RSS

QUICK REVIEW: The Good Wife….The Season so Far

27 Nov

This show is never not on its game.  It’s just a tremendous show and this is another stellar season for TGW.   There is a lot going on but none bigger than Peter’s quest to take down Will and using Wendy Scott Carr to do it!!!  How great is this??  Plus you have Cary really struggling with taking Will down since his beef has always been with Alicia not Will or Diane, Cary and Kalinda forming a “relationship” yet he’s now sleeping Dana (who I can’t stand) and Dana “I am not a lesbian” is having vicious flirting sessions with Kalinda, Alicia really being oblivious to all of this right now, and her quest to destroy Jackie (which you know I love because I HATE Jackie with every fiber of my being.)

I think this whole dynamic with Alicia and Will this season has been fascinating (and that’s coming from a Peter fan not Will.)  Alicia flat-out admitted that she doesn’t love Will.  I think she really cares about him but she isn’t in this for the long haul.  This is a rebound relationship.  However Will is in much deeper than Alicia is (can anyone forget the “love you” slip on the phone?)  However, now that Diane has confronted him about this case the States Attorney’s office is building against him (which is much more serious than he thought) and informing him that she is very aware of his inappropriate relationship with Alicia that is the foundation for most of this (although for Peter, he doesn’t really know how close they have become) and reminds him that he would choose the firm over Alicia so he better fix this and quick.  She has his back, she knows he’s innocent of the charges against him, but he better make this go away so it doesn’t bring down the firm.  It was awesome.  But it’s incredible how completely out of the loop Alicia is on this.  And I am really looking forward to what happens when she finds out.

I have to admit that I am missing the Alicia/Kalinda friendship.  I understand it and it wouldn’t make sense for them to be friends again this soon but that doesn’t mean I don’t miss it.  And Alicia could really use some friends right now.  It seems like all she has is her brother and he isn’t in the picture that often that she could use a girlfriend.  Plus, I don’t like seeing Kalinda doing shots with Dana.  Please.  She should be doing shots with Alicia!!!!  I don’t know what it is about Monica Raymond but every time she’s in a show, I hate her character.  I just think that was such a strong friendship on the show that it is definitely a big missing link.   Even if they could have them working together a little more, that would at least be something!

I’m still waiting for the day that Alicia REALLY puts Jackie in her place.   Yes she’s done somethings over the years to stand up to Jackie but I still think Jackie needs more of a smack down.  Seeing my mother-in-law go through my computer with the sole purpose of trying to find something on me to take my children away would set me over the top.  I wouldn’t be as calm and methodical as Alicia.  But changing the locks and buying Zack a car so that they don’t have to depend on Jackie, is a great start.  Plus let’s be honest.   They’re in high school.   They don’t need Jackie watching them and cooking for them.  It’s ridiculous.  I also think it’s ridiculous that Jackie would just use a key to get into Alicia’s house whenever she wants.  How about knocking?  How about calling first?   But you know what else I liked, that Alicia NEVER bad mouthed her to Grace and Zack, and that on their own, Grace and Zack have decided to hate her for her actions.   I don’t know why Jackie has always had it in for Alicia.  Maybe it’s jealousy.  But every time she’s put down a level, it makes me smile!!!  However, if you have seen the previews for the next episode, Grace goes missing.  You KNOW Jackie is going to blame Alicia for this and do everything she can to fault her.  But I am looking forward to seeing Peter stand by Alicia’s side!

Some other quick thoughts on the season:

  • I hate Grace’s tutor.  I really don’t see the point and I don’t find her interesting or funny….just incredibly annoying and I wish they would get rid of her.
  • I am very much enjoying more of a Cary focused storyline.  TGW fans have been saying for 3 seasons that Cary needs his own story lines.  This season, he’s starting to get them and I always enjoy the Cary centric episodes.  Plus, I like that what they have him doing is more than just going after Alicia in court.  There are so many layers to Cary we have yet to explore but this season is slowly starting to peel back the onion.  I would like a little more back story on him but I’ll take what I can get.
  • What is Dana’s deal?  Is she trying to help Kalinda and therefore Lockheart/Gardner or is she playing them because she is loyal to the SA office and Cary?  I’m not sure because she is telling both sides everything so I have no idea what her end game is.  And as usual, I don’t like it and I don’t like her.
  • Eli’s role this season.  They needed to find something to do with him but I sincerely hope that at some point it’s more than lobbying for the cheese consortium.  However, it has brought on a delightful foe and that always brings out the best in Eli.  I also like the budding business relationship forming between him and Diane.
  • Is Peter still fighting for Alicia?  Is that what this whole Will Gardner thing is about?   Trying to show Alicia that he isn’t the good guy she thinks he is and therefore destroy any potential between them opening up the door for himself again?   I think that’s what he’s doing.  I just don’t know how that will go over.  Yes it’s true that he isn’t personally going after him, but Alicia’s smart enough to know who is pulling the puppet strings.
  • I’m still concerned about Sunday nights.  The ratings aren’t great but it doesn’t help that this time of year, NFL football runs over and usually pushes TGW back 30 minutes causing it to run over into “CSI: Miami” time.  And if people are taping those shows and not accounting for it, they may give watching because they don’t have full episodes.  Now you know what I say to that…get it On Demand, watch it on-line, hulu it!   There are ways you can watch it but will casual viewers take the time to do that?  It doesn’t look like they are.

What are your thoughts on this season of TGW?  Are you loving it as much as me?  Sound off below!

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “QUICK REVIEW: The Good Wife….The Season so Far

  1. yolanda

    November 27, 2011 at 8:29 pm

    i love it too.. but i think alicia does love will.. didi u see her face when she said its not love to owen.. i just think shes not ready for a relationship because of wht shes been put through … im routing for will , HOW COULD U NOT he’s been waiting for 16 yearss!!! ( and counting)!!!!!

     
    • fortheloveoftv

      November 28, 2011 at 10:32 am

      I took the look on her face very differently. I took that as Alicia admitting to herself (and surprising herself) that she doesn’t love Will. And that realization was a bit startling to her. She’s having fun. A light-hearted fun romp which is exactly what she needs right now. But I think it means much more to him than to her.

       
  2. Anonymous

    November 27, 2011 at 9:02 pm

    How come it’s not on tonight?? 11/27/2011

     
    • fortheloveoftv

      November 28, 2011 at 10:32 am

      Just on a break until next week because of the holiday.

       
  3. Jessica

    November 27, 2011 at 9:03 pm

    How come it’s not on tonight 11/27/2011?????

     
  4. Anonymous

    November 27, 2011 at 10:53 pm

    Love the show (TGW)… I give myself up to 3 shows a season to watch and TGW is #1. Your comments are similar to what I think about the show. Great minds think alike. I do think Kalinda and Alicia will become friends again; Kalinda will probably come in and save the day for Alicia, most likely over something Alica was clueless about but everybody else knew would happen. I predict Alicia & Peter will get back together, plus Eli promised Donna Brazile (political analyst) that he can get them back together. kea

     
    • fortheloveoftv

      November 28, 2011 at 10:33 am

      I hope you’re right. I would like to see Peter and Alicia work it out. But more importantly, I want to see Alicia and Kalinda work things out so they can start doing shots again!!!

       
  5. Fitch

    November 28, 2011 at 9:34 pm

    I really like the show. But the scheduling is just awful. If you want people to watch your show, make it easy for them to see it!!! This isn’t rocket science.

    I have to set the DVR to tape both shows, and the news after CSI. I can’t put the news on as a series recording because it’s on every night! So I have to remember to set the news after CSI to record.

    There are a LOT of good shows on TV now. More than my wife and I (retired) can stay up to watch, so we recently decided we didn’t need to watch the Good Wife.

    I realize we aren’t the desired demo, being 70, but we were watching, now we aren’t.

     
  6. rebel

    December 1, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    LOVE The Good Wife. Watch On-Demand if we are away.

     

Leave a Reply

 
