RSS

2011 Emmy Snubs

14 Jul

I pretty much outlined in my Emmy Nominations posts for drama and comedy, who and what I thought was snubbed.   But I am always interested in reading what other people have to say.    Most of the opinions lined up with mine but some were different or more specific (especially if I don’t watch the show.)   These seemed to be the consensus on snubs:

  • KaDee Strickland
  • Nick Offerman
  • Katey Segal
  • Neil Patrick Harris
  • Kaley Cuoco
  • Community
  • Fringe
  • Anna Torv
  • Kyra Sedgwick
  • John Noble
  • Justified
  • Courteney Cox
  • Cougar Town
This is who I would also add to the list:
  • Lauren Graham
  • Stana Katic
  • Jason Segal
  • Monica Potter
  • Mae Whitman
  • How I Met Your Mother
  • Parenthood
  • Joel McHale
  • Alison Brie
  • Danny Pudi
  • Donald Glover
  • Emily Deschanel
  • Nathon Fillion
There is one website that had their snub list and shocked isn’t a strong enough word to describe it.   I shouldn’t really be surprised considering all the love this particular site gives this show…I guess 16 year-olds do most of the blogging over there.   I’m kidding!!!!  Maybe.    But their number one Emmy snub, of ALL the actors that were snubbed for Emmy’s, their NUMBER ONE shocking snub was…..Darren Criss from Glee (with 1A being Heather Morris from Glee.)  I’m stopping and taking big deep breaths right now before I continue.  First I want to say that I love this particular site.  But I think it’s gone down hill since the main writer has lessened her duties.   And you know what, everyone is entitled to their opinions.   Hell I’m sure they would bash me for the Parenthood love I give.  But I almost spit all my fountain coke all over my iMac when I saw this.   Darren Criss is your #1 snub?   Really?   I’m not knocking Darren Criss because he was one of the best parts of a lousy season of Glee.  But Emmy worthy?  If KaDee Strickland, Stana Katic, Nick Offerman, Katey Segal, Neil Patrick Harris, and Kyra Sedgwick aren’t Emmy worthy, then guess what?   Neither is Darren Criss.
I think Glee is starting to get to that point with me where I’ve had enough.  I’m Glee-ed out.  Maybe that’s why all the Glee talk sends my blood pressure to very scary levels.  I can’t tell you how many other TV sites I go to where it seems like it’s all Glee all the time.  ENOUGH!  There is such a thing as over promotion to the point where you never want to hear or see something again.  I am at that point with Glee and it’s fans to some degree.  My second favorite TV site (if you have to ask me what my favorite TV website is, we are NOT friends anymore) TV Line, does a blind item post where it gives you scoop but doesn’t reveal who they are talking about and you have to guess.  I love it!!  Oh and by the way, if someone from TV Line is reading this, you better tell me who the diva is in your Feb blind item!!!   Anyhoo, every blind item, if you look in the comments section, it’s always Glee.  There could be 400 comments and 375 of them are about Glee.  Now those commenters may not know this (and judging by their comments, they don’t) but there are other TV shows out there other than Glee.  I’m just saying.  It’s possible, it might be some other show.   It cracks me up really.  And those people can get vicious and nasty.  If their parents heard them talk like that, they would be grounded and only allowed to go to school, do their homework, and nothing else.  And NO GLEE!!!     In all seriousness, I was ready to be done with Glee.   But kudos to Ryan Murphy, because after all his interviews this summer, he has pulled me back in.  I can’t wait to see what he is going to do with Season Three since he promised it would be very different and character driven.
Well this was a snub discussion that I didn’t mean to turn into a Glee bashing session.  But what do you think about the snubs?  Do you agree?  Is one of your favs missing from the list?   Or you want to yell at me about Glee?    LOL!
 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 14, 2011 in Emmy Awards

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “2011 Emmy Snubs

  1. Girish

    July 15, 2011 at 8:43 am

    I pretty much have the same opinion on the Emmy snubs. They should have been nominated:

    Neil Patrick Harris
    Kaley Cuoco
    Anna Torv
    Kyra Sedgwick
    John Noble
    Alison Brie
    How I Met Your Mother
    Community
    Fringe

    And too much Glee bashing here! lol! I like it 🙂

     
  2. sportsattitudes

    July 15, 2011 at 1:33 pm

    I never caught Glee fever. I have been Jane Lynch-ed out for sometime now even before Glee started and the few times I dipped into the Glee pool her poison over-the-top role just seemed to be counter to what I think the show wants to be. Too confusing to figure Glee out. Big Bang Theory’s Kaley Cuoco absolutely should be nominated. That being said, I have always pretty much ignored awards like this and the Oscars as popularity contests and “paying people back favors”…I must really like FTLOTV to be even commenting on them! Actors and actresses aren’t going to turn down these award honors but I don’t think they get too excited if they don’t get nominated for them. I think the profession understands the true rewards come from the fan support…and continued offers to work!

     

Leave a Reply

 
