RSS

2012 Grammy Awards

13 Feb

I haven’t watched the Grammy’s in years.  Mostly because I’m an old fart and don’t know half the songs nominated.  But there were two things (actually people) that drew me to the Grammy’s this year…Whitney Houston and Adele.  Unless you have been living under a rock, Whitney Houston passed away over the weekend and it turns out that Jennifer Hudson was going to honor her in song.  That’s must see TV.  Also, it was the return of Adele after vocal chord surgery that could have ended her career.  That’s must see TV.  I’m not going to lie that I am still pissed at CBS for not airing The Good Wife for 3 weeks!  And then my girl @Kiki1788 shared with me that even when it comes back, it’s going back on hiatus.  What the hell CBS?  Ok I’ll save that rant for another post.  Back to the Grammys!!!

The Grammy Awards certainly had their highlights and low lights.   Let’s start with the good stuff.   And there was nothing better than number one on my list:

  1. Adele
    WOW!!!  First of all, she looked fabulous.   More importantly, she sounded incredible.  There are people who say she sounds even better now than she did before the surgery.  But she brought down the house last night.  And she cleaned up all her categories and went home with 6 Grammys!  She just reminds me of the kind of person I want to go to a pub with and throw back some pints and talk music, life, or whatever else pops up.  If I can get on a soap box for a moment, I think she’s a great role model for young women.  How many stick figured actors and models do you see that you want to just run up to and hand them a Big Mac for fear they may faint from lack of nutrition?  It’s horrifying because that is what so many young girls feel they need to be if they are going to be considered “pretty.”  It is so refreshing to see a real woman, with real curves, who is proud of her figure.  She is a beautiful girl and I hope more girls realize you don’t need to be anorexic to be beautiful.  Ok I’m done.   GO ADELE!!!!
  2. Glen Campbell Tribute
    This was fantastic.  I’m not a country music fan…AT ALL.  But The Band Perry and Blake Shelton (both of whom I have never heard of until last night) were awesome!!   And how about 75-year-old Glen Campbell, suffering with Alzheimers, getting on stage and belting it out.   He was great!!
  3. Jennifer Hudson’s Whitney Tribute
    I am about to get into A LOT of trouble for what I am about to say.   But it has to be said.  And I’m going to preface this with I think Jennifer Hudson is sensational.    Her rendition of “I Will Always Love You” didn’t blow me away, but I loved it at the same time.  It was not “perfection” “Whitneyesque” or “better than Whitney’s version.” It was not “horrific” “an embarrassment” or “so bad Whitney be spinnin in her grave.”   Those were some of the comments on Twitter last night.   Really people.  Why does it have to be one extreme or the other?  To me, Hudson’s tribute was heartfelt, beautiful, and appropriate.  It’s not fair to compare her to Whitney.  They have two completely different types of voices.  It’s like comparing Tom Brady to Roy Halladay and asking who is the better athlete.  Yes they are both professional athletes but have completely different specialties.  To me, performers like Whitney Houston come along once in a blue moon.  I wouldn’t say Whitney is the best singer ever (but she’s in the top 3 on my list) but she is so far and away better than 98% of the performers out there.  I feel the same way about Julie Andrews.  I know my mother feels that way about Judy Garland.  But that’s what is so great about music…it’s subjective and the source of some great debates.  So I thought the tribute was nice.  Not mind blowingly awesome.   But nice.
  4. Etta James Tribute by Alicia Keys and Bonnie Raitt
    This was very nicely done.  But I’m still mad she wasn’t part of the “In Memoriam” piece.
  5. The Foo Fighters “Walk”
    This was great.  I haven’t really paid attention to the Foo Fighters since college but listening to them last night reminded me of why I liked them in the first place.
  6. Sir Paul McCartney Riffing with Everyone
    To wrap up what was clearly a strange evening, Sir Paul did a Beatles medley with Bruce, Dave Ghrol, and Joe Walsh.  It was fantastic!

And now for the low lights:

  1. Chris Brown Performing…..TWICE!!!!
    I refuse to spend much time on this piece of garbage but why was he on stage last night…TWICE?  And why of all places did you put him on stage after the Whitney tribute?   Seriously?   Some one should get demoted for that decision.  This thug had no business being on stage.  He should be in jail.
  2. Nicki Minaj 
    OMFG!  What the hell was that?  She was vibrating through her song, there was actually a 1 minute video played in the style of the Exorcism, I really have no other words other than….HORRIBLE!!  I don’t know her music at all but I have heard her name and of course other musician praise the crap out of each other so I have heard people go on and on about how talented she is.  Well if that’s how talented she is, then next year, I’ll be performing at the Grammys.   HORRIBLE!!!!
  3. The Beach Boys Tribute
    First Maroon 5 butchers Surfer Girl.  I mean Adam Levine looked like he couldn’t get off that stage fast enough.  He looked completely disinterested in being there.  But their rendition was terrible.  Then to top it off Foster the People (never heard of them before either) take a fun little song like “Wouldn’t It Be Nice” and make it boring and lifeless.  Finally when the Beach Boys came out to do “Good Vibrations” I was reminded that sometimes it’s best to let the original artists do their thing. As someone on Twitter said last night, watching the first two “tributes” reminds you just how good the Beach Boys are.
  4. The Techno Mickey Mouse Portion of the Show
    This was another “what the hell am I watching” moment.  Awful.
  5. Etta James Not Part of the In Memoriam
    I know I know I know.  5,000 people reminded me on Twitter that Alicia Keys and Bonnie Raitt did a tribute to her.  Yes they did and it was beautiful.  But Jennifer Hudson did a tribute to Whitney Houston and she was in the memorial.  So where was Ms. James?  She was that big of a star in the music industry that she should have been in the memorial section even if she was honored earlier in the evening.  It’s Etta James for pete’s sake!!!
  6. The Jerks Texting in their Seats during Glen Campbell Tribute
    Everyone in that audience is giving Glen Campbell the standing ovation he deserves while a handful of imbeciles are texting on their phone siting down.  I’m sorry, if Glen Campbell and the Grammys are boring the shit out of you, then leave.  How rude!
  7. Taylor Swift
    This is going to be horrible and I’m so sorry but she’s terrible.  Her songs are pedestrian at best and while she has a nice little voice, I know people I went to school with who can sing and write songs better than she can.  This is one performer, I don’t get the buzz around.  And I am SOOOOO sick and tired of the “Oh my gosh are they really applauding for me” look on her face every time someone claps for her after a performance.  (Maybe I shouldn’t be because with her lack of talent she should be somewhat surprised.)   But it comes across as fake and absurd.  Your are a professional performer.  OF COURSE PEOPLE ARE GOING TO APPLAUD YOU!!!!   HOW ARE YOU NOT USED TO THAT?????  I’m sorry but I hate fake people and she screams ‘fraud” to me.  I know, “why I gotta be so mean” as she would write and sing.

So that’s the 2012 Grammys in a nut shell.  What did you think?  Love it or hate it?  Or really didn’t care either way?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 13, 2012 in CBS, Grammy Awards, Recaps and Reviews

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “2012 Grammy Awards

  1. sportsattitudes

    February 14, 2012 at 1:59 pm

    Certainly, one WTF moment was the light-show Mickey Mouse. One of my Twitter follows tweeted, “When did Mickey start using LSD?” Co-sign on that sentiment. The obvious WTF was Minaj. Epic…indeed biblical…fail. How the producers ever let it hit the airwaves will be debated for eternity…and I hope I go at least that long before I see her again. Great write-up!

     
  2. fortheloveoftv

    February 14, 2012 at 3:26 pm

    Seriously I don’t know what she was doing on stage. It’s almost like these young artists feel they have to “push the envelope” for people to notice their “art.” Well Adele proved last night that if you have the singing chops, you don’t need anything more than a microphone for people to see greatness.

     

Leave a Reply

 
