RSS

QUICK REVIEW: Castle “Cuffed” S4 E10

06 Dec

“But next time, let’s do it without the Tiger.”   Oh come on already!!!!!   Will you two just get it on for the love of St. Peter!!!   Seriously though, how great was that line and that look Kate gave Rick as she walked out of the cop shop?   And then Rick’s reaction to her statement and look was priceless.  I love it, but I am starting to get annoyed by it.

I really think the show needs to back off the over the top flirtation and innuendo with Kate and Rick.  We know how they feel about one another.  We know they want to be together but just can’t admit it yet.  For me, when the writers do that sort of thing, it makes it worse for me.  It just makes me want to scream at my TV to just finally admit to one another what EVERYONE already knows.  It’s almost like they have this need to constantly remind us of their chemistry and sexual tension.   Here’s a breaking news alert….we already know!!!!!  Don’t get me wrong, I’m 100% on board with Kate and Rick and how Andrew Marlowe has managed them up to this point.    But to be completely honest, I am starting to get perturbed at these teasers.  As a Caskett fan base, we don’t need to be reminded of how they feel about one another.  And when you have those moments, like at the end of the episode, it just infuriates me.  It’s like dangling a bunch of Big Macs to people at an Overeaters Anonymous meeting.   Ok so that was the part of the show that bothered me.   I am moving on now.

You know what I loved?  The humor and witty lines in this episode.   They were so good that I have to wonder how much of it was ad-libbed vs. how much was scripted.   From the old woman saying she would shoot the pretty one first and Ryan and Esposito trying to figure out which one she is talking about, to my two favorite Beckett/Castle exchanges…”how do you run in these things” (pertaining to her high heels) and Beckett telling Castle “you better not be enjoying this” (when bending behind her to help her push the trunk) to his reply of “I’ll let you know in a few minutes.”  There were some great ones last night.  I have to say, I’m so glad Castle asked Beckett about her heels because how many times have we seen cop shows where a female cop is in high heels.  It’s so true!!!

I liked the flow of “Cuffed” because it was a little different.  You see Beckett and Castle handcuffed and in what looks like an abandoned house trying to figure out how they got there and what happened to them.  So through their memories and them trying to trace back their steps, we see the case unfold.  As it turns out, they stumbled upon an illegal endangered species black market operation and therefore they were captured.  At first they thought they stumbled upon a human trafficking situation.  But they were quickly corrected when they broke down the wall next to them to find a Bengal Tiger in the next room.  Yikes!   Needless to say, the tiger was pretty hungry a quickly making mince meat out of the wall to come after Beckett and Castle.  But our favorite dynamic duo/bromance comes to save the day and rescue Beckett and Castle from the famished cat.

Overall, it was a fun episode with some great lines and fantastic banter.   I must say though, I really don’t like the new captain.  She’s awful.  Every time there is an issue, she always jumps to the conclusion that it’s Castle’s fault.  And she still has yet to credit him for all the good he does for the department.  On top of which, she has no faith in her people and has to institute new rules so she can feel more in control.  To be fair, it’s not a bad idea that she came up with because this at least the second time that Beckett and Castle were trapped somewhere and needed to be rescued.  On top of it, no one had any idea where they were at.  So in terms of her team’s safety, it’s a good idea.   But it’s her intentions that I question.  Maybe because I haven’t seen a compassionate side of her and only the ambitious side, that I don’t buy she did this out of concern, but more out of control.  Either way, I’m not a fan of hers at all.

So what did you think of last nights episode?  I love these witty, light-hearted episode (especially after a heavy one like last weeks.)  This is the mid-season finale so we probably won’t see Castle back until mid-January.  Which sucks!!!

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “QUICK REVIEW: Castle “Cuffed” S4 E10

  1. Girish

    December 13, 2011 at 6:37 am

    Finally watched last week’s episode.. It was great. Those lines were so hilarious and finally Rick asked that the question that irked everyone – about the heels. To which we got “Shut up and pull”! Not an answer, but still lol worthy. I know how you feel. Its just so annoying to see them still flirting. If one of them really hated the other or anything other than having love for each other, I wouldn’t have gotten so annoyed. Castle writers quickly need to pair them up for once before the fandom starts to let go of the show. The ending sequence and song was perfect and that look, everytime she kills with it and Castle looked so dumbfounded and then happy! Haha, I can never get too mad at them even if I want to.
    PS: Stana got her sexy hair back!!! Finally!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
