RSS

REVIEW: Survivor Redemption Island “The Buddy System” S22 E9

14 Apr

Remember last week when I said that there is really no one playing a strategic game better than Rob and that at this point, I can’t see anyone taking him out or a way he could lose?   Well I have figured out the person that can take Rob out…Rob.   He is starting to play a very dangerous game here and his enormous ego may be his downfall (that and Julie’s one liners at tribal council.)   The thing that shocks me is that no one else on Rob’s tribe sees this dictatorship forming.  And if they do, they aren’t doing anything about it!   You had one small comment from Grant about being his own man and making his own decisions but he still went back to his group when Rob called him over.  It’s amazing to witness.  But the most surprising revelation of all last night, was Philip.   Philip is down right nuts…or is he?

There was a brief clip last night that showed an interview with Philip where he talked about his place in his alliance.  And I’m not talking about the part where he said he realizes he’s on the bottom and likes it there so he can look up at everything happening above him.   Was he talking about Survivor or his favorite sexual position?  I wasn’t sure.  But I’m not going to go down that road right now.  I’m talking about the side bar where he said that he is very aware of what people think about him.  He also mentioned that they are playing a game and knowing Rob the way he knows him, who would be the type of person Rob rather take to the finals?  Someone who’s “polarizing and insulting” and someone who doesn’t look so pretty.   That would be one Phil Sheppard.  You know what, Philip just moved up huge in my book.  I still think he’s bit crazy.  But if this has been more of an act than we have been led to believe and he is playing Rob and the other members of this tribe the whole time to get to the finals…kudos Philip because I thought you were 100% crazy.   And if he plays it right, he could steal a million dollars.  Think about it, as crazy as this sounds.  He’s always worked hard around camp, NO ONE would deny that.   He has been a 100% loyal solider and never lied to anyone and kept true to his word and alliance.  And he was able to fool everyone into thinking he was a crazy nut job to get himself further in the game and land himself in the finals.  He outwitted everyone in that sense.  His downfall is not being very strong in challenges.   But Philip could make a solid argument for the million dollars.  I never thought I would write those words down but maybe Philip deserves a little more credit for being savvier than we have given him credit for.

You know who isn’t getting props for being smarter than he appears…Matt.  At least he realizes how much of an idiot he was.  What really drove me crazy was when he said, “well this wasn’t the outcome I wanted but I guess it’s God’s will.”   AAAAHHHHH.   Did he miss the part in the bible where God gave us the greatest gift he could…..FREE WILL!!!!  If God wanted us walking around like zombie’s having him control our destiny’s he would not have given us the power to make our own decisions.   Don’t get me wrong. I really do respect someone who has a strong relationship with God and wants to honor that as best they can.  But you know what?   This is Survivor.  And I don’t think the Big Man Upstairs would be too thrilled knowing you were using him as the excuse for your poor decision-making or lack of decision-making.   If you wanted a certain outcome, then do your best to make it happen.  You don’t sit there and say, that isn’t the right thing to do and God will steer me on the path I should go on.   NOOO.   God gave you free will for YOU to choose your path and to suffer the consequences or enjoy the rewards of those decisions.   That’s why it pains me to say (as much as I like Matt as a person) that I am rooting for Mike to beat him and David this week on RI (if that’s what is going to happen.)   I was rooting for Matt in a huge way but when he came back and made the same mistakes as before and betrayed Andrea and their pact and decided to go down the enlightened path vs. the winning path, I didn’t like him anymore as a Survivor competitor.

I know I’ve said this before but I will say it again.  Zapatera’s lack of game play infuriates me to no end.  I feel bad for Mike who I do believe got the short end of the stick on the tribe he ended up on.  I think he has tried to play the game a little bit but you’re really limited when no one else plays the game with you.  These guys have done NOTHING to try to break up Ometepe.  At least Ralph, tried to do something when he went up to Ashley and Natalie.  It’s the dumbest “strategic” move I ever saw but I give him credit for at least TRYING.  Steve, Julie, and David have done nothing.  The only thing Julie has done, which I think is more hurtful to Rob than helpful to her, is by dishing out the one liners at tribal.  In the first tribal council this week, after Philip proclaimed he was secure with his tribe while other Zapatera were trying to tell him how he is in the bottom, Julie simply reminded them that Matt thought he was tight with them as well.  Nicely played Julie!  It wasn’t nasty or snarky, it was very matter-of-fact.  Then at the second tribal council she brought up how Stealth R Us isn’t an alliance, it’s a cult with Rob running the whole thing.   Here is her quote: “Rob has complete control over them.  It’s not even a tribe, it’s a cult.”  Did you see the look Rob gave her?  And I can’t imagine a guy like Grant being too happy sitting there hearing that he’s a puppet in Rob’s game.  I know I wouldn’t.   And Rob was not pleased that she laid out his strategy on the table for everyone to hear.   But then what is Zapatera doing about it?   Nothing!!!   You know what I would do?  If I knew it was just a matter of time to get picked off, I would go out with a bang.  I was start stirring stuff up to try to make something happen.  If Rob doesn’t want them alone and talking.  Fine.  Then in front of all 6 of them, I would lay out what Rob is doing to them and how every move he makes is not in their best interest, but in his.   Because as much as he wants you to think it’s still a team game, it isn’t and everything he is doing is to win himself a million dollars and you are just there to help him make it happen.   If I could get just one person to crack, that could be all it takes.  If not, at least I tried.   But these guys are doing nothing.  And really Steve?   You are in a fight for your Survivor life and you would rather eat a cheeseburger than try to win immunity?   That was the lamest thing I have ever seen.  Some people were saying it didn’t matter because he wouldn’t have won.   You don’t know that.  And I don’t understand how you don’t at least try.  That was almost as bad a quitting.  I lost a lot of respect for him there.

Now what do you think is going to happen at RI?  Are they just going to lump a bunch of people out there and have one big duel to come back in?   Because at some point, now that we are down to 9 (not including the 3 on RI), I would think the jury would start to be formed.  If it’s a duel between the 3 and that person comes back in, then you have 10 people.  You could then vote off 7 for the jury and have a final 3.  I hate a final 3 by the way.  I much prefer the final 2.   But I guess you could have the winner stay and continue RI with the loser heading to the jury instead of going home.  I don’t know.  I’m still not sold on it but let’s see how it goes this time around.

What do you think?  Is Rob’s ego going to cost him a million dollars?   Can Zapatera open up enough cans of worms to derail all the Boston Rob fanaticism?  Or will he cruise to his first million dollar check because no one is playing the game or no one has the guts to stand up to him?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 14, 2011 in CBS, Recaps and Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
