RSS

QUICK REVIEW: Survivor Redemption Island “You’re Looking At the New Leader of Our Tribe” S22 E1

21 Feb

I do not like reality TV.  It’s just not my thing.  I guess the reason is because I don’t like what reality TV has become…Jersey Shore, Real Housewives, etc.  It’s a bunch of crap and it’s pathetic.   For me, there is only one reality show worth watching.  It was the first, it was the best, and it still is one of the best hours on TV…Survivor!!!!   Why do I love Survivor?   It’s because there is no better juxtaposition of the social, physical, and intellectual elements that make up this show, on TV.  It’s fascinating to watch and it’s different every time.  I’ve never missed a season.

This season introduces a new element…redemption island.  I don’t know how I feel about this but I am willing to keep an open mind to see how it goes.  They had an element like this in a previous season where some previously voted off people came back into the game and I hated it.   But it was twist and no one had any idea it was coming.  Now it’s front and center and every one is aware of this new part of the game.   RI also brings back 2 very popular if not polarizing players…”Boston” Rob Mariano and Russell Hantz.  Talk about a controversial decision on the network’s part!  People are either loving or hating this.  I love it. I don’t care that Boston Rob is playing for his 4th time.  That guy is GREAT TV.  I would watch him all the time.   But I can also understand why people are sick of seeing him.  As for Russell, I hate the guy.  I think he’s an asshole and I don’t think there is one likable thing about him.  But having said that, he is also great TV.  Every show needs a villain and Russell is one of the best TV villains I have ever seen.  I also think he got royally screwed in Survivor Samoa.  The guy is a jerk but there is no way Natalie should have beaten him that season.

You know what always bugs me.   Seeing people come on Survivor and making the same mistakes over and over again.  I can’t tell you how many times my husband and I have yelled at the TV, “HAVE YOU PEOPLE NEVER WATCHED THIS SHOW!!!!”   If you are ever planning on going on Survivor, here are a few tid bits that may help you stay around for a while:

  1. Don’t be a bossy, know-it-all the first 3 days out there.  No one likes to be told what to do and no one likes to be bossed around.  Don’t be obnoxious and don’t be an ass.   You can assist and offer suggestions in a calm and respectful manner.  You don’t need to bully people.  This one has always been a no brainer to me and still amazes me every time I see people do it.
  2. Don’t align yourself with someone too quickly.  Wait it out a bit.   Be observant.  Go with the flow.  Be a team player and start to learn who will best suit your needs to get you to the end.   It AMAZES me when I see two people who just met 3 hours ago making an agreement to trust each other until the end.  Are you kidding me!
  3. When you find a hidden immunity idol, DON’T TELL ANYONE!!!!   I cannot believe how over and over again, people find hidden immunity idols and then proceed to tell someone.  If you can’t 100% trust the person you are about to tell, don’t tell them!!!  It usually leads to problems and issues because word quickly spreads around camp because inevitably someone is told who can’t be trusted.  Stop sharing this info people!
  4. Don’t get rid of physically strong people early.  In the early stages of the game, you need to win challenges.   The more challenges you win, the more you don’t have to go to tribal council, the longer you stay in the game.  It’s that simple.  I know there are annoying people but suck it up if they can help you win.  They will eventually get the boot anyway.  And by getting rid of physical “threats” too early in the game weakens your tribe to the point you will start to lose.  Which means a higher chance of you possibly going home.

There were many mistakes made by people in this season very early and it led to one of the BEST first tribal councils in the history of the show.  When you are playing Survivor with former players on your tribe, you have to be so careful.  Especially with players as crafty as Rob and Russell.  They will notice what you are doing and they will use it to their advantage.  Prime example…Kristina started looking for the hidden immunity idol clue in the Craftman’s tool box.  Smart girl and it was a great idea.  Her only problem, she was so obvious about it that Rob noticed it.  Now she put herself on Rob’s radar as someone to lookout for.  And it comes back to bite her at tribal council.  She doesn’t find a clue but goes searching for it anyway and ends up finding it!  I give her mad props because I read that after Russell’s season of finding idols so easily, they made the hidden locations and clues, much more difficult.  She ends up telling Francesca and she wants to put a plan in place to get out Rob.   While I understand wanting to get Rob out of the game, it’s too big of a move too soon.  Rob has his little newbie crew that when he says jump, they say how high.  If you get rid of their hero, you will be next because they will hate you for it.  While I applaud wanting to make a power move, it was way too soon for that.  Kristina wasn’t thinking 6 days ahead.  She was only thinking about the immediate future and that can kill you on Survivor.  Kristina’s other mistake was aligning herself with Phillip.  Phillip is a nut job.  How was that man a federal agent?  Oh did you know?  Phillip’s a federal agent.  He seems nice enough but with him being a federal agent, he felt the empowerment to boss everyone around camp.  Did you hear Phillip was a federal agent?  In case you didn’t know he was a federal agent, he will have no problem telling about every 30 seconds.  Yikes!  This guy is a complete loose cannon, he doesn’t listen to anyone, he thinks he has all the answers…there were so many warning flags with this guy, it was ridiculous.  But in one of his paranoid filled rants, Kristina shows him the hidden immunity idol and tells him the whole plan.  Oh God!  You knew this wasn’t going to be good.  Fast forward to tribal council where all hell breaks loose.

At tribal council, the usual questions come from Jeff about how the survivors are feeling and how camp life is…pretty innocuous questions.  The next thing you know, Phillip has diarrhea of the mouth and starts telling everyone the plan to vote out Rob.  So of course Rob is going to use this to his advantage in front of his harem and questions Kristina and Francesca about voting him out.  Kristina says that was not the plan and Francesca never wanted to vote out Rob.  Francesca agrees with her and when that happens, Agent Phillip shoots his mouth off again.   He starts kissing Rob’s ass by saying that isn’t true and that the plan was for the 3 of them to vote for Rob and convince everyone else to vote for Kristina since she has a hidden immunity idol.  SAY WHAT!!!!  My husband and I couldn’t believe he just did that!!!  Not cool Phillip, not cool.  Again, have you never seen Survivor before?  You don’t rat out your alliance like that and give out that information.  But I also blame Kristina because you should have known that Phillip had a screw loose and you couldn’t trust anything about that man.  So Rob asks to see the idol and makes a deal with Kristina…give him the idol and she doesn’t get voted out.  She says no. They vote and Kristina makes a bold move and doesn’t play her idol. Unfortunately, Francesca gets voted out.  She is probably the first person ever voted out of Survivor (that wasn’t some sort of All Star or Reunion show ) that I was really sad to see go.

If this is the type of fireworks we can expect to see from this season, I am really looking forward to RI.  I didn’t hate Nicaragua as much as some other people did but it was certainly a let down after the INCREDIBLE season that was Heroes vs Villains.  I am very anxious to see the RI element but we probably won’t see that until around the 3rd episode since someone else needs to be kicked off before we have a showdown.

What do you guys think about Rob and Russell?  Do you see them sticking around for a while or do you see them getting voted out?  I see Rob sticking around since his harem lives and dies on every word he says.   If Rob can make it to the merge with a strong alliance, I can see him getting to end and possibly winning.  Russell has a much bigger target on his back.  He is already despised and not trusted so I really don’t see him lasting until the merge.  If he does go far, I will have a whole new respect for that man (still hate him though.)  But I think his days are numbered.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 21, 2011 in CBS, Quick Reviews/Recaps

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
