RSS

QUICK REVIEW: Franklin & Bash “Pilot” S1 E1

04 Jun

Franklin & Bash premiered this week on TNT Wednesday night.  It stars two of my favorite people…Mark-Paul Gosselaar and Breckin Meyer as Peter Bash and Jared Franklin.   They have their own law firm and they also employ a private investigator, Carmen Phillips (played by Dana Davis) and researcher Pindar Singh (played by Kumail Nanjiani).   I wouldn’t go as far to say they are ambulance chasers (even though they did witness an accident and ran over to the one victim looking to attract him as a client) but they do take any case they can without any care or direction.  They end up getting that case and winning while Stanton Infeld (played by Malcolm McDowell) watches in the gallery.  He is one of the senior partners at Infeld Daniels.  Turns out they beat his nephew, Damien Karp (played by Reed Diamond) who is supposedly an up and comer at the law firm of Infeld Daniels.  As a result, Infeld hires them (along with Carmen and Pindar) and an automatic in-house feud between Franklin & Bash and Karp commences.

For summer time shows, I don’t need anything very heavy.  It’s like reading a book.  I can read Dan Brown or Tom Clancy in the winter time because I am ready for something thought-provoking and intense.  But in the summer, give me my James Patterson and Nicholas Sparks.  It’s lighter, it’s easier to follow, and I don’t have to think too much.  I feel that way about my shows too.  Franklin & Bash is one of those shows.  It’s relatively entertaining and incredibly predictable.  It’s characters are pretty standard characters without too much originality.   Bash is a great people person, a ladies man, and everyone loves him plus he’s very good at his job.  But the ladies man does long for the woman he used to have but doesn’t anymore because he screwed it up and now she is engaged to someone else so of course he wants to win her back.  She also happens to be an ADA he fights in court constantly, Janie Ross (played by Claire Coffee.)  Franklin is the wild card, hates authority, doesn’t care what anyone else thinks, wise-cracking best friend and partner of Bash.  It reminds me a lot of The Defenders but without all the smugness.  Plus I am willing to forgive a lot more for summer viewing on an non-major cable TV network than a fall, major network, broadcast TV show.  I really didn’t like The Defenders.  I didn’t like the writing because it felt like they were trying to be a serious law show, defending serious clients, with crack pot, jokes of lawyers in Belushi and O’Connell.   As soon as a law show tries the “our client is innocent because he’s a great guy and we believe him, therefore you should too” defense and they win off of that, the show has lost me.  This show is slightly different in that right now, they aren’t trying to be serious lawyers with serious cases.  They defend car accident defendants who were distracted by naked girls and prostitutes who fell in love with their clients.  This show certainly isn’t trying to be The Practice.  It isn’t taking itself too seriously so that’s why I don’t mind it.

Considering I really enjoy The Closer, Rizzoli & Isles, and HawthoRNe, Franklin & Bash, right now, isn’t as good as those shows are.  But if I have nothing else to watch on Wednesday night and it’s on, I will watch it because I like the cast and I didn’t hate the show.  I’m not going to make a point of DVRing it or making it must see TV this summer, but if it’s on and I’m home, I’ll definitely watch it.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
