RSS

REVIEW: Castle “Law & Murder” S3 E19

29 Mar

I feel like every week I say the same thing….Castle was awesome this week!!  I’m sorry, but it was.  I also thought the case was really interesting.  A juror in a murder trial drops dead and Beckett and the Boys are called in to investigate what has happened.  Alexis finally got a bit of a story as well.  I have some comments about that I think will be unpopular but what fun is it if we all agree?

Let’s start with Alexis and Castle.  Alexis comes in and Castle realizes that she is lying to him about where she is going for the day.  Which isn’t like her.  To see where she is really going, Castle tracks her with a GPS tracking app he downloaded on his phone.  As it turns out, she was lying and was somewhere else.  When she comes home and he presses her on where she was, it’s revealed that he knew she wasn’t in the Village due to the app.  Alexis goes off on him and storms upstairs furious that he did that to her.  At the station, he feels horrible and tells Beckett who sides with Alexis and tells him what he did was wrong.  But she also supports him knowing he did it because he was concerned.  Later in the show, Alexis comes to the station to see her dad and Castle immediately apologies to her for tracking her without her knowledge.  She tells him that she was with friends who stole some products from a store.  Castle is floored by this and says that stealing isn’t like her.  She agrees and says she didn’t steal anything.  She went back to the store because she felt bad and paid for all the stolen merchandise.  Castle then asks her about who these friends are and she won’t snitch on them.  He also asks her why she would hang around with people like that and she tells him it’s complicated.  In the end, Alexis and Castle hug and patch things up and go on their merry ways.

Here is my controversial comment.  I had no problem with what Castle did.  (Ducking as bricks are being thrown at me.)  I am going to preference my next comments with the fact that I am not a parent.  So take what I have to say with a grain of salt.  But if I was a parent I would have done what Castle did.  What exactly was wrong with what Castle did?  His daughter lied to him and he wanted to know where she was really at.  What is wrong with that?  Alexis was so furious about Castle “violating her civil rights.”  If I were him, I would have reminded her that maybe if she didn’t lie to him, he wouldn’t have had to do that.  She lied to her father (no matter what the reason) so she is wrong.  Secondly, if she is so annoyed that her “rights were violated” then she can get a job and get her own apartment and live in her own place where she can make the rules and no one will violate her rights.  While I think if Castle did something like that to a spouse or Martha or a friend it would be completely wrong, I think it’s different when it comes to your children.  I think parents have every right to violate certain privacy rights to make sure their kids aren’t doing anything that could potentially be dangerous or illegal.  Children don’t always make the best decisions and I think it’s up to parents to make sure that they do everything they can to protect their children.  And if some privacy has to be lost, so be it.  I also didn’t like Castle apologizing to Alexis yet she never apologized to him for lying.  Just because Alexis is a great kid, doesn’t mean she can do whatever she wants and not suffer any consequences.  In my opinion, the tracking was the consequence and if she doesn’t like, don’t lie to your father.  Enough said on that.

Now for the eye brow raising part.  She made a comment about not telling her dad who she was hanging out with.  She also said “it’s complicated” when her dad asked her why she would hang out with people like that.  Anyone else think this could be a setup for a juicy storyline coming down the road for Alexis?  I think so.  I’ve always wanted to see a little more for Alexis than just being the goody two shoes.  Now this could be a foreshadowing to something coming for her.  I hope nothing serious happens to her of course.  But I would like to see something more than just her being a good student and hugging her dad before she goes to school or he leaves for his job.

As for the case, it was great.  The trial of a murdered woman gets very interesting when a juror is murdered.  At first it looks like the brother of the defendant is the guilty party, but he isn’t.  As the investigation moves forward, more and more suspects pop up and we also find out that the defendant on trial for murder, didn’t commit the crime.  So now Beckett and the Boys have to figure out not only who killed the juror but who really killed the young girl.  There were lots of back and forth as to why the juror was killed and if there was some connection to him and the female victim.  Turns out there was a connection after all.  The juror’s brother killed the girl by accident and fled the scene.  Unfortunately the original defendant on trial saw the abandoned car and was just there to steal the car.  Little did he know that there was a body in the trunk.  Oops.  That’s why he was getting pinned for the murder.  Since the juror knew his brother actually committed the crime and not the man on trial, he paid the court clerk to get him on the jury.  He was going to be the juror that got the man off.  Unfortunately for him, the girl who was murdered came from an incredibly wealthy family who also happened to be large contributors to the DA’s campaign.  The brother of the original victim caught wind of what was going on and poisoned the juror so he wouldn’t be able to help the defendant go free.  But the ultimate bad guys was the DA.  The juror tried to contact him with proof of the defendant’s innocence but the DA wouldn’t listen.  The family wanted the defendant convicted and the DA would continue with the case because of their financial connection to him.  The scary thing is that this probably happens in real life more than we know.  In the end, the brother of the juror get arrested for killing the young woman and the her brother gets arrested for killing the juror.

On the Castle/Beckett front, not a whole lot of development but I LOVED the interaction with them at the end.  In the beginning of the show, Castle asked Alexis to go with him for a showing of Forbidden Planet.  It happened to be one of his favorite Leslie Nielson movies before Nielson became the popular comedic movie star.  She said she couldn’t because she had plans (remember her lie causing Castle to have to track her?)  Hee hee.  Sorry I couldn’t resist bringing that up again!  But at the end of the show, when the case is over and they are wrapping up their day, Castle asks Beckett what she is up to and she tells him that Josh is working so she is going to see this movie called Forbidden Planet by herself.  He raises his eye brow but she doesn’t notice.  She asks if he’s ever seen it and he says no.  She goes off about how much he would love it and she insists that he come with her…her treat.  He agrees and as she walks away, he has this HUGE smile on his face.  It. Was. Awesome!!!!   She promise they can have candy and popcorn and he suggests possibly getting cheeseburgers afterward.  They get into the elevator and she starts to tell him about the movie and Leslie Nielson and again, he flashes that huge grin.  Loved it.   LOVED IT!!!

I already can’t wait for next week!!!!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on March 29, 2011 in ABC, Recaps and Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “REVIEW: Castle “Law & Murder” S3 E19

  1. Allie

    March 29, 2011 at 10:28 pm

    I absolutely loved how Castle conned Beckett into watching the movie with him. I wonder how she’s going to feel when she finds out that he’s watched it before. Also, did you catch that shoutout with the St. Miriam’s Scotch?

    When Beckett was watching Castle track Alexis, I thing that she was thinking wheter or not Castle would be like this if they had kids one day. And on that front, I think that at Alexis’s are, she should have to tell her dad everywhere she goes, but she shoudn’t have lied either. LOL and the “If you’re so interested in what I’m doing, maybe you should ask your phone. I’m sure there’s an app for that.” line. The GPS app is so creepy, it makes me not want to carry around my phone.

     
  2. fortheloveoftv

    March 30, 2011 at 7:05 pm

    I completely forgot about the scotch comment!!!! I wonder why that was mentioned? It seemed a completely innocuous comment but it couldn’t be because it’s St Miriam’s. I mean he could have said Johnny Walker but he didn’t. HHHHmmmmm. I wonder what is up with that.

    Alexis isn’t a liar. So it really makes me think that there is something coming down the road with this. Why lie to your father and on top of it, hang out with people that really don’t seem to line up with the type of person you are. There has to be something more there. I just hope it’s nothing dangerous!!!

     
  3. Sofa

    March 31, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    I liked your review, I have read the last few and have your site bookmarked :).
    A few things about the episode:
    it wasn’t the juror’s brother who killed the lady, he just helped cover up the crime. It was the victim’s brother who shot her accidentally while playing with his gun. The scotch was a throw back to the Old Haunt episode, I noticed the red bottle immediately. The second shoutout to that episode in two weeks, yay continuity. Alexis did apologize when she was at the station. I loved the part between Castle & Beckett at the end, especially how comfortable she was cancelling any plans he may have had. Their interactions are great and bonus no interruptions from DMB.

     
    • fortheloveoftv

      March 31, 2011 at 9:01 pm

      Hi Sofa,

      Thanks for bookmarking me and the comments!!! I appreciate the clarification. I recap these sometimes a few days later and sometimes the facts get all mixed up!

      I have to ask you though, what is DMB?

      Please comment again!! I always love hearing people’s thoughts.

       
      • Allie

        March 31, 2011 at 10:57 pm

        Doctor Motorcycle Boy! I think he’s hot, but he gets in the way of Caskett, so I have conflicted feelings about him. I think the Alexis thing is a start of a story arc for her. That makes me excited!

         
        • fortheloveoftv

          April 1, 2011 at 12:38 am

          LOL!!! Of course. That makes sense. He is hot. If there was another female for him, I’d be all for it!

           
  4. Rainbeaux

    April 3, 2011 at 10:06 pm

    Anyone know the name of the app used to track the girl?

     

Leave a Reply

 
