RSS

QUICK REVIEW: Glee “Sexy” S2 E15

11 Mar

Gleeks are not going to like me for this review.  This was back to being a typically bad season 2 episode.  Although I liked the songs and the renditions more than other people, the stories, again, were awful and all over the place.  Nothing made sense.  Plot lines were disjointed and completely far-fetched.  Aside from the songs, the only part of this episode that really stood out as great, was Burt Hummel.  Mike O’Malley really deserves the Emmy this year because he is outstanding!

Not too sound like an old fart, which I’m sure I will, but what was the point of this episode?  I don’t understand.  Was it to tell kids to not have sex?  To tell kids to have sex?  To teach high-school kids how to be sexy?  To teach kids to wait until they’re 30 for sex?  There was such a mixed message in this episode I really don’t know what the message was.  And if I were in McKinney, I would be more confused about sex than ever.  Even Will gave mixed signals.  In the course of 30 seconds, he flashes a sign to Holly that says “Too Much?” meaning that maybe she should tone it down. Then he shows all signs of being turned on by her as well as dancing along with the kids!!!  Are you kidding me?   While I thought Gwyneth did a great job with Joan Jett’s “Do You Want to Touch Me” it was completely inappropriate for high school kids.

It must be in Darren Criss’ contract that at least once an episode he and the Warblers have a song.  Remember the completely random number from the Super Bowl that was dumb and pointless?  So was this one.  The Warblers now need to be sexy?   That doesn’t seem to fit with their rigid structure and their devotion to tradition.  I hate when writers do this, especially on this show.   The theme of the show is SEXY so character development and staying true to character be damned because we are sticking with the theme!  And how do the Warblers practice their “sexy?”  With an all girls’ school watching to let them know if they are sexy.  It didn’t work.   The number wasn’t sexy at all.  And by the camera flashing all over the place and bubbles spewing everywhere, it killed whatever possible momentum it may have had.  Really?  You think drowning high school kids in bubbles are sexy?  Ok.  The only thing that came out of this was the Kurt is definitely NOT sexy.   Which leads to a sex talk between him and Blaine which leads to….

Blaine completely stepping over the line and having a sex talk with Burt.  How is this in any way acceptable?  I know it came from a good place and I know he was very sweet about it but it doesn’t change the fact that it was completely out of line.  I mean would it have been ok if Quinn went to Finn’s mom to tell her how she should talk to Finn about sex?   No.  I don’t care if you are talking about gay sex or straight sex, it isn’t right for the girlfriend/boyfriend/potential love interest to go to the parent and tell them how they should handle this very private, personal discussion with THEIR child.  At least I give Blaine credit for realizing how completely out of line he was being and acknowledging it.  And Burt handled it like a perfect gentleman.  But it wasn’t all bad because it led to the best part of the whole show.

Burt sat down with Kurt to talk about sex.  As you can imagine both parties were completely uncomfortable but both handled the situation with respect and grace.  This is where the writers have done an excellent job with Burt’s character and Mike O’Malley has hit it out of the park.  Burt is staying true to character by still being uncomfortable and getting used to his son being gay yet still showing sensitivity and compassion and a real effort to try to understand his son and be there for him.   It’s always so wonderful to watch.

The other stand out of the episode was Naya Rivera.  Here is another person that no matter what stays true to her character.   And we learn that she is also confused about her sexuality.  She has real feelings for Brittany but is it because she’s her best friend or something more?  She admits that she likes both men and women but right now, there is no one she cares about more than Brittany.  Holly helps them figure this out by singing a beautiful rendition of Fleetwood Mac’s “Landslide.”  Afterwards, Santana goes to Brittany to tell her that she truly loves her and wants to be with her but Brittany says she’s with Artie and she while she loves Santana, she also loves Artie.  But she is going to stay with Artie because she can’t hurt him.   That was an interesting comment by her.  I know she said she loved Artie but she gave her reason for staying with him so she won’t hurt him.  So would she rather be with Santana but to not hurt Artie she is staying with him?  I hope that isn’t the case.  As well all know, Brittany is not the sharpest tool in the shed and I can totally see her telling Artie that she wouldn’t leave him so she wouldn’t hurt him but not because she loved him more.   If that happens you might as well stick a knife in him.  I never understood when people say things like that.  “I can’t leave so and so because it will hurt them.”   But staying with them out of pity won’t hurt more?   Ugh.   I know I need to cut them some slack.  They’re only high school kids.

Finally we have the Will/Emma/Carl/Holly quadrangle going on.  We find out that Emma still hasn’t done the deed with her HUSBAND OF 4 MONTHS Carl.  For some reason, Carl decides talking to a substitute teacher who is subbing for the sex-ed teacher will be able to help them out.  I’m not even going to go there on that ridiculousness.   But when the 3 of them sit down, Holly flat-out asks Emma if she still has feelings for Will and she honestly answers that she is confused by her feelings for him.  Carl then tells her that she and her confused feelings can stay at the condo while he goes to a hotel.  I feel bad for Carl.  He was in a lose-lose situation from the beginning and John Stamos deserves better than that!   Maybe he can run off with Holly?  On no wait!  Now she has decided to make a play for Will since going after someone who some one else is in love with turns her own.   That’s pretty twisted and rude but alright.

Some people had a major issue with the fact that Gwyneth performed most of the songs.  I didn’t have a problem with it at all.  Why have a guest star come on and sing one song?   What’s the point?  She sang 2 songs and did a duet with Will.  I don’t think there is anything wrong with that.  And all her songs were good (especially since I actually knew them!!)  Where I do agree in regards to guest starts on the show, is that the episode becomes completely about that guest star and not the plot.  This has been brought up countless times and is truly one of the biggest downfalls of this show.  They constantly sacrifice the plot for guest stars and increasing iTunes downloads.  It makes me fear how they are going to handle this SPOILER ALERT………STOP READING NOW….character death that happens at Regionals…..SPOILER ENDED.

I warned you Gleeks that you weren’t going to like this post!    Sorry!!!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 11, 2011 in FOX, Quick Reviews/Recaps

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “QUICK REVIEW: Glee “Sexy” S2 E15

  1. MsELeigh

    March 12, 2011 at 9:54 pm

    I thought I was the only one not really feeling Glee this season I still watch it faithfully. I hated the Gwyneth Episode.

     
    • fortheloveoftv

      March 12, 2011 at 10:55 pm

      Me too. I still watch it every week because the cast is incredibly talented. I just hate what the show has turned into. I loved it so much in the beginning and I really think it has the potential to be a truly great show. That’s why I’m so hard on it! I still have hope but it has really been season. I also don’t think it helped that it was already renewed for Season 3 before Season 2 even got started.

      Thanks for checking out the blog! I appreciate the comments!

       

Leave a Reply

 
