RSS

2012 CBS Fall Preview

02 Sep

RETURNING SHOWS:

  • Survivor: Philippines (9/19)
  • How I Met Your Mother (9/24)
  • 2 Broke Girls (9/24)
  • Mike & Molly (9/24)
  • Hawaii 5-0 (9/24)
  • NCIS (9/25)
  • NCIS: LA (9/25)
  • Criminal Minds (9/26)
  • CSI (9/26)
  • The Big Bang Theory (9/27)
  • Two and a Half Men (9/27)
  • Person of Interest (9/27)
  • CSI NY (9/28)
  • Blue Bloods (9/28)
  • 48 Hours Mystery (9/29)
  • 60 Minutes (9/30)
  • The Amazing Race (9/30)
  • The Good Wife (9/30)
  • The Mentalist (9/30)
NEW SHOWS:
  • Partners (9/24)
  • Vegas (9/25)
  • Elementary (9/27)
  • Made In Jersey (9/28)
SHOWS I AM MOST LOOKING FORWARD TO:
  • Person of Interest: Where is Finch?  Reese is pissed since he was duped by the lovely Amy Archer. And when Reese is pissed, look out!!
  • How I Met Your Mother: Robin’s the bride.  How do we get there though?
  • 2 Broke Girls
  • Blue Bloods
  • The Good Wife: Who is Kalinda’s husband?   Peter sacrificed his chance at winning the election in order save Alicia (by admitting they are separated.)  Will this bring them closer together?  One (ME) can hope!  Now that LG has lost their top client to Canning and Nyholm, how will the firm survive?
  • Partners
  • Elementary
SHOWS I AM LOSING INTEREST IN BUT WILL GIVE ONE MORE SEASON TO:
  • None
SHOWS I COULD CARE LESS ABOUT:
  • Vegas
  • CSI
  • Hawaii 5-0
  • CSI NY
  • Two and a Half Men
WHAT TO WATCH FOR:
  • The Mentalist Moving to Sundays:  Sundays are already so crowed and now another show I watch is moving to Sunday nights.   I’m begging you schedulers, can you PLEASE start to spread these things out more!
  • Two and a Half Men Moving to Thursdays:  TAAHM was anchored in the Monday 9pm slot forever.  Now that prime spot goes to 2 Broke Girls (more on that below…although not much more.)  Is this a sign that TAAHM’s days are numbered?  Probably not.  The Big Bang Theory made the successful move to Thursdays and since the competition isn’t that stiff (Last Resort, Up All Night, THe X Factor, and The Vampire Diaries), it should be just fine.
  • New Shows in Prime Spots: Elementary (Thurs 10pm and Partners Mon 8:30pm)  Elementary takes over the Mentalist in the Thursday at 10pm slot.  Against it are Scandal and Rock Center.  Well since no one watches Rock Center, it really has Scandal to worry about and I think that’s two different audiences (although I’ll watch both.)  It will also have the very strong Person of Interest lead in so Elementary has every reason to succeed.  Partners will also have a strong lead in with How I Met Your Mother and 2 Broke Girls following it.  So people will give it a chance.  But Monday night at 8pm has some strong competition (Dancing with the Stars…which was always there, Bones…now on Monday nights, and The Voice…moved from mid-season to the fall.)  This may be a DVR and watch it later show which could spell disaster, but I hope not!
  • 2 Broke Girls Moving to Two and a Half Men’s Spot on Mondays:  2BG moves to TAAHM’s 9pm slot.  It’s been a very successful spot for CBS the last 9 years.  I think the show will be just fine.  It has a solid audience and I think will do the time slot justice.
EARLY THOUGHTS ON NEW SHOWS:
  • CBS doesn’t have a ton of news shows because their schedule is already so strong.  Only four shows!  I wonder if that is the fewest new shows in recent network TV.  Absolutely I will be watching Partners and Elementary.  Both previews were very strong with solid casts and great premises.  I’ve always been a fan of Max Mutchnick and David Kohan.  Partners is basically the story of them…two best friends (one who is gay and one who is straight) who work together and how their friendship affects the people in their lives.  This premise has worked well for them in the past (Will & Grace…which is based on Mutchnick and his best friend, Janet) so let’s see if they can dip into that well twice with success.   Elementary bring one of my favorite actors back to TV…Johnny Lee Miller.  Miller stars as the famed Sherlock Holmes in this new CBS drama.  But this show takes a different twist on the story we all know.  For one thing, it takes place in NYC vs. England.  Second, it focuses on Holmes’ struggle with addiction and how he manages his career and his strive to stay clean.  Third, Dr. Watson is still his side kick, but this time instead of Watson being John Watson, it’s Jane Watson played by Lucy Liu.  I’m not a huge fan of Liu’s but I liked her in this very much.   She’s there to help keep Holmes on the straight and narrow.
  • As for the other two, I have no interest in Vegas.  Made in Jersey, I’m not sure about.  I usually like shows with an underdog that’s easy to root for…a them vs. the world story…the outsider trying to fit in.   But some of the writing bothered me.  For example, when Martina tells Natalie she worked a case in Trenton, Natalie asked her “Trenton, is that where you learned about tight jeans?”  What?  Are you kidding me?  Who talks to people like that?  Believe me, being from Philly, I love taking pot shots at Jersey people.  But it’s a joke.  I married a Jersey guy and there is a fun banter that usually takes place about Jersey people and Philly people.  But it’s all in good fun.  It’s never malicious or serious.  And I would NEVER in a business setting make a comment like that to someone!!!  How rude.  There are also a lot of cheesy lines, like a client telling Martina that she has to worry about her mother, grandmother, and sister and she tells her “well them I’m going to fight for all of them.”  Oh Lord.  However, there is very much a Working Girl aspect to this show and I loved that movie.  There were things to like about this show so I’ll check it out (I have my 3 episode rule remember) but we’ll see where it goes.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 2, 2012 in CBS, Fall Preview

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
