RSS

QUICK REVIEW: How I Met Your Mother “The Rebound Girl” S7 E11

26 Nov

I’m not sure how I feel about this.  But I will say, I soooooooooooooo did not see that coming.  Usually I can see it coming from a mile away.   But not this time.  And there were so many clues that I feel like a real idiot that I didn’t think of it before she said it….”I’m Pregnant.”   My husband, who’s usually better than I am at seeing this stuff, was as surprised as I was!   But am I happy with this storyline?   I don’t know.

On one hand, I think it’s great because here is the girl who never wanted to get married, never wanted to have children, now pregnant.  And it’s the classic, who’s the daddy (which we all know, it’s going to Barney’s.)   On the other hand, what a clichéd storyline…who’s the daddy and the unexpected pregnancy.  Not to mention, our resident couple Marshmellow and Lily Pad have been trying to have a baby for a while, I wish they could just have the pregnancy and birth without something like this hanging over it.  So I’m a little disappointed the writers went down this path.

I think most HIMYM fans want this to be Barney’s kid (at least from most of the comment sections I am reading on other sites seem to indicate that) and I would have to be in agreement.  I’ve said this before that I really like Kevin and Kal Penn on the show.  But ultimately, I think Robin and Barney are soul mates.  I thought it since their first bro night together.  So that’s where I’m hoping they’re headed.

There was a comment Carter Bays made that made me raise an eyebrow especially when in conjunction with an episode earlier in the season.  In an interview with EW.com, he said:

“I would say the wheels of fate are not done turning for these characters, and it’s definitely a big surprise, but there’s more to come,” Bays teases. “This little story isn’t over yet. I almost feel weird commenting on anything just yet because there are more revelations in store.” For one, says Bays, the question of the baby’s paternity will be “settled pretty quickly,” but there will also be developments that give way to “a bigger story.”

“New questions will arise and I feel like, this story, we are using this device a little bit to set the stage for a bigger story that is setting up the events of the rest of the series which, I guess we do a lot,” he says. “It’s a pretty tumultuous show. This in particular is going to lead to kind of a reshuffling of the group. Not necessarily in this next episode, but this episode will set things in motion for that.”

A reshuffling of the group?  What does that mean?  And remember when Ted and Victoria had their last hurrah and Victoria talked about his connection with Robin and how Ted, Robin, and Barney all hanging out together just isn’t healthy in a lot of ways?   Finally, there was the Bob Saget voice over saying how that would come to be true?   I’m not going to lie, I’m a little concerned.   What does all that mean?  Is the gang breaking up?  Is this season a set up for next (which could be the final season) and Marshall and Lily and Ted and his wife remain friends but Robin and Barney (whether together or apart) go their separate ways?   Because I can’t imagine a world where he gang isn’t together from now until the end of time!!!  I seriously don’t know what to think about all this and where this is going.   So I really want to hear from you and what you think this means.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
