RSS

REVIEW: How I Met Your Mother “No Pressure” S7 E16

21 Feb

Are we seriously going down this road again?  This is 100% my FAVORITE comedy on TV but I am so mad at it right now.  Why are we going down the Ted and Robin road again?  This is such a “been there, done that, bought the T-Shirt, stared in the movie” storyline that I really don’t know the point.  Not to mention it feels as though this is coming out of left field.   Seriously, when did Ted all of a sudden start loving Robin again?  We know they don’t end up together, so why are we wasting episodes on this “love affair” that has no chance of surviving?????!!!!!!!

That’s how I felt after last week’s episode “The Drunk Train” which I didn’t get a chance to comment on.  I was seriously pissed off people, let me tell you.  But after last night’s episode, I think I finally get why that happened last week.   This has nothing to do with Ted and Robin, but will set up something (not sure what) even bigger that’s to come.

Remember back to the episode “Ducky Tie”?   This was the episode where Victoria the cupcake maker (played by Ashley Williams) returns and we learn some very interesting details.  Turns out, while they were trying to see if there were still feelings between them, (there weren’t because Victoria’s getting married) Victoria pointed out the one thing that is keeping Ted from true happiness…Robin.  First Victoria tells him that it’s weird that she dated both him and Barney.  Second, she tells him it’s even more strange that they are all still best friends and hang out all the time.  Finally she tells him that she always felt in competition with Robin and that Robin is the reason she, and other girls most likely, didn’t work out with Ted.  At the end of that episode, Future Ted admits that Victoria was right.  The three of them hanging out wasn’t going to work out.  Now if you have read some of my other HIMYM posts, you know I have been very concerned about this.   Looking at this comment in the “glass half full” realm, I would say, it isn’t going to work out because Robin and Barney eventually get together.  (Also that’s what I REAAAAAALY want to have happen.)  “Glass half empty” view, I think it means either Robin or Barney eventually split from the group.  I can’t imagine Carter Bays or anyone else from this show going with the later.  So let’s just say I’m panicking and need about 24 Sam Adams to calm me down.

“No Pressure” was the episode that I think finally and firmly shuts the door on Ted and Robin.  After last week, I was so worried this going down a completely different path….and one I wasn’t thrilled about AT ALL.  But I really need to learn to trust these writers more.  They’ve done it to me several times now where I take something at face value and make a judgement and don’t give it time to develop.  I am going to stop doing that now.   Well, maybe not but I’m going to try really really hard.  I thought this whole Ted and Robin this was coming out of nowhere because I thought Ted had already moved past Robin.  But if you look at the history (and the show did I nice job of going down memory lane over the last 6 seasons) Robin was always Ted’s constant (Lost reference!!!)   She was The One for Ted.  And I think, even though they were very different people who wanted very different things, they still loved each other.  Unfortunately, it’s more the way you love a BFF and not a soul mate.  Deep down, I think Ted knew that all along but he needed one more chance to make sure.  I think Robin needed to hit him over the head with an “I don’t love you” like she did last night, for Ted to finally move on.  Once she did, Ted was making a clean break when Robin suggested that they still keep their “if you’re 40 and still single, we’ll get married” deal going and he said no.  If it’s nothing, then it’s nothing.  He won’t settle and she shouldn’t either.  Ted annoys the crap out of me most of the time, but when it comes to episodes like this, he’s fantastically great.  Both Josh Radnor and Cobie Smulders had amazing scenes together and they were spot on heartbreaking in their performances.    Ultimately, I think Robin is going to be the cause of Ted’s true happiness.   Because even thought Robin isn’t Ted’s “The One,” I think she will be the bridge to Ted meeting The True One.  Look at it this way.  Robin brought Ted to a stream with a broken down bridge over it.  On one side is Ted and other, Robin.  The bridge to Robin is unstable and dangerous.  Basically if Ted tries to cross this bridge, he’s a dead man.  But Robin is on the side of love and happiness.  And while Ted always thought it was Robin he was crossing the bridge to get to, it wasn’t.  She’s there to help him cross to get to the person he is truly meant to be with.  First she had to destroy the bridge (Ted: “Do you love me Robin?”  Robin: “No.”)   BAM!   Bridge destroyed.  Then she is going to help build a stronger bridge which she will help him cross to reach little miss yellow umbrella (like her wedding to Barney perhaps?)   Time will tell on how Robin will build that bridge and help Ted get there.  But I know she will.

I need to touch on Marshall and Lily.  First, Marshall was fantastic in this episode.  He truly showed what it means to be a best friend by going to Robin and asking her to move out so she doesn’t keep breaking Ted’s heart day after day.  Also being the good friend she is, Robin says she understands and starts packing.  Very cool Marshall, having Ted’s back like that!   But you know who’s been really disappointing?   Lily.   What the hell has happened to her character?    Lily was always the core, the foundation of the group.  When someone was about to do something insane, it was always Lily who brought them back down to Earth.  Lily was always people’s champion.  She was always in everyone’s corner.  While the long-term bets on the friends was great, I couldn’t stand how she was trying to sabotage Ted and Robin so she could win a bet.  Who does that?   And I never in a million years, thought Lily would do something like that.  Maybe it’s the pregnancy thing, but Lily has really gotten annoying lately.  From the party she was throwing a few weeks ago to trying to destroy her friend’s happiness for the sake of a bet, Lily isn’t the Lily I have grown to love over the years.   The Lily I know would have sat Ted down and then sat Robin down and talked them through what they were feeling.  She would have been there to support both of them.   She wouldn’t have done things to wreck a potential relationship.  It also makes wonder if the “where do you guys see yourselves in 5 years” talk was really set up to help them or to win her bet.  I’m not going to lie, it knocked her down a few pegs in my eyes.

While I’m 99.9% certain Ted and Robin are done, those dame writers had to leave a slight crack in the vault door open.  During the episode when the bet was that Ted and Stella wouldn’t get married, Marshall kept asking Lily to pay up and she would say, “not yet” at different stages of their relationship.  When Stella finally bailed on Ted, Lilly finally paid up.  In the final scene, when Lily told Marshall to pay up on Ted and Robin, he says to her “not yet.”   Oh Lord.   WHHHHHHHY?  They’re done, over, finished, caput, kaplooee, bridge destroyed!!!  In all seriousness, I wonder what that statement means.

I liked this episode a lot more than I thought I would after last week.  But there are a few things I would like more substantiation from…Ted and Robin being officially done (which I think is the case even thought Marshall made that comment), Robin and Barney…are they going to get together or not, and Ted’s wife.   It’s 7 seasons.  It’s time to meet her.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 21, 2012 in CBS, Recaps and Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “REVIEW: How I Met Your Mother “No Pressure” S7 E16

  1. Anonymous

    February 22, 2012 at 12:48 am

    I do agree, about time that Ted met “the one”. What I think will happen in the finale is that Robin will move in to Rachel Bilson’s apartment with Ted’s future wife. I bet it will end with a big cliffhanger that still doesn’t show who the mother is. just a thought.

     
    • fortheloveoftv

      February 22, 2012 at 4:52 pm

      I just think there is some great storytelling to be had after Ted meets the mother. How do they meet? How do they get along? How does she get along with the group? I want to see all the wacky stuff that happens during their courtship up until their wedding. So after 7 seasons, I don’t think we need to drag this out much further.

       
  2. Brigitte

    February 22, 2012 at 11:35 am

    Lily’s made the bet because she knows that Ted and Robin aren’t meant to be together. She isn’t rooting against them because she made the bet. And I think that Marshall just doesn’t want to admit defeat. At least I hope that is what it is. I agree that it ws a pretty great episode though, finally allowing Robin and Ted to put their relationship where it needs to be, grow up and move on.

     
    • fortheloveoftv

      February 22, 2012 at 4:58 pm

      Hi Brigitte. I have to disagree slightly. I think in this episode, Lily was trying to make sure they didn’t pursue things because of the bet. We’ve seen Lily be competitive in the past so it wouldn’t be out of the realm of possibility that she would do whatever it takes to win a bet. I just thought Lily would draw the line in destroying her friends’ feelings. Even if she knew (and we all knew) that Robin and Ted we never happening, it was still wrong. Funny, but wrong. Thanks for the comment!

       

Leave a Reply

 
