RSS

CANCELED SHOWS: Work It

14 Jan

Well that certainly didn’t take long.  After 2 episodes, ABC has pulled the plug on Work It.  And it’s not surprising, the ratings were bad, the reviews were bad, and every society that’s out there was vociferously campaigning against the show.  So it was a matter of not if, but when.

I have to say though, I hope it wasn’t GLADD or HRC that influenced ABC’s decision.  I really think we are becoming a society that is WAY too oversensitive.  Especially when it comes to TV and entertainment.  I can’t even begin to understand the persecution and difficulties of a gay, lesbian, or transgender individual because I am not any of those.   And while I believe with 100% certainty that there are too many very real instances of abuse, bias, rudeness, insensitivity, and crudeness in regards to gays, lesbians, and transgenders, Work It wasn’t one of them.

If you want to be up in arms about something, I certainly wouldn’t disagree if you were talking about the writing, casting, or aspects of the show.   It was awful.   But exactly, how was this offensive to the gay and lesbian community?   There were no gays or lesbians on this show, let alone being defamed. So why was GLAAD so upset?  I also don’t understand why the transgender community was upset.   This show was not making fun of or discriminating against transgendered individuals.  All this show did was try (very badly) to take a comedic spin on the idea of the job market being so bad, that a man had to dress as a woman to try to get a job.   I don’t understand the outrage.  And I don’t find myself to be an ignorant person what so ever.  I just really don’t understand.  If someone could explain it to me, I would greatly appreciate it, because I don’t get it.

I think there are real issues out there that need to be addressed.  Real issues of defamation and discrimination.  Is Work It REALLY one of them?   Would Bosom Buddies have been one?  Would Just One of the Boys have been one?   Are we getting to the point where we can’t poke fun or tell a story without worrying about offending someone?  In all seriousness, why weren’t MEN offended by the show?  I would think men, as a whole, had the most to scream about with this show.  This was a company that refused to hire men and put a family man in the position of having to humiliate himself and lie to his family and friends in order to get a job.  If the situation was reversed and this was a company who refused to hire women and put a woman in the position of having to dress like a man to get the job, every woman’s organization out there would be screaming.  I still think if it was written well and casted well it could be a funny premise but it isn’t offensive.

These organizations are created to protect people from awful, heartless, disgusting people who discriminate and persecute.  They have a wonderful purpose and protect a lot of people.   However, I think sometimes we lose sight of real issues and “cry wolf” when there is no ill will to fight.  It can minimize all the good they do when they publicly rage against an issue that shouldn’t be an issue.  Again, I would welcome someone to explain to me why a certain premise for a show is then spun into this web of defamation and anger by certain organizations when there seem to be bigger issues for them to fight…and win.

Really, you know what the biggest crime of all was?  The Cougar Town couldn’t premiere in January but this show could.  I had to endure two weeks of this crap when I could have been watching Penny Can!!!  That’s what people should truly be up in arms about!!!!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 14, 2012 in ABC, Canceled Shows

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “CANCELED SHOWS: Work It

  1. sportsattitudes

    January 16, 2012 at 10:25 am

    It got two more episodes on the air than I thought it would. I thought the negative reaction from the crudely-done ad spots alone would shut it down. I laughed at the end of the post although I know it really isn’t a laughing matter!

     

Leave a Reply

 
