RSS

REVIEW: The Good Wife “Ham Sandwich” S2 E17

24 Mar

Sweet mother in Heaven what did we just watch?   Granted you probably watched it 2 nights ago but I am just getting to it now (damn job.)  Holy shit!!!!  I know it’s not professional to say that but I’m not a professional (writer that is) and it really is the best way to describe what was revealed to us tonight!!!  But what came to light tonight wasn’t shocking to me in the way you might think.   Then there is that whole evil Lemond Bishop situation that was down right chilling.  I want to get the boring and annoying stuff out-of-the-way first.

Peter’s New Election Strategy

I really don’t know where to begin.  While I applaud TGW for bringing to life probably real world politics, I almost don’t want to see it.  It’s like steroids in baseball….I know it’s going on but I don’t need to see it and I don’t want to know about it.   Seriously, how many times has Peter changed his campaign strategy to go after voters he was light on?   First he needed the black vote.   Then he needed the young vote.  Now he needs suburban white people whom they feel don’t like black people.   WHAT???  Let me just say, that as a suburban white person, I am completely offended by the fact that they think I wouldn’t vote for a candidate because his son had a black girlfriend.  So because I live in the suburbs and I’m white, I’m considered racist?  And apparently they think I must be a stupid racist since I guess they think I would have forgotten when he was campaigning with African-Americans who supported him.  I really don’t want to get into a race discussion since that is a very volatile topic and I really don’t want to go there, but I will say that I don’t like what they were showing at all however real life it is.  It’s one of the reasons I hate politics.  It is so fake and so offensive to people and their intelligence.  It may be naive, but I like to have more faith in people than that.  I would like to hope that people who elect someone to office, do so on their platform and not on whether or not they have a black pastor or their son is dating a beautiful, intelligent, sweet, black girl.  I was so disgusted how Pastor Isaiah was treated last night and how Nissa was made to feel uncomfortable.  It was wrong on so many levels.  I just can’t wait until this campaign is over.

Lemond Bishop

Just when that beautiful, sweet talking man with his adorable son and sincere parenting skills moved me to the side of “maybe he isn’t such a bad guy after all”  BAM!!  I was brought right back down to earth.  When Katrina Bishop’s lawyer/lover came to see Bishop at the courthouse to tell him that his soon to be ex-wife overdosed on drugs and died, Bishop’s reaction was frightening.  To put this in some context, Bishop’s wife Katrina wanted a divorce (because he cheated) and he wanted to reconcile and put everything behind them.  That was until he found out from his son that his wife was cheating on him with her attorney.  Whoops.  When Alicia goes to see him she asks if he is alright and he says “I’ve just been cured of love.”  Uh oh.  So much for wanting to work things out.  Katrina isn’t budging on wanting cash and full custody and there are no signs of staying out of court and settling.  When Bishop hears his son will have to testify and be dragged through a trial, he thanks Alicia and David for their time and leaves.  Fast forward to the courthouse.  Greg (Katrina’s attorney/lover) comes storming in and right away, David Lee can see there is something wrong.  “You killed her” he says to Bishop.  “She ODed last night, she was clean for 10 years and what she just decided to start using again?”  Alicia and David are beside themselves.  “You did it, you killed her” he says again with tears in his eyes.  Very calmly and matter-of-factly Bishop tells him “I’d watch my words friend.  I didn’t touch her.”  Greg continues to go after Bishop and David steps between them and asks him to not to say another word.  I couldn’t tell if this was because David was trying to protect Bishop or because he realizes how dangerous Bishop is and is trying to warn Greg not to go too far with him.  My impression, it was the latter.    “Is there something else you would like to share?” Bishop asks with a smirk.  “Good.”  Bishop walks away and Alicia looks like she just vurped (vomit burped) in her mouth about 3 times.

Bishop was literally chilling in this scene.   It reminded you after 30+ minutes of thinking of him as an actual human being, what a monster he really is.  Now you could argue there is no proof he did this.  Please!!!  Maybe he didn’t do the actual killing and he had one of his cronies take care of it, but this was all his doing to protect his son and get what he wants.  I’m not sure why LG still wants him as a client.  Yes, I’m sure it’s big money, but wouldn’t you rather find other clients who could add up to Bishop than have someone like that on your client list?  I would think so.  I would hope so.

Kalinda and the Big Reveal

By now, if you watched TGW, you know what was revealed during Kalinda’s conversation with Blake in the garage parking lot.   If you haven’t watched TGW, then stop reading now if you don’t want to find out and come back and visit this post later.

Blake informs us (as well as Kalinda) that he finally figured out what big secret Kalinda has been hiding.  The main reason he finally figured it out was because he started looking at it from a whole new angle.  Instead of trying to find out WHY Kalinda changed her identity, he wanted to find out WHO was the one that helped her.  He started remembering all the times Kalinda would react when he mentioned a certain name and her reaction was pretty consistent.  Whenever Blake asked about Alicia and what she knew and what she thought and brought up Leila in front of Alicia, Kalinda would freak out.  So Blake started thinking about why the mention of Alicia and her past would upset Kalinda so much.  And then it finally hit him.  Kalinda used to work for Peter Florrick.  PETER was the one who helped her change her identity and to show her gratitude…..SHE SLEPT WITH PETER!!!!  Now here is what made me grasp and scream “Holy Shit Burgers!!!” at my TV screen.  I wasn’t surprised to hear that they slept together.  I was surprised that the show actually went there, especially considering how close Alicia and Kalinda have become.  We already knew that Kalinda and Peter worked together.  And there have been some scenes with them in the past where there was definitely something between them.  And because I have mentioned in the past about how Archie Punjabi could have chemistry with a brick wall, I wasn’t sure if the sexual tension I was noticing was actually there or her being the type of person to exude that chemistry with anyone.  Also, I wasn’t even sure that it was a sexual tension that I was seeing.  They could have had some other secret or knowledge of past dealings with one another that had nothing to do with sex.  Either way, I knew there was something there but I wasn’t really sure what it was.  Well now we know for sure!

I know there is always talk about several relationships on this show…Peter and Alicia, Alicia and Will, Cary and Kalinda.  But the one “relationship” you don’t really hear about too often is the friendship between Alicia and Kalinda.  It’s probably my favorite relationship on the show.  So how in the world is this bomb going to affect that?  It almost makes me mad if I didn’t love it so much!  We don’t really know Kalinda’s background but we do know she is not one to trust many people.  Alicia was just coming off one of the biggest betrayals you can have in a relationship.  So her trust issues were in a tail spin.  It gave these women something to bond over.  And while there weren’t many people these two could trust, they eventually developed it with one another.  And after that trust was developed, the friendship soon followed.  It was slow and gradual but it was really nice to see.  That’s what made hearing that news so much more gut wrenching.  That’s why TGW is one of the BEST shows on TV!!!!  Hearing Alicia talk about her former life and her former “friends” and how she really doesn’t have any friends anymore also makes what happened so much more brutal.  Here is someone she finally let her guard down with and trusted and became friends with by truly being herself instead of what people wanted her to be (probably for the first time in her adult life.)   How is she going to react when she finds out this news?  How would you react?  I have no idea how I would.  In fairness, it’s not like this happened when you were friends.  This happened before she even knew who Alicia was.  Alicia doesn’t know about it so it’s not like she asked her if she ever slept with her husband and Kalinda lied about it.  She just never told her.  Really what would have been the point?  But now that it could get out, this secret you kept from her to not hurt her, will now devastate her.  I do know with 100% certainty that I would want to hear it from her.  I wouldn’t want to find out some other way.  I think if it were me, I would be heartbroken and furious at both of them about it.  But I would eventually forgive her.  Our relationship may never be the same, but I would forgive her.  Him, on the other hand, would be a different story.

As someone who is a Team Peter supporter, this storyline breaks my heart.  While I love it and can’t wait to see it play out, I think this could be the nail in Peter’s coffin.  I hope it isn’t but it very well could be.  The reason I say that is because what would bother me more, if I was Alicia, is not so much the sleeping with someone else because he’s already shown to have done that.  It’s the reason the sex happened.  It’s one thing to be attracted to someone else and you act on it or even hire a prostitute to get your rocks off.  It’s quite another to use it as a bargaining chip.  If I understand what happened between Peter and Kalinda, it sounds like he offered to help her if she would sleep with him.  What kind of a person does that?  If that is truly what happened, if I were Alicia, I don’t think I could be with someone like that.  That type of manipulation on a vulnerable person, is so twisted it’s disgusting.  In fairness, Peter has, on the surface, really changed over the last 12-18 months.  So maybe going to jail and the idea of losing his family, really can change someone.  I just don’t know if I could move past that.  Would his current new lease on life be enough to over turn what a horrible person he was before.  Not to mention, he has been this new person outside of a political office.  What will happen once he gets back in the SA’s office and is surrounded by all the power again?  That’s the scary question if I were Alicia, I would ask myself.  It’s fascinating and I can’t wait to see this play out.

The one thing I do hope (and no it’s not because I’m a Will hater) is that this storyline of Peter and Kalinda isn’t fabricated to push Alicia towards Will and knock Peter down a few pegs.  As I mentioned, Peter has lately been shown to be a better person than before.  If the writers are really wanting an eventual pairing of Alicia with Will, it makes that harder if the husband is a likable guy.  What’s the best way to make him unlikable again?   Have him sleep with her new BFF (even if it was in the past.)  I also hope they don’t always put Alicia through the ringer.  At some point, this woman deserves some stability and happiness.  When this comes out, it will crush her.  Both Peter and Kalinda will be on her turd list.  Let’s say she find comfort in the arms of one Will Gardner.  We already know what a shit he is and it sounds like from what Blake was saying to him in the gym, that there are some shady dealings from Will’s past that have yet to be revealed.  Can you imagine if Alicia finally gives herself to Will and then it’s revealed he’s just as much of a turd as Peter just in a different way?  Seriously, this may send this woman into a drug infested drinking binge she may never recover from and quite frankly, I wouldn’t blame her! There is only so much one person can take.  But before this turns into a fanfic, let me just say that whatever direction the show takes this in, I am 100% along for the ride.

So let’s hear it fans.  What did you think of the episode?   Were you shocked by the Peter/Kalinda revelation?  Were you pissed about it?  And how do you hope this situation resolves itself?

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 24, 2011 in CBS, Recaps and Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “REVIEW: The Good Wife “Ham Sandwich” S2 E17

  1. Allie

    March 24, 2011 at 7:56 pm

    lol. i love your recaps, they just crack me up sometimes. I’m with you in being a Will hater, but Peter is kind of a douche as well. i really hope kalinda will jujst tell alicia and they will work it out. but this being a drama, i doubt thats goning to happen. also, did you see that scene with eli pulling his pants down? HILARIOUS!!!! i love him so much, even thought the writers are a little bit indecisive in his personality (weasly, then comedic, then he has a heart, ugh im getting a little confudded about how we’re supposed to percieve him as. but that being said, i think its one of the best episodes ever.

    are you going to recap this week’s Castle episode? cuz it was SO FUNNY! on so many levels. also, if you ever have time, watch friday night lights, its kind of predictable, but its so heartwarming and realistic. if you like Parenthood, you’ll definitely like friday night lights

    this comment is really long, sorry.

     
    • fortheloveoftv

      March 24, 2011 at 10:39 pm

      Hi Allie,

      Never apologize for the long comments. I love it!!! And yes, I will get to Castle. I had a brutal work schedule this week and then I got sick so I’m a little behind….ugh! But I loved Castle this week! So check back probably on Saturday for that.

      I also love Eli. I really do think that Eli is a good guy. He is just so ambitious that sometimes he can get blinded about doing the right thing. Unfortunately with politics, he doesn’t get paid to do the right thing but what’s in the best interest for the candidate (and do the dirty stuff the candidate doesn’t want to do!) I think he does care about Peter and respect Alicia so I have a tendency to forgive him pretty easily!

      Lots of people have told me to check out FNL. That is on my DVD list to check out. Maybe this summer…after I finish Mad Men.

       
  2. MsELeigh

    March 24, 2011 at 8:54 pm

    I really want to like the Good Wife. I’m going to give it a second try since I feel like I’m the only person who doesn’t like it.

     
    • fortheloveoftv

      March 24, 2011 at 10:44 pm

      MsELeigh,

      You should check it out. It is a such a terrific show. I’m curious, what about the show don’t you like and when was the last time you watched it?

      The reason I ask is that I talk to soooo many people who feel the same as you. Most of them watched last year and then forgot to come back this year and just dropped it because it wasn’t one of their favorites. So I am always interested to hear why people don’t like a show.

      Thanks for the comments!

       
  3. MsELeigh

    March 26, 2011 at 12:04 pm

    Yeah I watched it last year, but never made it back this year. I was lacking something to me to be put on the favorites list. It’s was a little slow in developing the storyline. I’m willing to give it another try.

     
  4. Kiki

    March 26, 2011 at 9:08 pm

    Hey!
    I am with you, my heart is totally broken 😦 I think this is the end of A/P and that makes me so sad.
    I mean I am excited about what is coming, but makes me think that it was a bit unnecessary, why go there? Why build the A/K bond so strong to them tear it down so forcefully? I just do not get it. But I hope A/K survive this cause I am not sure A/P.

    Great recap as always!

     

Leave a Reply

 
