RSS

RECAP & REVIEW: Homeland “Representative Brody” S1 E10

05 Dec

We only 2 episodes left in Homeland’s amazing first season.  There are still lots of questions to be answered.  I have to wonder, since the show has been renewed for a second season, if some of our questions will remained unanswered and moved into S2.  I’m not sure.  I don’t know if Homeland is planning on doing season long arcs and wrapping them up in 12 episodes (like Dexter) or if they plan on answering some questions, but opening up others that stem from the core story.  That’s why I am very curious to see how these final 2 episodes play out.  And I’m ok with either.  This isn’t a situation like The Killing on AMC where the promotion of the show was about solving the murder of Rosie Larsen and when the season wrapped, they didn’t solve the very case they promoted (angering many fans.)  Homeland was never promoted that way.  It was always about CIA agent tracking down an alleged turned POW and the question of whether or not Sgt Brody is a bad guy or a good guy.  That could be a season long or series long premise depending on how the writers choose to spin it.  As long as the writing remains compelling and the characters still fascinating, I’m on board with however they choose to unveil the secrets of this show.

I will admit, I really didn’t think that bomb was going to explode in the park.  I thought Carrie was going to overreact and blow the cover.  Although I have to say, I don’t think their cover was all that strong to begin with.  Really, how obvious were those agents standing around the fountain area?  At least have them reading a newspaper or checking an iPad or drinking coffee with another agent.  Something to make it look not so obvious that they are just standing around staring at Al Zahrani.  Not that I think that had anything to do with what happened…Walker was already tipped off.  But if Walker wasn’t, he would have been considering how perceptive a man he is.

So who is the inside person who tipped Walker off?  I go back to my previous post and I’m sticking with my guess…Saul.  With every episode that goes by, I am more and more convinced that Saul is involved.   Which of course means I will be completely wrong…ha!  But I don’t care.  I’m staying with that prediction.  The only reason (and there is only one) that keeps nagging at me that it won’t be him, is because if it is, Carrie will need to be committed and she is the lead in the show.  I can’t see Homeland going on without her!   Carrie is still beating herself up for not being able to stop 9/11…and that was 10 years ago.  Can you imagine if her closest ally and friend in the CIA turns out to be involved and he was right under her nose the whole time?  It would be great TV, I just don’t know if the writers are going to do that to her.

Here is one question I have and I am really curious to other people’s opinion on this…is Brody really looking to plot revenge on the United States (more specifically it seems the Vice President) because he lied about what happened in Iraq with the drone and the explosion killed Abu Nazir’s son Issa?  Are we to believe this all over the accidental killing of the son of a known terrorist and the cover up?  Because that blew me away.  If Brody was turned, I thought it would have been something much more significant than that.  Although maybe he was so far gone mentally that any sort of kindness towards him (even if it is coming from his captors and his son) would sway him to their side.  In present time, you can still see times where mentally, he just isn’t 100% there.

I’m just not ready to believe that Brody’s a bad guy yet.   Maybe it’s because I don’t want him to be, but I am still leaning towards there being more behind the story.  Maybe he is playing Abu Nazir and his team, not only to save himself, but to get on the inside so he can give his intel to the US government and therefore stop him.  It still seems as though if he takes the congressman’s seat, he can go after the VP.  While I’m sure he’s not happy with how the VP handled the situation, I don’t think he’s going undercover as a politician to kill him.  It just appears too obvious to me.  And there have been so many times I’ve been swayed one way or the other, that I have to believe, there is more to this than meets the eye and therefore, Brody is going to end up being a true hero.

Does anyone know what the deal is with Walker?  Is it safe to say he is working with Nazir but maybe for a completely different mission that what Brody is allegedly working on for Nazir?  That is the one part of the show, I haven’t been able to put my finger on.  How did Walker survive?  How and why did he turn?  Did he really turn?  What is his end game?  Are Brody and he in on it together or did the they have no idea about what each other is up to?  I can see this storyline going either way and I’m really not sure which way to lean.

That’s why Homeland is still so great.  It keeps me guessing the whole time.  I have no idea what I am watching I should take at face value or if there is so much more to what I am seeing but just don’t know it yet.  I love shows like that!   Probably why I loved Lost as much as I did.  But like Lost, I don’t want to be in the dark all the time.  At some point I will need some of my questions answered.  Not right away and not all of them at once.  But I would like a little peek behind the curtain so I don’t lose interest.  But I am not at that point yet.

What do you guys think?  Who is the insider who tipped off Walker?  Do you think Brody is a hero or terrorist?  Do you think this season will get wrapped up in the finale or are we trickling some of this over into next season.  Let me know because I want to hear from you!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 5, 2011 in Recaps and Reviews, Showtime

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “RECAP & REVIEW: Homeland “Representative Brody” S1 E10

  1. Brigitte

    December 7, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    Awesome show. I am curious how Jess knew about Brody and Carrie if neither one said anything. I don’t think that Brody is bad. That would be too easy in a show that really tries to turn on it’s own theories. But I do believe that Brody would have been so broken by the time he started taking care of Issa (who was probably the same age as his sone when he was captured) that it would make him question his loyalties. I was thinking that maybe Al Zahrani lied about the picture in the window and that one was the warning. Of course he didn’t realize Walker would blow him up. Can’t wait to see what they come up with next!!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
