RSS

SEASON FINALE REVIEW: Bones “The Change in the Game” S6 E24

19 May

When Hart Hanson says “A Change in the Game” he sure wasn’t kidding!!!! That was quite a whopper of a last scene…on many levels! Angela and Hodgins had their new born son (complete with Billy Gibbons’ Michael cap) and Brennan had some pretty big news for Booth…she’s pregnant and the baby is his. Wait, what??? Back up a minute. Did Brennan just say she was pregnant with Booth’s kid? When the hell did that happen and why didn’t we get to witness at least some very very very early parts of that? Believe me I’m not complaining but I would-be lying if I didn’t mention that I was slightly disappointed. Although I’m not surprised Emily’s real life pregnancy was written into the show.

I hope no one minds, but I’m not going to get into the case of the bowler that was killed. With everything going on, I could have cared less about the case, who was killed, and why. Sorry! I will say though that I may need to see more episodes where Booth sports a mullet and Brennan has 1980s South Philly hair. Freaking fantastic!!! The only thing that really mattered was how many times, during the case, Brennan made comments about having kids with Booth or the way other children were behaving.

Before getting into the Booth and Brennan stuff, let’s talk about the birth of Michael Staccato Vincent Hodgins. How cute was it that he has Angela’s dad’s name request and Vincent’s name all as part of his official name? I loved it. I also loved the labor and delivery. Leading up to all that Angela is helping Wendell and Hodgins with their case while at the same time, eating enough hot sauce to season 100,000 chicken wings, to try to help speed her labor along. It works because her water breaks at the lab. Hodgins, for once, is staying calm while Ang goes into labor. He calmly speaks to her while she screams at him to get the car and the flashback to a freaking out Hodgins resurfaces when he flips out again and scrambles to find his car keys. They get to the hospital and Ang is hilarious. One minute she’s yelling at Hodgins and the doctor while the next she is being sweet as pie to them. Hodgins didn’t take the name calling so well but the doctor just took it all in stride. She’s seen it all before. The best part is while she’s in labor, she’s on a web cam still helping Wendell and Cam with the case. I seriously would have hurled that computer across the room before I worked while being in labor (with no drugs to boot !!!!). Angela is a much stronger woman than me! But right before the baby is born, they say the sweetest things to each other, about loving the sound of each other’s voice and how the touch of her hand resonates throughout his body. It was so touching. Michael is born and his vision is checked immediately. The doctor turns around and tells them that their baby boy is just fine and his vision is perfect! “After what they did by killing Vincent Nigel Murray, that kid’s vision better be perfect” my husband says to me. He is still very bitter about the last episode! Who can blame him?

This all leads to the crew waiting to hear news about Ang and Michael, Brennan visiting Ang and giving her a stuffed bunny from her and Booth, and Brennan’s conversation with Booth. I think it was pretty obvious that Emily’s pregnancy was going to be written into the show. A few episodes ago she mentioned how she would be the only one in the lab without a child. She mentioned several times in this episode how she and “Buck” would never raise a child like that (meaning the annoying brat on the bowling team). When she went to see Ang, her first question was about how labor was. And finally walking with Booth, she was asking about having children. So it was coming. The question was, how would this be possible? We haven’t seen (on camera) Booth and Brennan getting together so how could she be pregnant with his kid? Could Hart Hanson be THAT cruel? The answer is yes. It’s safe to assume this happened the night of VNM’s death when Brennan cried in Booth’s arms in his bed. Now there was a conversation with her and Angela, the next day, about her being in bed with Booth. It was a very vague conversation and even though Ang was excited, I thought she was reading too much into it and the writers were also leading us to believe that as well and it would turn out to not be true. Well so much for that. Thinking back, it makes sense because why would Brennan make a point to tell Ang about that night if nothing happened. Well folks, it happened. The thing all of us B&B fans have been waiting for for 6 seasons FINALLY happened. We just didn’t get to see it or enjoy it.

How do you feel about that? I’m pissed. Like I said before, don’t get me wrong. I’m THRILLED they finally got together and the baby is his and not some random motorcycle doctor’s kid (Castle fans will understand that reference). But are you kidding me???? Booth and Brennan have sex for the first time and we don’t even get to see a kiss? Really? I feel cheated. I feel like I have been waiting all this time for B&B to unite and they did but we didn’t get to share it with them. I mean, we couldn’t even get a kiss or a HUG after she told him the news. Nothing! I don’t get it. I know some people will think I am splitting hairs and other people may think that nothing is ever good enough but I don’t care. I understand the real life pregnancy needed to be written in. I get that. I just wish it would have started with a kiss or date or sex and then it slowly build to this. I really feel cheated. At the same time, I really liked the season finale and like the fact that we are starting to move B&B in the right direction. I just hope Hanson doesn’t pull one of those “they’re having a baby together but they aren’t together as a couple and they will need to learn to co-parent separately.”. I will never watch Bones again if a stunt like that is pulled. We deserve and B&B deserve to be happy together in a real relationship. I hope tonight’s finale was the start of that moving forward.

What did you think Bones fans? Did you like the finale? Do you love or hate the pregnancy bomb? Are you happy or mad about the way B&B getting together was handled? I want to hear from you!! One thing I do know, I can’t wait for September!!!

 
9 Comments

Posted by on May 19, 2011 in FOX, Recaps and Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

9 responses to “SEASON FINALE REVIEW: Bones “The Change in the Game” S6 E24

  1. Carol

    May 20, 2011 at 12:43 am

    Well.. to be totally honest, i just LOVED this season finale (way much more than 5th season’s finale).
    As you were saying the whole case was not important really to me… it was really funny watching B&B going undercover again though (i remember the episode on the circus and the one in the ilegal fights)…
    “The whole in the heart” was so moving, and it kept me thinking the entire week “have they or have they not…” I was almost sure that the hadn’t done it… I mean I wanted to see at least a kiss!!!…
    So basically… right at the end, when Brennan was staring at Booth i was sure she was going to tell him she loved him or something like that… they would kiss and that would be it (honestly i thought the pregnancy thing would be brought after this season finished, that is on next season, and also not at its beginning)…
    So i was a pretty SHOCK! my goooodddd i couldn’t believe it… and actually when she said she was pregnant i said WHAT? WHO’S THE FATHER!, god… it was amazing… and the way booth smiled, and then she smiled back at him… I just loved it…

    Well of course i loved Hodgela’s scenes… i’ve always been in love with that couple… i think future episodes with that baby will be hilarious…

    I cannot wait for next season… I love the way the handled everything… hurray!

     
    • fortheloveoftv

      May 20, 2011 at 9:59 am

      I agree. This was MUCH better than last year and I really enjoyed it. I just felt so mad that after all these seasons we couldn’t at least get a kiss or something!

      But I think this is going to make for some great TV. Thanks for the comment!

       
  2. Carol

    May 20, 2011 at 12:44 am

    i meant “the hole in the hurt” sorry!

     
  3. Carol

    May 20, 2011 at 12:45 am

    my god, “the hole in the heart”… sorry :S

     
    • fortheloveoftv

      May 20, 2011 at 9:57 am

      Ha! No problem. I am doing everything on my iPad so I can only imagine all my mistakes!!

       
  4. ink.princess@yahoo.com

    May 20, 2011 at 1:42 pm

    I agree! I wanted to at least see a kiss or something that let us understand what happened. I wanted them to really fall in love and now Booth is going to feel obligated to marry Bones. I wanted something sweet and romantic then write her pregnancy in. But I was totally shocked!

     
  5. Sasha

    May 20, 2011 at 6:53 pm

    Hart Hanson stated in an interview that the pregnancy was written in before Emily announced she was expecting. The story line was not compromised, we have been waiting six years for something tangible and we finally have it. This was a perfect and powerful episode that was not deluded due to outside events. Here is a link to the episode and the controversial pregnancy.

    http://insidetv.ew.com/2011/05/20/bones-season-6-finale-pregnant/

     
  6. bbuie

    June 4, 2011 at 12:45 pm

    the episode nigel-murray was killed bones spent the night at booth’s place and found herself in bed with boothand the next day she told angela what happened.

     
    • fortheloveoftv

      June 4, 2011 at 3:55 pm

      My husband and I said we want to re-watch that episode because we both initially took the conversation between Brennan and Angela differently than what actually happened. If I remember correctly, Brennan told Angela that she spent the night with Booth and we both thought that Angela jumped the gun assuming that meant they slept together. And I thought the writing team did that on purpose to leave some ambiguity there. But I don’t remember her telling Angela they had sex. So that’s why I want to watch it again.

      And I’m still pissed we couldn’t share the moment…LOL!!!

       

Leave a Reply

 
