RSS

REVIEW: Pretty Little Liars “My Name is Trouble” S2 E3

29 Jun

As soon as I watched the “previously on Pretty Little Liars” clip, I knew what was going on with Melissa and I have a theory about her baby.   Wren is who she has been speaking to the whole time and she was having an affair with Wren and he is actually the father of her baby and not Ian.     That’s my theory.  I think the texts she was getting was from Wren so that when Spencer sent the “what did we name our baby” text, Wren answered “Taylor” because he’s the baby daddy!!!   Then when the last scene happened, it solidified my thoughts and I am more convinced than ever that Wren is the baby’s father.

Spencer

I find it curious that considering all the “trouble” Spencer has been in and the fact that Melissa is still recovering from a car accident and her husband is either dead or missing, that the Hastings are out-of-town a lot!    Would you leave your daughters in this situation?   I know I would make arrangements for at least ONE of us to be there for them.    I find that strange.

Spencer is determined to find out who Melissa is talking to and she also wants to know if someone is staying with Jason DiLaurentis.  Toby has started working for Jason because no one else will hire him and he really needs the money to start his own business and move out of his house.   Spencer doesn’t like this and wants him to quit.   To help speed that process along, she takes Melissa’s wedding ring and sells it to a pawn shop to get the money to buy Toby a truck so he can take a job in Yardley and stop working for Jason.    I’m not sure why Spencer would be so against Toby working with Jason.   If anything, if Toby gets closer to Jason, he may be able to open a circle of trust and therefore get more information out of him.   Spencer should be encouraging this in my opinion not discouraging it.   One day when Spencer went to visit Toby, Jason was bringing trash bags to the curb and one broke showing rags with blood on it.  Hmmmm.  Did Jason have an accident or is he helping someone with injuries from a fall in a bell tower?   We’ll have to wait and see.

Aria

Aria is now taking a pottery class at Hollis College, where he father teaches, Ezra teaches, and Ezra’s ex fiance teaches.  This surprises me.   Wouldn’t this still be an issue for Ezra?  I don’t know the rules of college professors dating students at the college but I can’t imagine this would be acceptable.  Ezra and Aria had to keep their creepy, out-of-line relationship a secret when Ezra was teaching at Rosewood because he would have gotten fired (and I have to imagine in some states, arrested.)   Now he’s at Hollis and their relationship can be out in the open.  Well if Aria is taking classes at Hollis, whether she is in his class or not, isn’t that against the rules?   She’s 16 and taking a class at a local college where her “boyfriend” teaches.  In my mind, there is soooooo many things wrong with that scenario I don’t even know where to begin.   But I can’t imagine the administration at Hollis, being happy about this.   Boy I really hope they break up soon.

While Aria was taking her pottery class, she noticed Jenna in her class.  She tries to keep her distance and when the teacher asks her what her name is, she says Anita.  Now I would think that regardless of what Aria said her name is, Jenna would be able to recognize her voice.   I’m about to get really angry at the writers for insulting the intelligence of the viewers but then they correct the situation.  When Jenna takes her finished product and asks “Anita” to describe it to her since she can’t see, Aria starts to tell her what it looks like.   It is then that Jenna recognizes her voice and yells at her to blow out the candle (the lights have been turned out and the candle was the only light in the room.)   I have to say, this is the first time I really start to feel bad for Jenna and I think Aria starts to see the full impact of their actions from a very real and emotional level that she (and the audience) really hadn’t seen before from Jenna.  But as soon as Jenna realizes Aria is there, she instantly goes back to crazy mode, so that didn’t last very long!

Hanna

Before we get into Hanna, I have one comment for the writers.  Tom Marin, Hanna’s father (played by Roark Critchlow) was talking about his upcoming wedding to Isabel, his fiance, and said “if she could fill up Veterans Stadium, she would.”    Technically, it should be Lincoln Financial Field.   My beloved Veterans Stadium, which was home to the Philadelphia Eagles and Philadelphia Phillies for over 30+ years, was imploded on March 21st 2004.   So it would be quite a challenge for Tom and Isabel to have their wedding at the Vet.

On that front, Ashley and Tom seem to be getting along very well.  Tom is staying in Rosewood a little longer which seems to make Ashley very happy and Isabel very unhappy.  At first I didn’t think Hanna liked the idea of her parents getting chummy again.  But when Isabel sends Tom an apology text,  his cell phone is on the kitchen island while Tom and Ashley are on the patio, drinking wine, laughing, and really enjoying each other’s company.  So Hanna does what any teenager would do….she deletes the text.   I have a feeling that will come back into to play, but for the time being, there was a small part of me that was thrilled Hanna did that because I really like the chemistry between Tom and Ashley.

At school, Hanna is trying to rebuild her friendship with Lucas.   And while Lucas is hesitant and cautious, you can tell he misses Hanna.  I still think there are some residual feelings there on his end, but I really believe that Lucas would rather have some portion of Hanna in his life, than not at all.  And if that is only as friends, so be it.   He looks like he starts crushing on another girl on the yearbook committee so Hanna makes it her mission to help him get a date.   It’s pretty sweet and I think she succeeds.

Emily

Emily is my least favorite character.  She is so maudlin and  morose that she gets on my nerves.  I can’t remember the last time I saw that girl smile.   She always looks like she is going to burst into tears at any moment and she’s a huge downer.  Even when she started dating this new girl, she looks like this is a painful experience for her rather than a happy one.  So I’m hoping the writers start to give her some life and happiness because she drags down every scene she’s in.

Emily came up with a plan to change the Danby letter she received from being more vague about her opportunity to an all out scholarship offer if she stays in Rosewood.   She would then mail it so her mother would receive it and decide to stay in Rosewood vs. moving to Texas.  After a heart to heart with her mom, she decides against.  A, on the other hand, has other plans for her.   A somehow mails the letter to Mrs. Fields and as a result they are staying in Rosewood….prompting another gloomy look from Emily.

While I am enjoying Season Two, I would like to start getting some answers to some questions.  Even if it is just revealed to us and not the Liars, but I need something.    Is Jason bad?   Who is staying with him and why?   Is Ian alive or dead?   What is going on with Melissa?   What’s up with the cop and Jenna?   Is Jenna good or bad?   Is Toby involved in any of this?   Is there any other clue to who A may be?   I dont’ need everything answered.   I’m still ok with not knowing who A is.   But there are major questions being opened up so it would be nice if ONE thing could be solved or ONE question could be answered.   Want to help me out there ABC Family?  Thanks!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 29, 2011 in ABC, Recaps and Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “REVIEW: Pretty Little Liars “My Name is Trouble” S2 E3

  1. Juliet

    June 29, 2011 at 9:03 pm

    that veterans stadium comment bothered me to no end as a lifelong philadelphian. thanks for picking up on it too!

     
    • fortheloveoftv

      June 30, 2011 at 1:00 pm

      I know I’m nitpicking but I couldn’t help it!! Only us Philadelphians would have picked up on it but the show has been really good about being authentic about the Philadelphia area. So it surprised me that he made the comment about the Vet.

       

Leave a Reply

 
