention people like Kristin Chenoweth, Idina Menzel, Matthew Morrison, and Lea Michele, all broadway stars, were going to be part of this series.  I thought last season was tremendous.  There was humor, emotion, real situations and real solutions to everyday problems, and people with amazing talent.  There was nothing else like it on TV.  But I hope E2 of S2 is not going to be indicative of the series moving forward.   We have already had Madonna, Lady Gaga, and Britney Spears episodes.   And I have heard they are looking to do another Madonna episode as well as Michael Jackson and Bruce Springsteen.   To me that screams “I am doing this to sell more music and nothing else…character development be damned!”  And it works because I’m one of those people!   But you know why it worked for me, because the music was originally incorporated into the show’s SL poignantly and seamlessly and the songs selected fit what was going on in the show at the time.  As a result, I was exposed to new music I hadn’t heard before or heard a different spin on an old favorite of mine.   Even the Madonna episode had a point and fit the show.   I’d rather the writers go back to that….write for the characters and find music to fit the SL.   Not the other way around.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 29, 2010 in FOX, Recaps and Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
