RSS

QUICK REVIEW: Supernatural

10 May

I can’t believe I am about to say this, but I am so disappointed in the last two episodes of Supernatural.  So disappointed that I’m combining them into one quick review!!  But really, so disappointed that I am not even looking forward to the season finale this year like I have been in seasons past.  There are shows out there right now where I am jumping through my skin to get to the season finale…Castle, Bones, The Mentalist, The Good Wife, How I Met Your Mother, Survivor.  But this season, I could care less.  You know why?  I haven’t been given a reason to care.  I know I’m repeating myself but it really bugs me.    All other seasons, the episodes have built to a final showdown or confrontation between the Winchesters and whomever or whatever they were battling during that particular season.  This year has been so up and down with knowing what the real end game is and who the big bad is that I have lost interest.   First we thought it was Soulless Sam and what was going on with him.  Is he evil?  Is he not evil?  Does he play a part in all this?   Then there was Samuel and Crowley.  Crowley was looking for purgatory and he brought Samuel back to help him so we thought those were the bad guys.   Then there was Death’s role in this and the conversation he has with Dean about the souls and how the Winchesters mess with the natural order of things (that’s the one consistent theme of the season.)  Then the Mother of All, Eve, showed up so maybe she was the big baddie.  We got know her for about 5 minutes and then, dead.  Now Crowley is alive again so it’s back to him and his partner, Castiel.

While ALL this is going on, there was the war in Heaven.   I was frustrated with this before and now, after last week’s episode, I am even more frustrated about how this was handled all season.   If you read my Supernatural posts with any consistency, you will know that I have been asking about what is going on in Heaven and is it a big deal?   It must be a big deal because it’s been mentioned enough times but it can’t be that big of a deal because other than MENTIONING it, we haven’t LEARNED anything about it….until last week.   Turns out the war in Heaven is the impetus for everything we have been watching this season.   Really?   And the reason we haven’t learned more about it until now is?????   In all seriousness, why couldn’t the conversation between Castiel and Raphael happened in the middle of the season?   Was it because the writers wanted us to question Castiel’s motives and whether or not he turned bad?  Well that would be dumb on many levels.  Number One, people love Castiel.  There’s about as much of a chance of Castiel tuning “bad” as Sam.  It’s not happening.  He may make bad choices but it will always be for a good reason.  His heart will be in the right place.  Number Two, It wasn’t until the last couple of episodes that you started to wonder what the hell Castiel was doing anyway.  Then you give him his own episode to explain it and poof, bye-bye wonder.   Number Three, we just learned he was working with Crowley last week.  So in terms of Castiel working with the dark side, it never came to light until later.  So I think the Raphael/Castiel meeting could have happened months ago.   At least it would have given us SOME inkling as to what was going on in Heaven, why it was happening, and why it was so important to the arc of the season.    For those who don’t know, the brief run down is that Raphael still wants the apocalypse to take place and wipe out man kind to start over again.  Castiel doesn’t want that to happen and if he can keep Raphael from taking over while God and Michael are MIA, he can stop his plan.  It’s why he needs the souls and why he’s been working with Crowley to find purgatory.   He doesn’t have enough power to fight Raphael so he needs more power sources to do it.  Hence the hunt for souls and purgatory.

It’s also why Eve was brought in and was so pissed.  She has no problem with the natural order (there’s that theme again.)  Her children (Vampires, Werewolves, and such) kill some humans, humans kill some of them…it works.   But when Crowley was using hunters to wrangle up all the creatures and kill them in bulk quantities for their souls, she had an issue with that.  That’s why she came around…to put an end to that.  Unfortunately (or fortunately however you choose to look at that story line) she got killed by Dean before she could really get going.   It’s a shame because if it was handled the right way, she could have been a very formidable monster the boys would have to battle.  But she came and went so quickly, she was a waste in my mind.

My final gripe is the way the boys handled the news about Castiel.   Am I not mistaken that they are the pot calling the kettle black here?   How many times did either Sam or Dean have a secret that he didn’t share with the other brother or Bobby out of wanting to protect them?  For a while there it would happen once or twice a season.  So how exactly can they get on Castiel for not telling them what was going on?   And how could Sam, of all people, give him grief about working with a demon.   Does the name Ruby ring any bells to him?   I found this incredibly hypocritical of the boys.   The only interesting part that came out of that scene where they trapped him, was that we found out it was Castiel that brought Sam back, not Crowley.  But we don’t know why and we don’t know if it was intentional or by accident that his soul didn’t come with him.  Now that is something I am very curious to find out about!

No Supernatural this Friday but the 2 hour finale is going to be May 20th.  Are you excited about this year’s finale?  Or are you like me and kind of indifferent at this point?

 
7 Comments

Posted by on May 10, 2011 in CW, Quick Reviews/Recaps

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 responses to “QUICK REVIEW: Supernatural

  1. sportsattitudes

    May 10, 2011 at 4:30 pm

    As I mentioned in a prior comment, it would have been fine with me if the series had concluded last season on a high note. They seem to be really struggling for story and plotlines this season. The Winchesters’ reaction to Cas was awful indeed. I had hope from the prior ep that things would finish on a high note but it’s quite the mess after last week’s fiasco. Once Crowley came back it was almost a jump the shark moment anyway. Very disappointed and not excited about the finale at all…but will still watch because I’ve seen ’em all!

     
  2. Girish Winchester

    May 11, 2011 at 5:25 am

    Ok, I’ve to say this! None of the episodes after the long hiatus “sucked”! They were all pretty good. And the last episode “The Man Who Would Be King” was one of the best episodes ever!!!! Castiel calling out to God was so heartbreaking. (I’m a 21 yr old guy btw & I don’t normally shed tears). Dean reacted the way he did to Castiel’s betrayal was because he actually thinks of Castiel as his brother & an innocent one at that! He thought Cas never could lie to him. Remember “Balky Bartokomous of Heaven” or something & Cas is a baby?! He loves Castiel, probably more than he loves Bobby or Sam & even he doesn’t know it yet! He was so broken up that Cas had been working with that slimy bastard Crowley since last year! Sam was a hypocrite though. But they all think it was Cas’ intention to leave the soul in hell. Can’t really blame anybody! I actually can’t wait for the 2 hour epic finale. I was hoping for a showdown of the Winchesters & Mother (she was one awesome devil), still Supernatural has never let me down. Hope Sera Gamble ties everything up nicely. She has done a pretty good job of filling in Kripke’s humongous shoes up till now!

    The Mentalist has good directing & writing, but the story seems to be going nowhere! We’re almost at the season end & Jane is still trying to find the few remaining suspects in the cid squad! I hate to say this, though I love this show, I’m not at all looking forward to the finale.

    HIMYM isn’t anywhere near as funny as it was the previous seasons. Its getting kinda boring now. I’d say, The Big Bang Theory is the best comedy out there right now. (Loved Modern Family season 1, but haven’t see season 2 yet, so I can’t comment on that)

    PS: @sportsattitude – It couldn’t be any higher than Winchesters fighting the fallen angel, devil – Lucifer!!! Mark Pelligrino made one hell of a devil! He gave me the chills!

     
    • fortheloveoftv

      May 11, 2011 at 8:16 am

      I don’t think episodes have sucked either. My point has been that while episodes individually have been great (Frontierland was probably one of my all time favorite episodes) as an over all story telling arc, it’s been very choppy, all over the place, and a complete mess this year. It’s one thing to keep the audience guessing as to what is going on. But for most of the season, it seems as though the writers didn’t know what was going on. And if they did, they didn’t do a good job of having it flow well and they didn’t develop some of the major points enough for the story to have as much impact as it could have.

      All other seasons of Supernatural have been tremendous. I loved how well they were handled. This season hasn’t been as strong from an umbrella story standpoint. And I have to disagree with you about Dean’s reaction to Castiel. There have been SEVERAL times throughout the series where Dean didn’t tell Sam something to protect him and thought he was doing it for the greater good or to save his brother’s life. Remember the deal he made with the crossroads demon? Basically, Cas is doing the same thing. So how can Dean really get on him for “betraying” him? Sam has also done the same thing to Dean and while he was pissed initially, he eventually understood and forgave him. I’m hoping that’s what happens here between the boys and Cas. If not, they are hypocrites. And this is coming from someone who is a HUGE Dean and San fan and not so much a Castiel fan!

       
      • Girish Winchester

        May 13, 2011 at 8:37 am

        Well, yeah I agree with you. The individual episodes have been pretty good, but the story arc seems to go randomly at times. But the characters make the story seem to be flowing smoothly, that’s the strong point of this season, I guess. And Dean will eventually understand Castiel & he’ll forgive him. I am not really worried about that. What I am worried about is Castiel’s future! Its looking pretty grim at the moment. I can’t wait one more week for the finale. Its killing me!
        I’ve watched the first five seasons three times (never have I watched any tv show more than once), so I agree they are excellently done 🙂

         
  3. sportsattitudes

    May 11, 2011 at 8:09 am

    Mark Pelligrino was an awesome devil. No doubt about it!

     
    • fortheloveoftv

      May 11, 2011 at 8:17 am

      Agreed. Probably one of my favorite all time characters on the show!

       
    • Girish Winchester

      May 13, 2011 at 8:39 am

      Lucifer, played by Mark, is my most fav evil character ever!

       

Leave a Reply

 
