RSS

2011 FOX Fall Preview

04 Sep

RETURNING SHOWS:

  • Cops (9/10)
  • Glee (9/20)
  • Raising Hope (9/20)
  • Kitchen Nightmares (9/23)
  • Fringe (9/23)
  • The Simpsons (9/25)
  • The Cleveland Show (9/25)
  • Family Guy (9/25)
  • American Dad (9/25)
  • House (10/3)
  • Bones (11/3)
NEW SHOWS:
  • New Girl (9/20)
  • The X Factor (9/21)
  • Terra Nova (9/26)
  • Allen Gregory (10/30)
SHOWS I AM MOST LOOKING FORWARD TO:
  • Bones
  • New Girl
  • Terra Nova
SHOWS I AM LOSING INTEREST IN BUT WILL GIVE ONE MORE SEASON TO:
  • Glee
SHOWS I COULD CARE LESS ABOUT:
  • Cops
  • The X Factor
  • Kitchen Nightmares
  • The Simpsons
  • The Cleveland Show
  • Family Guy
  • American Dad
  • Allen Gregory
WHAT TO WATCH FOR:
  • Fringe Moving to Fridays: Fringe was another show that got a surprise last-minute renewal (yeah for Fringe fans!!)  The show has been moved to Fridays where they either are either going to make a commitment to keeping the show there for the remainder of its run or the network sent it there to die slowly.  I fear it’s going to be the later but I hope not.  Friday is a tough night.   But I would rather see Fringe on a tough night that not on air at all!  At least there is a lot less pressure on the show on Friday night.  However, it is now on at the same time as Supernatural and the new show Grimm.  Some similarities in the target viewing audience there.   But Fringe is like Chuck….the little show that could with a strong, loyal fan base.  Let’s see how long it can chug along!
  • Glee’s Revamped Third Season: You all know how I feel about Glee.  And this season is its last chance for me.  Ryan Murphy said he is going back to the formula of Season 1 which makes me very happy. S1 is what made Glee the awesome show that it was.  S2 destroyed it.   If S3 can get back to S1 glory, I am back in 100%.  If it can’t, I’m done with Glee.   This is also the final season with the big three…Lea Michele, Cory Monteith, and Chris Colfer.   This is a very important season for Glee.  I think the 10-16 year-olds will watch it no matter what.  But anyone older than that who may be looking for a little more out of their TV experience, will need character development and solid, consistent story telling.  Ryan Murphy has promised that.  We will see if he lives up to his promise.
  • The Return of Simon Cowell: The X Factor is coming to FOX.  I have already said I won’t watch since it isn’t my type of show.  But there is no denying how strong a force Cowell is on network TV.  He created the phenomenon that is American Idol and AI just isn’t as strong of a show without Cowell.  Personally I think there are lots of reasons why AI isn’t as strong as it used to be (the loss of Cowell and his dynamic with Paula Abdul, who is also gone, the talent isn’t very good, having the public decide leads to lousy people going too far or winning the whole thing, too many hours in the week dedicated to it, etc.)  But the biggest reason AI isn’t working as well these days is no more Simon Cowell.  Now he’s back on a different show.  Can he bring the same magic to The X Factor he did to AI?   Let me know, because I won’t see it!!!
EARLY THOUGHTS ON NEW SHOWS:
  • The X Factor and Allen Gregory I could care less about.  I’m not into the cartoon comedies and you know I’m not a “reality” person so I won’t be watching The X Factor. Not to mention,  I am ridiculously tired of these talent shows.  I can understand why FOX brought both these shows on board because they will both be huge successes based on what America wants to watch.  I just won’t be one of them.  But I am all over New Girl and Terra Nova.  New Girl is adorable and funny and the cast is very strong.  Due to Happy Endings being picked up for a 2nd season, Damon Waynes Jr. had to pull out of New Girl.  He has been recast with Lamorne Morris.  Waynes will still be in the pilot, which they chose not to reshoot, but his disappearance will be explained in 2nd episode and Morris will take over from there.  I wasn’t a huge Zooey Deschanel fan before this show.  Love her sister to pieces but not so much her.  I completely fall in love with her in this role.  She’s great!   This will probably be my favorite comedy of the new season.  Terra Nova has an interesting premise….but so did The Event and Flash Forward and we know how they turned out.  With the obvious huge expense of the show, I don’t know how strong the ratings will have to be for them to keep going.   But if it’s a solid show, I hope they get the ratings they need to keep it going.
 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 4, 2011 in Fall Preview, FOX, Season Premieres

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “2011 FOX Fall Preview

  1. mclairjeune

    September 4, 2011 at 5:02 pm

    I lost interest in Glee long tie ago. After the superbowl episode I was done. And I definitely will not be giving this new season a shot after I missed half of last season. I loved it in the beginning but now I honestly think that their time is up.

    Every time I watch a preview for Fringe with their “Where is Peter Bishop?” mantra I get more and more revved up. I will mostly likely watch Fringe live on Fridays as apposed to recording it on my DVR. I feel like Supernatural has a stronger fan base so I’m not worried about it but I will do what I can to keep Fringe on air.

    I am also excited about Terra Nova. That show is right up my alley. And I hope it doesn’t go the same way that The Event and Flash Foward. I liked those two shows in the beginning before it all went to hell.

    House and Bones are no brainers. I have no idea what it will be like to actually see Bones pregnant and (hopefully) in a relationship with Booth but I’m looking foward to finding out what that will be like. There are big changes over at House and this may be the last season. How will I live without the snarky remarks of Dr. Gregory House?

     
    • fortheloveoftv

      September 4, 2011 at 10:39 pm

      Most of my posts about Glee this past season were pretty harsh. And it was deserved. It was a horrible season. It is on a VERY short leash with me this season but we’ll see how it goes.

      I made a promise to one of my other loyal readers that I will start watching Fringe if he started watching The Good Wife. I bought the 1st season on DVD but I haven’t had a chance to watch it yet. But I plan to ASAP since I have heard so many good things about the show.

      I’m bummed I have to wait until Nov to see Bones and that it will have an abbreviated season this year due to Emily’s pregnancy, but even 13-15 episodes of Bones are better than nothing. I love Bones!!!!

       
  2. Girish

    September 18, 2011 at 6:07 am

    Lol, I did start watching The Good Wife 🙂 It was pretty good and I intend to complete the first season by the end of next month. “Where is Peter Bishop” is now a mantra for many of us Fringe fans. It had one hell of a finale last season! I think you’ll love Fringe 🙂

    Terra Nova and New Girl are obviously on my watch-list. I ditched House midway last season, but since it may be the final season I’m going to give it a shot.

     

Leave a Reply

 
