RSS

REVIEW: 2 Broke Girls

05 Nov

I decided to wait until a few episodes have aired before reviewing a new comedy.  Also because I have been so busy and haven’t been able to get to all the shows I want to discuss!

Inadvertently, I’m much harder on new comedies than I am new dramas.  I’m not sure why but maybe it’s because dramas tend to take a little more time setting up the story and the characters (depending on the show) while comedies aren’t so much about plot but telling individual vignettes to make you laugh.  Don’t you love how I can break down the challenging to navigate undertones of a comedy…it’s there to make you laugh.   Boy when I haven’t done this in a while, I suck.  It’s rare to have a comedy have an overall story arc, like How I Met Your Mother where the premise of the show is to tell the story of how Ted meets his wife and over the course of the series, we get the individual stories of the characters and group of friends, but ultimately, it all leads to Ted finding his wife.  I could go on and on about how I so don’t care about that anymore now that I have fallen in love with all the other characters BUT Ted, but that’s for another time.

2 Broke Girls falls into that series long storyline arc that has made the comedy more interesting.   This is the story of two girls, who are broke and down on their luck, who are also VERY different from one another and how their lives have gotten them to where they are today.  Max (played by Kat Dennings) is a waitress in a diner and has been poor her whole life.  She doesn’t really have a family or friends and is a huge curmudgeon with a pessimistic view of life.  Caroline (played by Beth Behrs) is a former socialite whose father was arrested for basically being Bernie Madoff.  But even thought Caroline lost all her money, she is definitely a “make lemonade out of lemons” kind of girl who is choosing to make the best of this horrible situation.  They have a rocky beginning but they find one thing they have in common…they want more than what they have now.  And that “more” is in the form of a cupcake business they are looking to build.  Max makes amazing cupcakes and Caroline is the businesswoman who can market and sell the cupcakes.   Together, they are looking to forge this business forward and save every penny they can to make it happen (each episode ends with a running total of their savings.)

It’s a simple premise.  And so far, I really like where it is going.  I think the biggest strength that the show has are the two leads.   Dennings and Behrs play SO well off each other and these are two girls that you can root for, for different reasons.

Max has always had a tough life.  You get the impression she has no support group at all and has been on her own for quite a while…possibly most of her life.  I will admit, I think she can be a HUGE downer at times.  Sometimes she is so negative and abrasive, I just want to take her to a third world country to show her what true misery is.  But I think there is a reason why Max is the way she is, I am hoping the writers start to explore that a bit.  I think it will make her character more approachable even when she’s being, well, Max.

Then you have Caroline.  I love Caroline.  She cracks me up.  The thing I like most about her is that she isn’t a ditsy airhead former heiress.   This girl is smart and savvy and has a good head on her shoulders and a great attitude.  Granted, she is used to a certain life style and I think it’s slightly unbelievable just HOW quickly she’s adjusted to life without her money, house, car, etc. without too much of a fuss, but it also seems in line with her character’s positivity.

As a result, these girls balance each other very well.  Max brings Caroline back down to reality when she needs to and Caroline is there to give Max the support and the kick in the ass she needs that I don’t think anyone else has ever given her.   Max tries really hard to act like she doesn’t like Caroline, but deep down she appreciates how much she believes in her.  Likewise, Caroline couldn’t be more appreciative to Max who was the only person to take her in and help her when all of Caroline’s other “friends” basically wanted nothing to do with her.

As for the other characters on the show, they are fine.  I have to say the Ukrainian prep cook cracks me up and Han is good in small doses.  I would really like to see more of the woman who Max babysits for because she is absolutely hysterical!  I know many other websites have mentioned how the racial undertones have rubbed people the wrong way.  I’m not sure how I feel about it.   Yes it’s inappropriate at times, but it seems to happen so infrequently that I choose to over look it and focus on the aspects of the show I really enjoy.  I guess what I am saying is that yes it can be totally out of line, but I don’t let it take away from the rest of the show.  But I can understand how some people don’t like it.

If you haven’t watched 2 Broke Girls, I would check it out.  It’s on demand so you can catch up quickly.  And honestly, you can just start watching it now and pick up the show without an issue.   But let me know what you think of 2 Broke Girls and if you are still watching it!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 5, 2011 in CBS, Recaps and Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
