RSS

SEASON FINALE RECAP & REVIEW: Parenthood “My Brother’s Wedding” S3 E18

11 Mar

I just got around to watching the last two episodes of Parenthood.  Wow did I need some major tissues.  Before I get into the episode itself I just have to ask the writers and directors of Parenthood a question….what is with the CONSTANT speaking over someone every time there is a conversation (especially a debate?)   At first I understood they were trying to keep it real since families do step on each other’s words (you should be at one of our family dinners) but it’s gotten to a gratingly ridiculous level.  Not every time a conversation is had, do people talk over each other.  So why does Parenthood feel the need to have this happen at most times?  Kristina, Adam, and Zeke did it, Kristina and Sarah did it, Adam and Crosby did it.  I just want to jump through my TV and yell SHUT THE F*#@ UP FOR ONE MINUTE AND LET (ENTER NAME HERE) FINISH THEIR DAMN THOUGHT!!!!  In all seriousness, it completely takes away from the enjoyment of a scene and sometimes it’s tricky to follow because everyone is talking at once.  Seriously the scene where Sarah comes to see Kristina about Amber, I was ready to call Jason Katims and rip him a new one.  After “please sit down and shut the door” all Sarah and Kristina did was talk at the same time.   I really wanted to hear Kristina’s explanation and I really wanted to hear Sarah’s response.  Unfortunately, I couldn’t get either very well because they both insisted on talking at the same time.  I just want to know if this is something they are being directed to do?  Are the writers writing it this way?  Is it the actors’ choice?   No matter what the reason behind it, it needs to stop.  Or at the very least be severely toned down.  This is some of the best writing on TV and I would actually like to hear the dialogue vs. having to decipher it via facial expressions because everyone is being rude and talking over each other.  Now that I have solved that problem, onto the episode.

Crosby and Jasmine

I’m getting this out-of-the-way first.  Anyone who was read any of my Parenthood posts in the past knows how I feel about Crosby and Jasmine.  I HATE them as a couple.  I don’t like the people they are when they are together.  But I knew it was only a matter of time until the show got them together again.  I was hoping it was going to be a story about them parenting Jabar apart and moving on in separate directions while working together to raise him.  I think that could have been much more interesting but we all knew that wasn’t going to happen.

So in a matter of a blink of an eye, they broke off their seemingly happy relationships because Jasmine all of a sudden realized she loves Crosby and wants to be with him and marry him….like today.  Dr. Joe and Lily hit the pike and the family is beside themselves with excitement over the idea of Crosby and Jasmine getting married at the Braverman estate.   They get married and everyone is having a great time (especially Drew and Amy!)  Save for a best man hiccup (more on that later) it was a great wedding and the couple is officially back together.  Yippee (enter sarcasm here.)

Adam and Crosby

Crosby is one of those characters I can’t figure out yet.  Sometimes I love him to no end and other times I can’t stand him and hate the way his family always picks up for his bone head ways.  I guess I’m so hard on Crosby because I know family members who are like that.  No matter how bad they screw up or screw other family members over, everyone else has to be the bigger people and make it right.  I hate that.  So that’s why at times I just want to throw Crosby through a wall.  This business deal with the Luncheonette was no different.

Adam and he were approached by a rival recording studio about buying them out.  Adam wants to discuss it and Crosby has no time for it because the Luncheonette is his dream.  Adam tries to explain to him that as business partners, they need to discuss this because that is what business partners do.  Crosby’s response: “no, there’s nothing to talk about, we’re not selling, oh and I’m getting married.”  Adam gets a call to meet the buyer who doesn’t want to go without Crosby but he says it’s just drinks and just to talk.  Adam goes and ends up walking away with an even bigger offer.  For some reason, Crosby gets even more incensed about this (as does Zeke which makes no sense….oh wait it does because Crosby is always the good guy and Adam is always the bad.)  Crosby then tells Adam he is longer then best man and a fist fight breaks out between the two of them at the Braverman’s!!!!!  In front of the whole family!!!

The next day Zeke goes to Adam’s house, tells him how wrong he is and ask how he could think of doing something so awful to Crosby and tells him to fix it.  So Adam fixes it by giving the worst best man speech at a wedding ever, and ripping up the offer from the company.  Now Crosby and Zeke are happy and everything is right with the world.

Ok, first and foremost, back off Zeke.  As usual you sticking your nose where it doesn’t belong.  This is between Crosby and Adam.  And it’s a business thing, not a family thing (although they did make it a family thing by fighting in front of the whole family.)  But you know who you need to blame for that?    CROSBY!  Adam didn’t bring it up.  He didn’t want to discuss it in that forum.  But the typically immature Crosby didn’t care and brought it up anyway.  So why are you bitching to Adam?   And instead of storming into HIS home with his family to lay him out for the situation, Zeke should have listened to Adam’s side and then Zeke should have had a conversation with Crosby.  Really what he should have done was mind his own business, but God forbid with that guy.

To be honest, this whole thing is Crosby’s fault.   If he just sat down with Adam and TALKED to him, they could have avoided all of this.   The thing that pisses me off is that everything is always about Crosby.  His dream, his life, his vision.  Well what about Adam?  He has a massive income drop, he has a daughter heading to Cornell, a son with Aspberger’s, and a new baby.  He is drowning in bills.  Can you really fault him for wanting to entertain the idea of selling?  NO.  Just like Adam shouldn’t blame you for wanting NOT to sell.  But Crosby never allowed for the possibility of that mature conversation to happen because he just blew Adam off and dismissed Adam’s wishes, because everything is always about him.  And as usual, Crosby gets what he wants by being an ass and guilting people into doing what he wants.  Can you tell that it really rubs me the wrong way.

Sarah, Amber, and Kristina

I already said my piece about them talking over one another so I won’t go back there.  This is a tough one.  I think I’m still going to side with Kristina here.  What Amber was doing was wrong.  It happens, but it’s wrong.  And it’s gross.  She’s not even a year removed from high school.  She’s 19.  Bob has to be in his mid to late 20s.  I’m not saying relationships that are 5-10 years in age difference can’t work.  My husband is 5 years older than me.  But when you’re talking about someone who was going to her senior prom this time last year, it’s icky.

Having said that, they are two consenting adults who have the right to do whatever they want and make whatever mistakes they choose.  I know Kristina’s first instincts were to run and stop what was happening (which she did), but I don’t agree with how she handled it.  Which by the way, if was Amber, I would never say anything to my cousin ever again.  What a snitch Haddie was!!  But she’s another one I’ve never liked.  Anyhoo, Kristina goes barging into the hotel room and embarrasses Amber, embarrasses Bob.  It was bad.  Her intentions were good and her instincts were right, but it should have been handled a little differently.

When everyone gets back, Sarah goes to see Kristina to find out what happened.  Kristina expected Sarah to be as upset as she was but Kristina was stunned when Sarah was confused as to what the problem was.  Really, Kristina how dumb can you be?   It shouldn’t surprise you at all that her mother. who is dating a man 15 years younger than her (her son and daughter’s teacher no less) who has made countless bad choices throughout her life, can’t see why this is bad.  Sarah seems angry with Kristina for interfering so Kristina asks her to leave.   See maybe, if you didn’t speak while Kristina was speaking, she could have explained why this is a bad thing and you could have listened.

I’ve mentioned before how I love Sarah, but I think she’s a bad mother.  She loves her kids and would do anything for them, there’s no denying that.  She wants to be more of a BFF with them instead of a mom to them and that’s a problem.  How could you honestly be upset with Kristina for trying to stop Amber for making a huge mistake?  And let’s list all the reasons this is a big mistake:

  1. She’s 19 and he’s 7+ years older
  2. She’s his employee
  3. He’s her boss
  4. He’s running for political office so if the affair leaked, it would be really bad
  5. Her reputation will be destroyed if it got out
Should I keep going?  How as her mother does Sarah not see that?   All she seemed to care about was is he married and does Amber like him.  While those things are important, are they the point here?   NO!!  Come on Sarah.  You should be thanking your lucky stars you have a sister-in-law like Kristina who would not only care enough from stopping Amber from making a huge mistake but then would follow-up by stopping to see her and explain why she did what she did.  That’s called PARENTING!!!  By the way, that was a great scene with Kristina and Amber.  Monica Potter and Mae Whitman blew it out of the water with their subtlety.  But then again, they always do.  Kristina basically tells Amber that she made so many bad mistakes when she was younger and that she thinks so much of Amber that she wants to help her not make the same mistakes she did.  She sees so much potential in Amber and wants to see her fulfill that for herself.  It was such a nice scene.  And it worked because Amber broke it off with Bob to come back to work and pursue this as a potential career.  Good call Amber!!!   At least someone is trying to steer you in the right direction!

Julia, Joel, and Zoe

You just knew it was coming.  You knew Zoe was going to keep the baby.  Each week, the writers kept slipping little hints that this was going to happen.   I was hoping it was red herring and Julia and Joel would have their new baby boy, but it didn’t.   In the end, after all Julia did for her, Zoe decided to keep the baby.  And I was so mad at Camille.  When she was helping Joel pack the room, she had to make the comment of “well Zeke and I were afraid this was going to happen.”  You know what Camille, this is really not the time for “I told you so!”  You really think Joel wants to hear that right now?   Dear Lord!

The irony of the entire situation is that while Julia was doing things to support Zoe while pregnant and to give her the love and encouragement she was sorely missing in her life, all she really did was give Zoe the confidence and strength to go back to her family and to be a good mom to her son.  It was that strength she learned from Julia that made her believe she could raise her son.  It beautiful and heartbreaking at the same time.  I still wanted to rip her heart out and set it on fire for Julia, but it made sense.  I cried and cried watching that scene.  Although it was tempered because my husband came and sat with me about 20 minutes into the show and not having watched an episode since last season and starts asking me “who’s that girl?  why are they crying?  why are you crying?   what’s going on?  what baby are they talking about?  what’s with the watch?”   If I could have stuck him in a sound proof room, I would have.

So it’s back to the beginning for J&J and they go to an adoption agency to try to get their hands on a new baby.  The agent offers a suggestion of some type of fast adoption should it happen, and they agree to it.   Well, when they say fast, they weren’t kidding.  At the wedding, they get a call that an opportunity has come up.  I can’t remember what happened but I get the impression one parent is going to jail and one is out of the picture so the boy needs a home.  But he’s about 6 or 7 years old.  J&J will take him and get him settled in.

I guess my confusion is, I thought they wanted a baby.  Not a little kid.  I know they didn’t care about race or gender, but I thought they wanted a baby.   That’s all Julia has said…she wants a baby.   Not a kid, a baby.  Guess not.  And, are they foster parents or is this their new son?  I hope they address that next season because I have no idea.  If he is their’s I can already see the storylines of he and Sydney not getting along.  He’s probably going to be manipulative and nasty but play the game in front of J&J until something happens to Sydney and it wakes him up to being a turd.   J&J figure out he’s a turd and then they fix it and everyone’s better.  Maybe I’m wrong, but I can easily see that happening.   Regardless, if he turns out to be their son, I’m so happy for them!!!!

Sarah and Mark

Sarah and Mark are finally starting to realize what we as the audience have noticed for weeks now.   They are too different and want different things as a result of being at different stages of their lives.  Neither one is wrong, it’s just different.

Mark has all these things he wants to experience.  Sarah, not so much.  Mark wants kids.  Sarah, not so much.  Mark wants to move to NY.  Sarah, might want to, but only after Drew graduates and the kids are settled.  See the pattern here?  It’s a shame because I really do like them as a couple.  But it’s clear they are on different paths.  And I really applaud Sarah for making the hard decision to break up with him.  Because it had nothing to do with not loving him and everything to do with wanting different things.  I know Mark came back and proposed to her at the wedding and cliff hanger was left as to what Sarah would say.   But the answer has to be no.  It’s easy for Mark to say, who cares about those other things, we love each other and that’s all that matters.  No kid, it isn’t.  It’s important, but it’s not everything.  And Sarah knows that.  As much as I love Jason Ritter and want him to stick around, it’s time to say good-bye to Mark Cyr.

Drew and Amy

All I want to ask is “why are you so sweaty?”  I was laughing my ass off when Drew and Amy came down stairs and Sarah asked him that.  And they were so nervous they couldn’t look at her and couldn’t get out of there fast enough.

Drew and Amy decided they were both ready to have sex and decided Uncle Crosby’s wedding was the best time.  It’s actually a good idea because everyone is occupied but it’s still VERY risky.   The thing I found funny was how matter-of-fact the beginning was.  They get in the room and then stand off the side of the bed, and start stripping while starring in each other’s eyes.   Then when fully naked, get into bed.   Call me crazy but it just seemed a little stiff to me.  I know they’ve never done this before, but there had to be a more romantic way to do it than that!   It just seemed so business like.  I don’t know.    But I was happy for Drew!

So that wraps Season 3 of Parenthood.  Another solid season that should warrant a renewal from NBC in May. What did you think of the season finale and the season as a whole?  Let me know!

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
