RSS

The Event is Back Tonight

07 Mar

Do you even care?  I’m not sure if I do.  I still have 4 episodes on the DVR from the fall that I have yet to watch.  That’s never a good sign.  I hate to say it but it has been so long since the show has been on that I really don’t care what happens at this point.

I will keep saying this until someone tells me to shut the hell up (and even then I probably won’t but it may make me cry) but networks have too many shows for a single TV season.  Do you know the last time The Event was on TV?  NOVEMBER 29TH!  Yes, right around Thanksgiving.  That was the last new episode of The Event. It was 13 weeks ago….over 3 months.  This is a perfect illustration of a network killing a show.   The Event has been off for so long that I have lost interest in it.  In fact, I wouldn’t be surprised if people thought it was canceled.  At this point, it probably will be.

NBC pulled The Event to premiere The Cape and unfortunately we all know how that worked out.  So NBC wasted 9 weeks with The Cape and ostensibly destroyed The Event.  Now the ratings for The Event weren’t great.   I’ll give you that.  But do you really think having a show like The Event being off the air for over 3 months is going to HELP the ratings?  Of course not!  I would have rather seen NBC pull The Cape from broadcast and run the episodes on-line, and re-run the first 10 episodes of the Event or even some recap episodes and re promote the comeback heavily and bring it back in February.  If they really cared about the show and helping it to succeed, they would have handled it differently, but they didn’t.  To me that says, they have already given up on this show and are content to let it run out and not bring it back next year.

Are you going to watch The Event when it comes back tonight or are you like me and are fine with walking away from it at this point?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 7, 2011 in NBC, Returning Shows

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
