RSS

Blue Bloods Creators Have “Exited” the Show

25 Apr

I think this is good news for us Blue Bloods fans.  Last week, both Mitchell Burgess and Robin Green, the show’s creators, were asked to exit the show.  Basically, they were fired.  Why were they fired? It was over the traditional “creative differences” moniker.  Although it sounds as though, in this case,  this may actually be true.  And let me be clear, I am not happy over the fact that 2 people who created a terrific show, just lost their jobs.   That’s not where I am going with this.

Burgess and Green were apparently let go because the show wasn’t procedural enough for the network’s liking.  What makes this somewhat eye brow raising is that the original show runner, Ken Sanzel was fired 9 months ago because of creative disputes with star Tom Selleck.  You know what those disputes were?  Selleck thought the show was TOO procedural.  Soooo now what?  The star thinks the show was too procedural and the network (who decides whether or not to keep you on the air) thinks it isn’t procedural enough.  I have a feeling the network will win this one though.  How that will impact Selleck’s feeling about the show remains to be seen.  In my opinion, I don’t know how you can make the show more procedural.  The whole Blue Templar thing seems to be completely gone and other than building on the family stories, it already is a “case of the week” format.

So why did I start this by saying this was good news for fans of this show?   Because if the networks wanted to canceled Blue Bloods, why go through all of this?  If the network planned to let the show finish out this season with the remaining 3 episodes and then not renew for next season, why bother firing the show’s creators now?   It doesn’t make any sense if the network planned to cancel BB.  Now maybe that is also my wishful thinking because I love the show but it seems an interesting indicator of what will happen come upfronts in 3 weeks.

Are you excited about this news (not for the fact that people lost their jobs but for the idea that a fan favorite may be returning) or are you still nervous about its renewal chances?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 25, 2011 in Breaking News, CBS

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Blue Bloods Creators Have “Exited” the Show

  1. anna harrison

    May 8, 2011 at 8:01 pm

    I LOVE BLOOD BLUES, I TIVE IT AND WATCH IT TWICE SOMETIMES. AS MUCH AS I ENJOYED FRIDAYS EPISODE (5/6) I WAS VERY DISAPOINTED THAT THE ACTOR WHO PORTAYED SOMEONE WITH BI-POLAR DISODER WAS MADE OUT TO LOOK INSANE. I SUFFER FROM BI-POLAR 2 AND AM NOT ON ANY MEDICATION. I HAVE LEARNED HOW TO DEAL WITH THE HIGHS AND LOWS. THIS IS NOT THE ONLY SHOW TO MAKE BI-POLAR PEOPLE LOOK LIKE THEY CAN NOT FUNCTION IN SOCIETY.

     
    • fortheloveoftv

      May 9, 2011 at 4:47 pm

      I haven’t watch the last two Friday’s yet…too many social commitments….ugh!!! But after your comments I am really anxious to watch it. I’ll let you know my thoughts after I watch it!

       

Leave a Reply

 
