RSS

SEASON FINALE RECAP AND REVIEW: How I Met Your Mother “The Magician’s Code” S7 E23 & 24

15 May

We got one big question answered.   But did we just get THE big question answered?

The answer to the second question is no.  Victoria is not the mother.  At least, that’s how it appears today.  We have learned that Ted will meet the mother at Barney’s wedding.  We also know that the mother was in one of his architecture classes.  Victoria doesn’t fit any of those descriptions.  It’s a shame because I think of all the people Ted has dated over the seasons, Victoria is most people’s favorite.  I know she was always mine.  I was always hoping she would end up being the mother because they were good together.  But I can’t see how that can happen.   Since Barney’s wedding appears to be happening at the end of next season, it looks like Victoria will just be filling the gap until that happens.  And maybe that’s what Ted needs to finally be ready to meet the mother.  He had his closure with Robin and since Victoria was “the one that got away” maybe he needs to really close the door on that relationship as well.

I’ve said this before and I’ll repeat it now.  It’s time to meet the mother.  We are going on Season 8 and we haven’t met her yet.  I think it’s gone on too long.  It’s very rare for comedies to last this long in this day of TV. They just start to run their course.  And while I still love HIMYM and still think it’s one of the best comedies on TV right now, it’s getting a little droopy.   It’s starting to sag.  I think there is so much storytelling to be had once we meet the mother but my fear is that waiting so long, you are going to start to lose people and then the ratings will be so bad, CBS will pull the plug instead of you going out on your own terms.  And now Victoria has been reintroduced when we know she isn’t the mother and since we know Ted meets her at the wedding and the wedding won’t be until the season finale of next year, we know it’s another entire season without meeting her.  It’s ridiculous.

People will argue (and I’ve said this too) that this show has gone way beyond the mother at this point.  This show has become about these 5 friends and their lives together.  I’m thrilled that’s what the show has become. And the storyline vehicle for telling their stories being Ted’s retelling his children about how he met their mother.  At first it was, who is she, when will we meet her, how will she fit it?  Now it’s become, oh just tell us already.  And that sucks.  But it is what it is.  I just wish it would have happened a season or two ago because I worry this show will get canceled before we have a chance to she how the mother interacts with everyone and those stories that need to be told.

As for the other big question that was answered with no doubts what so ever, who was Barney’s bride.  And to no one’s surprise, the bride turned out to be Robin.    YEAH!!!!   I’ve always thought, since the moment they shared their first bro date together smoking cigars and playing laser tag, that Robin and Barney were meant to be.  The two people who insisted that they didn’t want to get married and have the regular family life, were going to find a way to be together.  I just knew it.  Although I had my doubts earlier in the season.

I think had Barney stuck with Nora all season, it would have been a bigger surprise with the Robin reveal.  We would have invested all season in Nora and I think it would have been more believable.  While I liked Quinn, I thought their relationship happened very fast and came out of nowhere.  For someone who is anti-relationship Barney went from Nora to try to get back with Robin to Quinn.  It seems out of character for him.  I never really bought into him and Quinn because it always felt like a smoke screen to me.  Even when he proposed to her last night, I never thought she was the bride.  In fact, as soon as he proposed to her, I knew it wouldn’t be her. But I can forgive all of that because in the end, Barney and Robin will be together.  And this isn’t a ruse.   In an interview with Craig Thomas on EW.com, Thomas confirms that Barney and Robin will be together and they will get married.  It was always meant to be them.  And I have to say, Robin looked stunning!!!

This was a tough year for Robin.  She ended up choosing Kevin over Barney only to realize that she and Kevin wanted very different things and broke up with him.  Ted confessed his love (again) and she gently tried to let him down and as a result needed to part from the group for a while so Ted could heal.   That really bugged me but I’ve already vented about that on my podcast.   Robin also found out that she couldn’t have children and while Robin said that was always her choice, it’s very different when the choice is taken away from you.  Then she had to watch the man she truly loves get engaged to another woman while she tearfully gave him her support.  Other than her job going well, this was a VERY tough year for her personally.  Robin really hasn’t been happy in quite a while.  So to see her beaming from ear to ear on her wedding way, made this HIMYM fan very happy.   Robin will get her happy ending.   And so will Barney.

Finally, the moment arrived….baby Erikson is here.  Marvin Waitforit Erikson was born to a very happy Marshmellow and Lily Pad.  Marshall almost didn’t make it and even though Lily has always had a tough relationship with her father, it was so sweet that he showed up for her and gave a pep talk to be able to have the baby.  Then he went into true form by telling her how vaginal tearing could happen and Lily kicked him out.  But Marshall did make it and the gang was there for Marvin’s birth.  As soon as they said his name and that he was named after Marshall’s dad, woosh came the tears.  I could stop them.  It was so sweet and touching.  As for the middle name…..LOVE IT!!!  And I love the fact that Marshall and Lily both thought it was the coolest middle name ever!!!!  I agree.  I can’t wait to see how they are able to juggle new parenthood while still hanging with gang at McClaren’s.

What are you thoughts on the season finale?  Did you like seeing the reveal of Robin as Barney’s bride?   What do you think of the whole Victoria and Ted riding off into the sunset together?   And would you be happy if next season was the last season of HIMYM or do you want more now that we know we will meet the mother in next year’s season finale?

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
