RSS

2012 Mid Season/Winter New Shows

23 Dec

I can’t believe it’s December 23rd already!!!  Where the hell did this year go?  I blinked and it was 8 days away from 2012.  Wow!  But while we say good-bye to 2011, you know what it’s time to say hello to?    NEW SHOWS FOR THE WINTER/SPRING SEASON!!!!!!!

Here is my quick snapshot of what I am most looking forward to, what I’m not sure about, and what I could care less about:

Most Looking Forward to Watching:

  1. Smash NBC 2/6 10pm
  2. Alcatraz FOX 1/16 8pm (1/23 9pm regular time slot)
  3. The Firm NBC 1/8 9pm (1/12 10pm regular time slot)
  4. House of Lies Showtime 1/8 10pm
  5. Touch FOX 1/25 9pm (sneak peek) (3/19 9pm regular time slot)
  6. Bent NO PREMIERE DATE YET
  7. Good Christian Bitches/Good Christian Belles/GCB ABC 3/4 10pm
  8. The Finder FOX 1/12 9pm

Not Sure About But Will Watch The First 2-3 At Least

  1. The River ABC 2/7 9pm
  2. Are You There, Chelsea NBC 1/11 8:30pm
  3. Work It ABC 1/3 8:30pm
  4. Missing ABC 3/15 8pm
  5. Luck HBO 1/29 9pm
  6. Awake NO PREMIERE DATE YET
  7. Don’t Trust the Bitch in Apt 23 NO PREMIERE DATE YET
  8. Veep NO PREMIERE DATE YET
  9. Scandal NO PREMIERE DATE YET
  10. NYC 22 NO PREMIERE DATE YET

Could Care Less About

  1. Rob CBS 1/12 8:30pm
  2. Jane by Design ABC Family 1/3 9pm
  3. Napoleon Dynamite FOX 1/15 8:30pm
  4. Remodeled The CW 1/17 9pm
  5. Girls NO PREMIERE DATE YET

Holy crap that’s a lot of shows!!!   Dear Lord.  I still have 7 “Boss”, 10 “Dexter”, 13 “Survivor”, All “Grey’s” and 4 “Person of Interest” on my DVR I haven’t watched yet.  Not to mention, all the shows I regularly watch and adding these to it?  I seriously don’t know how reviewers do this all the time!  But then again, they probably have more than one person to review all these shows!!!

I have to make one comment.  I HATE when shows premiere a show at one time slot and day and then move it to it’s “real time slot and day of the week” after the premiere.    Why?   Just premiere the show at its regular time slot and its regular day.  I don’t get it.  Why confuse people?   Or in the case of Touch, let’s do a sneak peek in January but not come back with episode until mid March.   Huh?   How does that make any sense?  I know it’s not the biggest deal, but it’s a HUGE pet peeve of mine.  It’s hard enough with all these channels and shows for people to keep track of what show is on when.  So let’s make it even more challenging for a NEW show by moving it all over the place right out of the gate!   Ugh.

Well the first 8 shows, I will definitely watch and comment on.  But the rest, if I get to them, I get to them.  If something is really good, or really bad, then I will probably comment on it.  So stay tuned.

Next week I’ll dive more into each show in detail and let you know what I like and don’t.  But in the meantime, what about you?  What are you most interested in seeing or does nothing really strike your fancy too much?   Let me know!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 23, 2011 in Mid Season, New Shows, Premiere Dates

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “2012 Mid Season/Winter New Shows

  1. mclairjeune

    December 23, 2011 at 5:55 pm

    I have to say that I’m really looking for to quite a few new shows:
    Alcatraz
    Touch
    The Firm
    Awake
    Jane By Design
    Luck
    Which is mighty ambitious of me. I don’t know if I’ll even have time to watch or have space on my DVR to record all of them but I sure will try.

    I see that you have Luck on the Not Sure About list. I don’t know, I haven’t watched the sneak peak episode yet ( it is among the many things on my DVR at the moment ) but I think it’ll be good. HBO rarely disappoints me. I also disagree with your choice about Awake as well. I’m really interested in it. I like what I’ve seen from the trailers. Jane By Design I’ll check out just cuz. ABC Family already has me hooked with Pretty Little Liars, The Lying Game and Switched at Birth so maybe Jane has potential. I will for sure be checking out Scandal. I think Kerry Washington is a really good actress. The show is from Shonda Rhimes. And it is an African-Amercan woman in the lead role on a primetime network. I just can’t say no to all of those ingredients, lol.

     
  2. fortheloveoftv

    December 23, 2011 at 6:28 pm

    I saw a preview of Awake and I didn’t enjoy it. There was so much bouncing around from the life with his wife to the life with his son, it was giving me a headache. Plus, there were times I didn’t know which life I was watching. The show just didn’t have a good flow and I didn’t really click with the lead character. I like the premise and I would be willing to give it another shot, but the pilot annoyed me to no end. And what I saw was the pre-review pilot so A LOT could have changed by the time the real pilot premieres.

    I love PLL but I can’t add another teen show to my mix. I just don’t have the time. I love a good teen show, but I just don’t have any more room. And I can’t wait for the PLL premiere. That show is awesome!!!!

    I am excited to see Luck, it just falls into that, “I don’t know if I’ll have time to watch it” category but I’ll definitely watch the pilot. If it hooks me, I’ll stick with it for sure. But the cast and premise look great!

    Here’s my thing with Scandal…I really want to like it. I think Shonda Rhimes writes ensemble casts very well. However, once she started branching out, Grey’s and PP really took a dive creatively and the character development, died. Off the Map, was horrible with a cast a really liked. Here is another incredible cast (and you’re right about Washington) but I worry it won’t be sharp. I hope it is though! And I’m glad she is branching out from doing another medical show.

     
  3. adampbellotto

    December 23, 2011 at 7:06 pm

    Hi!

    Personally, I’m really looking forward to Luck- even though I haven’t seen the preview episode yet, I’m a huge David Milch fan (Deadwood!) and his name alone is enough to get me watching. Plus you’ve got Dustin Hoffman, Dennis Farina, Richard Kind (who’s weirdly hilarious in his own way) so that’s definitely my ‘most-excited-for’ show for the 2012 Midseason.

     

Leave a Reply

 
