RSS

The Season So Far…Grimm

11 Mar

This appears to be a love it or hate it type of show based on what I read on-line, hear on podcasts or through people I talk to.  I don’t love it or hate it.  I enjoy it.  Grimm is a solid show.  It takes a TV formula that works (the cop procedural) and gives a supernatural twist that make it different from the typical cop procedural.  Does it have some room for improvement, sure.  But lots of shows do.

My biggest problem with the show is most people’s problem…the lead, David Giuntoli.  I don’t think he’s as horrible as some people have cast him, but I do think he’s not connecting with the audience.  He’s not very engaging.  While I like him because he’s a nice guy, I don’t find myself rooting for him.  Eddie Monroe (played by Silas Weir Mitchell) is someone I root for.  He’s awesome.  Even Russell Hornsby’s Hank (Nick’s partner) is more layered and interesting than David’s Nick.  How can someone with Nick’s background be so boring?  Is it the actor or the writing?  I can’t believe it’s the writing because the other characters are pretty strong.  So it has to come down to the way Giuntoli is playing Nick.  He’s very stiff and approaches most scenes the same way. It’s almost as if he’s wearing an ear piece and the director is telling him in his ear (ok David in this scene I need you to be forceful because your mad and in this scene I need your delivery to be comical because this is a light-hearted scene.)  It’s not natural.  Luckily for him, everyone else is so good and the stories, to this point, have been compelling enough, that I don’t need to protagonist to carry the show.   And maybe he’ll get better as the show moves forward.  I think it’s going to be renewed so the more he gets used to the character (and maybe takes some classes) he should be fine.

My one request from Grimm is to get more into the history behind the mythology in the show.  We got the most we’ve seen series-to-date in “Three Coins in a Fuchsbau” when we learned (we think) who killed David’s parents.  But there seems to be more to this story.  Quite honestly, I’m surprised we haven’t seen more of Nick doing family research on his background after Aunt Marie told him the powers of the Grimm family are passing to him.  But his parents (at least one of them) were Grimms.  They were holding onto the coins that many creatures were after.  So how involved were they and for how long?  Also, how many Grimms can have their “powers” at one time?  It doesn’t seem Nick has been able to see the creatures until Aunt Marie’s visit and likewise, the creatures haven’t been able to tell Nick is a Grimm before now either.  Why is that?  How does that work?  Also, how do they know he’s a Grimm?  Is it like being blinded but if someone sticks a skunk in your face, you know it’s a skunk?  Is it sensory?  Does Nick’s face change?  Does Nick have cousin’s who are also Grimms that can see what he sees?  If he and Juliette have kids, will the “power” pass to them?  I would really like more information on all of this.

The big question is, what the hell is the police captain?   He must be something powerful because Nick has yet to see his face contort into a creature and we all know he is.  So what is he?  And why is he actually being protective of Nick right now?   Is it because he has a bigger plan for him? I’d like to see this storyline start to progress.

We are at the point in the season, where I think we are ready for some answers and some more back story.  At least I am.  So I want to see the show go down that path.  I enjoy it and I really like it.  I think the stories are fascinating.  It reminds me a little of Season 1 of Supernatural when you had all these different urban legends/creatures from mythology that we had to learn about.  I just want some progression on the mythology.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 responses to “The Season So Far…Grimm

  1. Bailey

    March 11, 2012 at 4:38 pm

    Wow, Nick is my favorite character and I think David G is hitting it pitch-perfect. A bit understated, calm but with the threat of hidden depths. I love this show! (so guess I’m one of the love or hate folks)
    I think people don’t look beyond the flash of a comic type character like Monroe and are missing a superior performance by DG.

     
    • fortheloveoftv

      March 11, 2012 at 4:57 pm

      HI Bailey, I have to respectfully disagree. It’s not about the flash of Monroe’s character that appeals to me. It’s the way Mitchell is playing him. He can certainly bring the funny, but he can also bring warmth and gravity when is called for and it seems to flow effortlessly for him. With DG, like I said, I don’t think he’s as bad as some people have said. Some critics have said he doesn’t belong as an actor at all. I wouldn’t go to that extreme. But I do think he can be stiff and monotone at times. There are times that call for more expression or taking a risk with your character that maybe challenging but necessary to sell scene or a progression. He doesn’t seem to have that yet. As I said, maybe he just needs some time to get more comfortable with the character. I’ve heard Anna Torv of Fringe was horrible her first season and now she’s one of the best on the show. Maybe the same thing will happen will DG. But for me, right now, he isn’t there.

      Thanks for the comment! Please keep them coming!

       
  2. Bailey

    March 11, 2012 at 5:49 pm

    Agree to disagree. 🙂
    Mitchell does a terrific job as Monroe and I enjoy the character very much. But I am very impressed with DG. I very much think he’s doing a terrific job with Nick. Just what the role calls for.

     
  3. sportsattitudes

    March 12, 2012 at 10:24 am

    I did not like this show one bit through its first few episodes, mostly because I don’t think there was a lot of work to “set up” the Grimm job description and get more info about those who would do harm to him…and why. It particularly annoyed me very early on we were shown the police chief and one woman clearly working on “something” behind the scenes that sure looked “anti-Grimm”…but after two eps that storyline completely vanished. However, the last few weeks the beginning-middle-end of each hourly fable have gotten more “snappy” in both writing and editing…and everything seems to be crisper. They are cranking out good, consistently entertaining “sci-fi” crime stories. Previews for next week seem to indicate we’ll finally “get back” to what the chief and his friend are up to at long last. I think ultimately how his significance as a Grimm is explained might be the tipping point for whether or not I stick with it. As for David’s performance, I think it is a little wooden but not sure if it is him or how they’ve asked the character to be played…for now. We shall see!

     
    • fortheloveoftv

      March 12, 2012 at 1:03 pm

      I agree with you. There needs to be more explanation of how this is all working from the Grimm perspective. We are just supposed to take it at face value. early on, I was ok with it. But now, it’s time for more information because we need to know if we are going to care.

       

Leave a Reply

 
