RSS

Criminal Minds News: It’s Official!!!! Prentiss is in and Seaver is out!!

29 May

In news that I’m sure will surprise no one but will probably send most fans into a happy dance, Paget Brewster will be back as Emily Prentiss on Criminal Minds this season.  I am so excited about this because I can’t wait to see the dynamic of the team when she returns.   As you all know if you watch CM, everyone except JJ and Hotch think Prentiss is dead.  How will they all react when they find out she’s still alive?  Especially her partner Derrick Morgan?  I can’t wait to see!!!   I would have to make the assumption that her return also means it will also bring back the great storyline of trying to find and capture Doyle.  Will they do it with Prentiss or will they have to do it before so she can come out of hiding?  I am really anxious to see how they handle that.   I remember being furious this time last year when I found out JJ wasn’t coming back except for 2 episodes to wrap up her story and that Emily would be cut and most likely leaving as well (which she did.)  I couldn’t understand, other than the financial aspect, why CM was getting rid of two strong female characters.  I thought if you wanted to cut back on actor salaries, Joe Montangna must be making a pretty penny.  Couldn’t they cut him?  I don’t like to say that because I love Montangna as an actor and think he’s terrific.  But I don’t think he brings as much to CM as the other characters.  My opinion.  I like Rossi but I wouldn’t be upset if I didn’t see him again.  Everyone else though…Hotch, Morgan, Prentiss, JJ, Garcia, and Reid…would break my heart.   That’s why I’m so happy that both ladies are back and everyone else is also in tact.  Now if they can just sign Thomas Gibson to that damn contract because he is the heart and soul of the BAU and I don’t want to see CM without him!!!

But God giveth and He taketh away.  With Paget Brewster’s return, that sent Rachel Nichols’ Agent Ashley Seaver packing.  No loss though.  She just never fit in and unfortunately for the actress was set up to fail.  So many viewers were upset with the dismissal of Brewster and Cook that no matter who came in to “replace” them (more so Cook) it wasn’t going to work and the fans most likely weren’t going to like her.  And that ended up being the case.   Nichols is great so hopefully she ends up on another show soon.  She just didn’t fit CM.

What are your thoughts CM fans?   Are you happy to see our favorite ladies back in action?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 29, 2011 in Breaking News, Casting News, CBS

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Criminal Minds News: It’s Official!!!! Prentiss is in and Seaver is out!!

  1. sportsattitudes

    May 30, 2011 at 12:19 pm

    Rachel Nichols gets the thankless job of 2011 award for having to step into the AJ-Paget departure goop. Someday even the most die-hard CM fans will recognize she did quite well during her time on the show…and no doubt she’ll be on another one soon. I have no doubt CM fans everywhere are thrilled. It does seem to me Paget will have to return after Doyle’s demise…or be the one who locates him and alerts the team to join her and jointly finish him off. The best part will most definitely be how most of the team feels about being lied to regarding her death.

     

Leave a Reply

 
