RSS

REVIEW: Bones “The Finder” S6 E19

22 Apr

This episode of Bones is to set the table for a potential new series coming out this fall called The Finder.   The Finder is based on a series of books from Richard Greener that features the character of Walter Sherman, aka: The Locator.   I usually don’t like when shows do this because it takes away an entire episode from one of my favorite shows which is exactly what happened here.  I didn’t feel like I was watching Bones last night.  I felt like I was watching a pilot for a new show that kind of had a connection to my Bones family.   So that bugs me because I need my Brennan and Booth fill and last night I didn’t have very much of it.  Although there were two scenes that sort of made up for it which I will get to later.

Now people keep calling this a spinoff.  Maybe I’m wrong but I don’t think introducing 3 characters on Bones for the first time which may result as the launching for this new show can be classified as a spinoff.  A spinoff to me is taking a relatively established character from an existing show and spinning them off into their own show.  Private Practice, Frasier, The Jeffersons, Maude, Mama’s Family, The Facts of Life, The Colby’s, Laverne and Shirley…..these are true spinoffs.  To me, putting Horatio Caine or Walter Sherman on a popular show to use it to showcase a pseudo pilot for the following season that may be similar in theme, doesn’t constitute a spinoff.   But tomato, tomahto.

Regardless of what you want to call it, I really enjoyed it.  I was pretty familiar with Saffron Burrows and Michael Clarke Duncan but I’m not as familiar with Geoff Stults.  However once he turned around in that chair and later on proceeded to take off his shirt revealing a lovely physique to admire, I realized I better get to know him and I would be happy to have him on my TV screen every week!   Besides the hotness that exuded from every pore in his body, I found his character to be funny and quirky (in a good way) yet very serious about his work and complex regarding his past.  I think there are many layers to him that will be revealed over time and I am willing to find out what they are.  On a surface level, it seems he had a tour in Iraq that may have left his brain-damaged to the point where he is incredibly paranoid.   But he doesn’t want to pursue addressing it because he feels his keen sense for his job as a Locator has something to do with it as well.  So if he fixes his paranoia, the thing that makes him an expert at his work will be lost as well.   Time will tell.   Ike and Leo (Burrows and Duncan) are his best friends and support team.  Both are equally interesting and bring their own level of humor and realism that are very relatable.  If this series were to get picked up for next year, I would certainly watch it.

I’ll be honest, the case this week wasn’t all that interesting since it had more to do with introducing these new characters and setting up the pilot for next season.   The short story is a maritime museum security is found murdered and the curator of the museum is the one who murdered him.   He also killed Sarah Walker’s CIA friend Carina from Chuck….over a treasure map.  I was waiting for Finn and Tess from Fool’s Gold to pop out and start helping with the search for the hidden treasure!   The funny part was, Walter said how it’s not his job to solve crimes, just to locate people or things he is hired to find.  Solving the crime was B&B’s responsibility.  But Walter ended up solving the crime anyway so it led to very little Cam, Angela, Hodgins, and Squint time.  Sweets was nowhere to be found.

As I mentioned above, there were 2 very awesome Bones moments.  The first one was when Walter returned Brennan’s 1st place Science Fair medal to her.  To prove how good Walter is at his job, Booth told Brennan to tell Walter what is the one thing she is missing.  She tells him that she lost her science fair medal and Walter tells her to say no more and that he will find it.  Brennan doesn’t believe this is even close to possible.  While working in her office, he shows up and hands her a box wrapped with a blue ribbon.  Inside the box is her science fair medal.  But that wasn’t even the best part.  Also in the box was the article from the local paper about her win and the article had a picture of her and her mom.  It was such a sweet moment that got her (and me) choked up. I loved it!   The second moment also had to do with the medal.  At the end of the show, when B&B are having their traditional drink at the Founding Fathers, they are talking about Walter and his abilities but Booth marvels at how Brennan’s abilities are due to her intense attention to detail and her many years of training.   He basically tells her how awesome she is while placing her medal around her neck.  It’s great.  I also loved how Booth got a little jealous when Walter started showing interest in Brennan.  But I always love seeing Booth’s jealous side.  I think Brennan does too!

So what did you think?  Did you like The Finder and if it gets picked up next year, will you watch it?

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
