RSS

“Shameless” is truly shameless

07 Jan

I’ve seen some previews for this show and it did nothing for me but I was debating watching the pilot since I am planning on watching “Episodes.”   Well after reading the article posted below, no thank you.

Apparently in the pilot as William H Macy is introducing his children to us, one of them is showing how much he “loves” animals by bringing them upstairs and torturing them.  Again, apparently in the scene the young boy is shown holding a cat over a blow torch and right as he turns it on, you hear the cat scream and it changes to another scene.

Okay, in what world is that meant to be funny?  I know this show is supposed to show some pretty lascivious and vulgar behavior and try to put a funny spin on it.  I have no problem with that.  But animal torture?  That’s like saying we are going to take a rape scene and find the humor in it.   I really don’t get it and I don’t understand what the writers, producers, actors, and execs and Showtime were thinking.  Is that scene really necessary?  Can’t you show the kid is a few burgers short of a happy meal without using animal torture as a tool?  Surely there must have been something “funnier” than that to show?  How did not one person say, “you know what, this probably isn’t a good idea and maybe pushing the envelope JUST a bit.  Maybe it should end up on the cutting room floor.”

Does this indicate that people have gone too far in trying to “push the envelope” as an industry to be the standout show or movie?  I don’t know.  Maybe it’s me and I’m getting grumpy in my late 30s.  Actually I take that back, it isn’t me.  There is nothing wrong with someone being disturbed over the use of animal torture as a comedic element in a show.  I just don’t think it’s needed and there are more creative ways the writers and directors could have come up with to show the creepiness of the kid.  But decide for yourself.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/ed-martin/animal-torture-as-enterta_b_805773.html

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 7, 2011 in Quick Reviews/Recaps, Showtime

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to ““Shameless” is truly shameless

  1. Tom Myler

    February 6, 2011 at 5:00 pm

    I have been enjoying this new Showtime series despite that “introduction” of the animal-torturing son. I guess I was hoping the situation wouldn’t materialize. But then, in episode 4, Emmy Rossum’s character made a nonchalant comment that the kid was probably out trying to find a poor, defenseless animal to torture.

    Horrific dialog, Emmy Rossum — and acted without even a little bit of concern whatsoever. Both the writers and Rossum are at fault here.

    I think I’ll stop watching Shameless.

     
  2. fortheloveoftv

    February 6, 2011 at 6:50 pm

    I’m sorry to hear that. I was hoping it would be a one time thing but it doesn’t sound like it. I just don’t get how people think that’s funny. I have a pretty good sense of humor, if I do say so myself, but I just don’t find that funny at all.

    You should check out Episodes. Now that’s a funny show!!!

     
  3. Smokey

    January 11, 2014 at 11:43 pm

    I don’t know what they were thinking with this, it’s disgusting enough in itself but the fact that they tried to use it for the sake of dark humor is just appalling. It’s pretty stupid the way that they show this in the trailer and yet you’re supposed to be like “Boy that’s one crazy family! Ya gotta love em!” even though they just depicted the son as an animal torturer. There is way too much garbage on TV these days.

     

Leave a Reply

 
