RSS

QUICK REVIEW: Grey’s Anatomy “Song Beneath the Song” S7 E18

31 Mar

I’m going to do a full review on this tomorrow or over the weekend.  But I wanted to share some quick thoughts on the episode.

Being a fan of Broadway, I LOVED Sara Ramirez from her Tony Award winning performance in Spamalot.  When I first heard about the “musical” episode of Grey’s, I’ll be honest, I rolled my eyes.  But then I remembered that Sara would be singing so it made it more tolerable.  I also knew that Chandra Wilson has an amazing voice so I figured this may not be too bad.

While I thought the performances were pretty impressive (including some surprisingly impressive performances by Kevin McKidd and Chyler Leigh) I don’t know if it fit the gravity of the episode.  In all honesty, I though it took away from some of the power of the scenes when all of a sudden a song broke out.  It seemed strange to me that Lexie would be singing to Slone while he is crying in the stairwell.  It’s one thing to incorporate the songs from Callie’s subconscious and if she thinks she is hearing people singing like Hunt and Bailey due to a brain injury.  But I think it’s another to have the doctors consciously singing in the OR, in her room while taking care of her, or while they are having sex.

I thought the one song that was perfectly placed as the 11 o’clock number (as they call it in the theater) was Callie singing Brandi Carlisle’s “The Story.”  Wow.  Did she belt it out of the park or what?  It moved me to tears (especially when she woke up and said “yes” to Arizona’s marriage proposal.)  The words behind the song were perfect and it was Callie pushing herself to wake up and survive for all the people in her life who need her.  It was awesome.   The rest of it though, I’m not so sure.  There were times I was so moved by what was happening and then a song would pop in that I wasn’t sure how it tied in exactly and then the moment was lost for me.   Maybe it would have worked better if it was a patient we either didn’t know and didn’t have as much of a personal interest in or maybe had a slight connection with (like Scott Foley) or possibly still used Callie but maybe had less songs and put the songs in more appropriate spots in the show to not take away from the emotional moments.  I don’t know.

I want to reflect on this a little further but that is my initial gut reaction.   Great performances from the entire cast.  I love the songs themselves, obviously.  And I really hope I can get Sara’s rendition of “The Story” on iTunes.  But for the impact it provided to an already emotionally charged episode, it missed the mark.  In fact, it actually detracted from it.  But maybe I’ll feel differently after a few days.   So check back because I may have changed my thoughts after letting it sink in a bit more and watching the episode again.

Here were some of my favorite song renditions:

Chasing Cars

Breathe

Wait

How to Save a Life

The Story

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 31, 2011 in ABC, Quick Reviews/Recaps

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “QUICK REVIEW: Grey’s Anatomy “Song Beneath the Song” S7 E18

  1. Co

    April 2, 2011 at 9:29 am

    I have to agree, this should have been a serious episode and it was belittled by the “GLEE” styled singing.

    Hated it, hated it hated it… Please lets hope Episode 19 returns to normal

     
    • fortheloveoftv

      April 13, 2011 at 6:31 pm

      For the rest of the season, I think we are safe. What has me worried is that before this episode aired, Shonda Rhimes did interviews where she said she loved how it turned out and that she is already thinking of how she can incorporate the next musical episode. Dear Lord I hope she doesn’t do that. Quite frankly, I really haven’t read or heard anyone who comments on TV that liked this episode. I hope she reads some of the comments written about the episode and rethinks her idea of doing another one.

       

Leave a Reply

 
