RSS

NBC Renews Three Shows!!!!

18 Mar

Some NBC comedies got a very nice St Patty’s Day present.   Community, Parks and Recreation, and The Office have all been renewed for the 2011-2012 season.  No huge shockers here but The Office is a teeny tiny bit surprising considering this will be the first season without Steve Carell.  I guess NBC wants to see how the show will fare without him.  Makes perfect sense, I just wasn’t sure NBC was willing to take that chance.  But since most of their shows are awful and not getting renewed, it makes sense that they would keep a solid show….Michael Scott or no Michael Scott.

I guess this may not be good news for Perfect Couple and Outsourced that these were not renewed with the other shows.   And bubble shows like Chuck, Parenthood, and The Event are still waiting to hear their fates which may not come until the official announcements in May.  I think Parenthood is safe, I think The Event is gone, and Chuck, as always, is a toss-up.  I hope Chuck comes back and you know what, each season it finds a way to squeeze itself into the lineup.   But who knows.

Check out the 2011/2012 Cancel/Renew post which is being updated…………NOW!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 18, 2011 in Breaking News, Renewed Shows

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “NBC Renews Three Shows!!!!

  1. MsELeigh

    March 18, 2011 at 6:20 pm

    IM so over the office. I was kinda hoping they would cancel it

     
    • fortheloveoftv

      March 19, 2011 at 10:57 am

      I am too. I think shows like that, while awesome in their prime, really go downhill quickly. And even though I’ve been always unsure about the character of Michael Scott…sometimes I really love him and other times he is so over the top and cringe-worthy, I can’t even watch him….I don’t know how The Office will do without him (and the wonderful Steve Carell, whom I adore.)

      If they got back to the characters more, instead of always being crazy and wacky, I think I would still be interested. But I’m about ready to cancel myself from The Office.

       
  2. MsELeigh

    March 24, 2011 at 12:31 am

    I agree. I think the should focus more on the other characters. I love when Jim would bother Dwight that used to be so funny. I dont think Im watching next year.

    What do you think of Parenthood. I really like it but it doesnt get good ratings. Outsourced and Perfect couples didn’t do it for me so I wont be missing them.

     
  3. fortheloveoftv

    March 24, 2011 at 1:41 pm

    Parenthood has become one of the strongest shows on TV. In it’s second season I really think it has hit a terrific groove. The ratings haven’t been awful but they aren’t through the roof either. Either way, I have a good feeling it will be coming back for NBC next year. Creatively, the execs at NBC love it!!!! How could they not? There really isn’t anything else that well written and acted on their network right now with the exception of maybe Chuck on it’s good days. The storylines are compelling, the acting is sensational, and the characters are developed so strongly (with the exception of Joel and Julia whom I don’t think the writers have figured out what to do with them yet.)

    I really like this show. Brothers and Sisters was a show I loved the first 2-3 seasons. But the last 2 seasons have been simply horrible. And most of the characters have become absolutely awful and unwatchable with the exception of Kitty and Scotty. So I’m glad there is a family drama like Parenthood to fill that B&S void for me.

     
  4. MsELeigh

    March 24, 2011 at 8:51 pm

    I so agree with you especially about Brothers and Sister. I took it off my list finally this season. And great break down on Parenthood it is a great show

     

Leave a Reply

 
