RSS

Happy Fourth of July!!!!

05 Jul

Happy 4th fellow TV fans!   I have been on a mini break for the holiday weekend.   Plus, it doesn’t help that down the shore I have no cable (perish the thought) and my slingbox refuses to work.   If anyone has ANY suggestions as to how to make you damn slingbox work, I would love to hear it because I am ready to through my slingbox out the window!

I will probably watch the latest True Blood on my HBO to GO later today but I won’t get to PLL, Nine Lives of Covert Affairs until probably next week.   Unless my slingbox would start working!!!!!!   Can you tell I am really annoyed at my slingbox?

So what am I doing with my time with no cable TV?    Well, I have been listening to updates on the Casey Anthony Trial (I’m going to discuss this more on a podcast) and on Netflix, I have been catching up with Friday Night Lights and I am completely hooked on Buffy the Vampire Slayer, which I did not watch the first time around.   I really have to stop watching all these new shows!   Those books on my night stand will NEVER get read if I keep getting hooked on shows.

Well I hope everyone had a wonderful and safe 4th.  We are only about 2 months away from the start of the network season people!   I feel like a kid counting down the days to their trip to Disney World!

 
10 Comments

Posted by on July 5, 2011 in General

 

Tags: ,

10 responses to “Happy Fourth of July!!!!

  1. toosoxy

    July 5, 2011 at 1:33 pm

    Speaking of Buffy- heard about the New Sarah Michelle Gellar show? Sounds interesting…

     
    • fortheloveoftv

      July 5, 2011 at 3:10 pm

      I have! It looks awesome. That’s not a show I have seen a sneak peek of yet. But hopefully leading up to the premiere, I will!

       
  2. Girish

    July 5, 2011 at 3:14 pm

    Happy 4th of July! Nine Lives of Covert Affairs!! That made me lol 🙂

     
    • Girish

      July 5, 2011 at 3:17 pm

      Oh and Falling Skies and Chloe King are worth checking out.

       
      • fortheloveoftv

        July 5, 2011 at 6:17 pm

        Hey Girish! I am watching Chloe King and I love it!!! I did not check out Falling Skies because it doesn’t look like my kind of show. I hear it’s wonderful but not up my alley. Plus, I still have to get through Nikita, Game of Thrones, Chuck, and Boardwalk Empire (which are all on my DVR) before some of my other summer shows start to air.

         
        • Girish

          July 6, 2011 at 2:51 am

          Even I have to watch season 4 of Chuck. Stopped watching it halfway through and I’ve no idea why I did that! Falling Skies is finally getting into its groove now, it’ll probably be one of my favs by the end of its season. My friend is a huge fan of Game of Thrones and she’s bugging me to watch it for so long. As I don’t have any other summer shows other than FS & TNLCK on my watch list, I think I’ll watch as I’ve time for it now. Can’t watch any other old shows in fall! I already want to watch atleast 10 of the new shows based on the trailers itself! lol

           
          • fortheloveoftv

            July 6, 2011 at 7:27 pm

            Me too! The last episode I watched was when Ellie had the baby and it was some of the best Chuck episodes ever! But they just built up and I haven’t had time to watch them. But it is on my to do list in a few weeks!!!

             
  3. sportsattitudes

    July 6, 2011 at 8:27 am

    Buffy is great fun. Like most series with so many eps, they went off the tracks for a few…but one of the most underrated shows of our time. It was amazing how many people wrote it off because they THOUGHT they knew what it was about (teen appeal only). I recall when it was on how impossibly frustrating it was to not be able to convince people to at least give it a chance. Lots of folks didn’t. Hopefully, there are plenty “catching up” to it now…from Episode 1!

     
    • fortheloveoftv

      July 6, 2011 at 7:29 pm

      It’s just getting better and better. Did you ever watch Angel? My husband has already said how he wants to check that out but I don’t know. Can I really adopt ANOTHER older show? LOL. I may have to wait. Unless it’s REALLY worth it.

       
  4. sportsattitudes

    July 7, 2011 at 2:12 pm

    My wife and I agree there was an entire season of Angel that was unwatchable. They went down a number of stupid roads and really got away from what made the show a pretty decent watch overall. She ultimately rates it higher than me but my advice would be to watch the final season just to get a taste of things. The “scooby gang” in Angel took over a legal firm which was a front for all things evil. They wound up being able to “work from the inside” to save the world. The last season of Angel is flat out the best one in my opinion. Of course, you’d be missing the context the characters are coming from not seeing anything prior to that…but you’re talented enough to enjoy the shows aside from that. I definitely would adopt that final season of Angel. I would pass on the prior ones.

     

Leave a Reply

 
