RSS

REVIEW: Body of Proof “Pilot” S1 E1

31 Mar

ABC’s final drama of the season premiered Tuesday night.  Body of Proof follows Dr. Megan Hunt’s (Dana Delany) new career path as a medical examiner.  She was one of the finest neurosurgeons in her field but had a terrible accident that left her with numbness in her hands.  Therefore, she is unable to practice anymore.  As a result, she took her skills to the Philadelphia Medical Examiners office.  We learn that Megan was married but is now divorced from her husband and estranged from her daughter.  It’s unclear at this point how much of the strained relationship is due to Megan’s former career or her ex-husband making her appear worse to her daughter than she actually is.  I have a feeling it’s a little of both.  Either way, Megan is trying to rebuild her relationship with her daughter.

BoP has the makings of a really good show and I enjoyed the pilot.  I did think there were some cheesy moments and some pretty predictable scenarios.  I chalk it up to it being the pilot and the fact that they are laying the ground work for the characters and the series.  So I can overlook some of the cheesiness.  I just hope it is minimized moving forward so we can really jump into the characters.

It’s a typical format.  Megan is the no-nonsense doctor that no one likes and is hard to get along with.  She is unconventional and is always pushing the envelope and doing things during the investigation that she really shouldn’t.   The biggest question I had is why she was with the detectives interrogating suspects.  Since when does the medical examiner go with the detectives (or on her own) to question suspects?  It may be completely common in the real world but I wouldn’t think so.  That may be the trickiest part about doing a show about a medical examiner.  It’s hard to do a “who done it” show without showing the investigation.  It’s very rare to spend the whole time in the autopsy room.   And if Megan is the main protagonist (maybe in her case the antagonist) they have to find a way to keep integrated with the show most of the time.  But I do think the supporting cast is strong enough to stand on its own.

Jeri Ryan is the chief medical examiner, Dr. Kate Murphy.  Shockingly, she and Megan don’t see eye to eye on how they should handle their job requirements.  I wouldn’t say they don’t get along…it’s too early for that and I get the impression Megan doesn’t get along with many people…but they have their issues in the work place.  Megan also works with a medical investigator, Peter Dunlop (Nicholas Bishop.)  I’m not really sure of his role other than following Megan around and commenting on her personal life but I’m willing to give it some time.   The two detectives that Megan will be working wtih primarily are detectives Morris and Baker (John Carroll Lynch and Sonja Sohn.)  I really like both of these actors and I already like them in this show.  Again, it will be interesting to see how they work with Megan considering you don’t usually see the med examiner assisting on a street level like Megan was in this episode but I like how they handled her.

All in all I like Body of Proof.  The cast is good and there are plenty of back stories to peak my interest…what was Megan like in her old life?  What was her family life really like before the accident?  Who did she kill on the table and what led up to that moment?  How did she decided to become a medical examiner and not pursue some other area of medicine?  I also would be interested to see more of the science behind the autopsy and how they go about doing that and what that information tells them.  But I am going to stick with it for the time being.

What did you think?  Did you like?  Not like?  Sound off below!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 31, 2011 in ABC, New Shows

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “REVIEW: Body of Proof “Pilot” S1 E1

  1. Anonymous

    April 1, 2011 at 6:41 pm

    I have to respectfully disagree. I found the show too cheesy. In fact, I think cheesiness works best if there is at least some element of comedy in it. That way, there is more lightheartedness to allow for the cheesy rendition.

    The show was also not at all grounded in reality. I find it hard to believe a medical examiner wouldn’t gets suspended or fired for the actions the main character took.

    I can see the backstories potentially making the show more entertaining. However, I left the pilot thinking I’ve seen these stories in at least 5 other shows (maybe even all in one show), and they add nothing special.

    I believe one of the best “who done it” shows I have seen in a very long time has to be “Terriers.” The cast was amazing; they added just the right amount of cheese; they had great back stories that fit the characters and mood of the show; and the plot was at least remotely believable. Not to mention the conspiracy was very well thought of.

    Still, you could be right in that the show could turn around and become something more. So, I guess we’ll wait and see!

     
    • fortheloveoftv

      April 1, 2011 at 11:30 pm

      I don’t think we really disagree. I agree that the show was cheesy and not grounded in reality. However, I’ve seen lots of pilots where there is over the top cheesiness to set the “tone” but then moves away from it and it becomes a better show.

      I also agree that we have seen this premise in lots of other shows. It can get tired very quickly if it doesn’t find its own unique elements to make us want to tune in. But I still want to give it a little more of a chance.

      I always like to give shows at least 3-4 episodes before making a full assessment. If it keeps up with this cheesy and out of touch “investigating” then I will stop watching because it will be incredibly stupid. But if it can move away from that and become more grounded in reality, then I think it will be ok.

      Thanks for the comments! I always appreciate a different view point. However I do think we agree more than disagree!

       

Leave a Reply

 
