RSS

2011 New Fall Show Recap: What Am I Still Watching and What’s Off the DVR?

05 Oct

We are about 2-3 episode into the new fall season (depending on when a show premiered) and there are shows that are still on the DVR schedule, there are shows that are on the “I’ll watch if there is nothing else on because it’s ok” schedule, and there are shows that are completely off the schedule.   Here is my current breakout:

DVRed Shows:

  • Revenge
  • Suburgatory
  • 2 Broke Girls
  • New Girl
  • Homeland
  • Pan Am
  • Prime Suspect
  • Hart of Dixie
I’ll Watch If There Is Nothing Else On Because It’s Ok:
  • Unforgettable
  • Up All Night
  • Person of Interest
  • Ringer
Not Watching:
  • Free Agents
  • Whitney
  • Terra Nova
  • A Gifted Man
  • Charlie’s Angels
  • The Playboy Club (because they canceled it)
  • The Secret Circle
Yet to Premiere:
  • Grimm
  • Once Upon A Time
  • American Horror Story
  • Boss
  • Man Up
  • How To Be A Gentleman
  • Last Man Standing
Of my DVRed showed, my favorite dramas are Homeland, Revenge, and Pan Am and my favorite comedies are New Girl and Suburgatory.  The other shows 2 Broke Girls, Prime Suspect, and Hart Dixie I enjoyed so I will continue to watch.   Homeland is definitely the strongest of all the new shows.  Claire Danes, Mandy Patankin, Damien Lewis, and Morena Baccarin are all fantastic and headline this show about whether or not an American Marine returning home after being a POW for 8+ years is really a hero or a converted terrorist and Danes is the CIA agent suspicious of him and ready to take him down.   It’s fabulous!!!!  Revenge is a great night-time soap.  I hesitate to say that because it could have a negative connotation but you shouldn’t take it that way.  It’s very well done, the cast is great, and it’s a terrific story of a girl Emily Thorne (played by Emily Van Camp) who is looking to take down the family that destroyed her family and ended up being the catalyst behind her father’s death.  One by one she is going after these people while the head of the Grayson family, Victoria (played by Madeline Stowe) is growing more and more curious about Ms. Thorne and doing her own research into her background.  Pan Am is an ensemble show about these women who are flight attendants with Pan Am in the sixties and how their lives are ever-changing for the good and the dangerous.   Right in the middle of the cold war, there is espionage, sex, excitement, mystery, and intrigue.  All three of these shows, if you aren’t watching, you should!
And I just need to make one comment, can people stop comparing The Playboy Club and Pan Am to Mad Men.   Just because all 3 shows are set in the sixties, doesn’t make them carbon copies of one another.  Is Harry’s Law a knock off of The Good Wife because they are both shows about lawyers?   Of course not!   It’s a ridiculous comparison.  Check out the shows for what they are, not because of the time period they are set in.   Off my soap box now!
In terms of the shows I will watch when on, I didn’t hate any of them, they just weren’t must see TV for me.  Each of them were fine in their own right and each of them have glaring issues with their show.   But overall, you won’t feel like you wasted 30 minutes or an hour of your life while watching them.   Or maybe you will!  But for me, if they are on, I’ll probably watch but I’m not going out of my way to make sure I see them.
My not watching list is pretty straight forward..I either hated them (Free Agents), they were awful shows (Charlie’s Angels), or I just didn’t have enough interest to want to watch any further (The Secret Circle.)  Of all the shows, Free Agents was the worst comedy and Charlie’s Angels was the worst drama.  It’s never good when you can’t make it through the whole 30 minutes or hour of the first show.   Or you start looking at your watch thinking you are 90 minutes into a 2 hour show only to find you are only 25 minutes in (like I did with Terra Nova!)  But I always say, check them our for yourself because you could love something I don’t.  But for me, those shows are already off my viewing schedule.   Yikes!
But enough about me.   Where do you stand with your TV viewing schedule?  What are you loving?   Hating?  Indifferent about?   I want to know!!  Is there something I’m missing?  Please share because I could always use a good new show to watch!
 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 5, 2011 in New Shows

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “2011 New Fall Show Recap: What Am I Still Watching and What’s Off the DVR?

  1. Girish

    October 5, 2011 at 4:49 pm

    I absolutely love Person of Interest! To me, this is The Best new show this fall. The atmosphere it creates is absolutely intense and it gave me an adrenaline rush. TV needs to see the return of vigilantes in a big way and this just might the answer. Two thumbs-up for Jonathan Nolan. And having two fantastic actors – Caviezel and Emerson doesn’t hurt one bit.

    New Girl is my favorite new comedy too. I liked Coach, too bad they ditched him. Hart of Dixie was adorable. Homeland definitely looks the strongest of the lot (after POI). I gave Pan Am a shot. I didn’t think I’d particularly like it, but it surprised me. So, I’m on board for Pan Am.

    Ringer is intriguing enough and the actors make me want to keep watching it. I haven’t yet given up Secret Circle either. My friends force me to watch it lol.

    Terra Nova is woefully cliched and that comes off sometimes as annoying. Still I loved it, coz I’m a sucker for all things Spielberg!

    American Horror Story airs tonight. I’m excited for that show. OUAT and Grimm, I’ll try to catch up on them if I can.

     
  2. sportsattitudes

    October 6, 2011 at 9:35 am

    Watched the first two eps of Whitney and still trying to figure out if I like it or not. Wife wants to try Grimm when it finally airs. I’m skeptical on its premise and suspect it will either soar or be a total bust. Neither of us has been taken with Person of Interest and we’re still evaluating whether to stick with it or not. Could be a victim of our very high expectations. I understand your soap box on the “Mad Men” comparisons but when the two shows started running ads it was the first thing that came to mind. That’s a tribute to “Mad Men” more than anything, but if you don’t watch that show because visiting that time period is of no interest I think it would be highly unlikely you would try “The Playboy Club” or “PanAm.” There’s only so much room for new shows in our home…still watching a bunch of veteran ones!

     
  3. darylshim

    November 7, 2011 at 4:33 pm

    of all the new shows,I liked the best were “Revenge” and “Pan Am” . The other shows don’t interest me to say the least. If its Miss World, I will watch. That’s all!

     
  4. jasonchoy

    November 7, 2011 at 4:41 pm

    I don’t really watch must tv,but I like “Pan AM”. I think the show is very good.

     

Leave a Reply

 
