RSS

2012 NBC Fall Preview

02 Sep

RETURNING SHOWS:

  • Grimm (8/13)
  • Sunday Night Football (9/9)
  • Football Night in America (9/10)
  • The Voice (9/10)
  • Parenthood (9/10)
  • Saturday Night Live (9/15)
  • Up All Night (9/20)
  • Parks and Recreation (9/20)
  • The Office (9/20)
  • Rock Center (9/20)
  • Law & Order: SVU (9/26)
  • Dateline (9/28)
  • Whitney (10/19)
  • Community (10/19)
NEW SHOWS:
  • Go On (9/11)
  • The New Normal (9/11)
  • Guys with Kids (9/12)
  • Revolution (9/17)
  • Animal Practice (9/26)
  • Chicago Fire (10/10)
SHOWS I AM MOST LOOKING FORWARD TO:
  • Sunday Night Football
  • Parenthood
  • Grimm
  • Parks and Rec
  • Go On
  • The New Normal
  • Revolution
  • Animal Practice
SHOWS I AM LOSING INTEREST IN BUT WILL GIVE ONE MORE SEASON TO:
  • Community
SHOWS I COULD CARE LESS ABOUT:
  • Up All Night
  • Whitney
  • The Voice
  • Guys with Kids
  • Rock Center
WHAT TO WATCH FOR:
  • The Final Season of The Office: Last year, one of my “what to watch fors” was the Office without Steve Carell.  My fears came true…the show was awful.  The Office had been slowly declining in past seasons but last season took a major plunge downward.  It was downright unwatchable.  I was going to pull The Office from my DVR, but then I heard that this will be the last season.  So I will watch for nostalgia purposes and cross my fingers that we see a resurface of Michael Scott just one more time at our favorite paper company in Scranton, PA!  But I think it was a smart decision to pull the plug because it’s time to say good-bye.
  • Dan Harmon Out as Show Runner for Community: Community has been an up and down show for me.  At times, it is brilliant and the best comedy on TV.  Other times, it’s terrible.  But Harmon is out and Moses Port and David Guarascio are in.  Even though this show has had soft ratings during its run, the people who do follow Community are insanely loyal and most of it is due to the genius storytelling that Harmon was able to create at times during the series.  So Port and Guarascio have big shoes to fill, in the fans eyes.  But behind the scenes, a new direction needed to happen.  For those that don’t know, Harmon and Chevy Chase had a major feud going on behind the scenes.  Depending on what you read, the short version is that Chevy didn’t approve of what Harmon was writing (calling it down right not funny) and Harmon took issue with Chevy and even dressed him down at the Season Three wrap party in front of the cast, crew, Chevy’s wife and daughter.  If you Google search it, you’ll be able to find plenty of stories on the topic and you should be able to find the voicemail message Chevy left for Harmon.   Either way, something or someone had to give, and it ended up being Harmon.  Will Community be the same show fans of it have grown to love?  Will it become a better show for people who got turned off by Community many times?   Time will tell.
  • Grimm’s Ratings After Premiering in the Summer: I didn’t like the idea of premiering Grimm after the Olympics.  I had no problem with using the ratings of the Olympics to boost the new shows, but to premiere an existing show?  I don’t get it.   People aren’t ready for their shows to premiere at that point.  People are still on vacation, still spending lots of time outside enjoying as much of the nice weather and long days as they can, and many people don’t even know the show’s premiered because they’re thinking Sept!   I haven’t watched any of the new Grimms yet.  I have them all on DVR1 but haven’t watched them.  I wasn’t ready in the middle of August for that.  Having said that, I think the ratings have been ok.  So will it be the smartest move NBC’s made in a long time?
EARLY THOUGHTS ON NEW SHOWS:
  • I can’t believe how many comedies I liked!!! Last year I didn’t like Whitney or Free Agents and Up All Night was alright but I stopped watching because it wasn’t alright enough to keep watching.  But this year, I liked all the new comedies except for one…Guys with Kids.  I don’t like shows that try too hard for the laugh.  That’s what this show was for me.  It also had no realism what so ever.  Seriously, when was the last time you saw three guys in a bar with babies strapped to their chests?   That’s right, never.  It wasn’t as bad as Free Agents was last year, but it was as bad as Whitney.  People trying too hard to be funny and they just aren’t.   But hey, Whitney got renewed so maybe that’s a good sign for the show!  All the other shows (Go On, Animal Practice, and The New Normal) I really enjoyed so I will be watching all of them.  A few things on each.  First, The New Normal.  I LOVE the cast.  Right off the bat, they all clicked immediately.  I found it sweet and heartwarming and the writing to be pretty witty.  The one thing I wish they would do is tone down Ellen Barkin’s character.  WOW!  I understand they are showing her as a racist bigot but does she need to be THAT awful and crude?  I think we can get the point without her being so offensive.  But what I do like is right off the bat, we get insight as to why she is that way.  It doesn’t make it right, but her anger towards gays is at least explained.  Her treatment of everyone else however…Yikes!   Animal Practice was great.  I can’t remember a show where an Animal Hospital was the focus.  I’m probably wrong about that but I like the uniqueness of it.  The one thing I worry about…JoAnna Garcia and Tyler Labine having Paula Marshall syndrome.  What the hell do I mean by that?  The Paula Marshall syndrome is a terrible syndrome for any TV actor.  Because Paula Marshall’s shows, always get canceled.  Lately, Labine and Garcia are cursed with Paula Marshall syndrome.  And it sucks because both of them are fantastic and don’t deserve it.  But I hope this is the show that gets them out of the canceled show track record.  I love Garcia and I’m glad she was a late addition to the show.  Another show where the chemistry of the cast was great right off the bat!   Finally Go On.  also enjoyed this.  Matthew Perry has had some back luck returning to TV (as the anchor of a show) and I hope the third time will be the charm for him (as a lead after Friends.)  Another great cast and unique premise.  All three of these shows are available online at NBC.com so check them out if you want…or just wait a few more days.
  • As for the dramas, I really like the look of Revolution and had no feeling either way on Chicago Fire.  I’ll watch CF but I don’t have high hopes.  Only because it seems lately cop shows and the like don’t seem to find an audience.  I wouldn’t be surprised if this is the first show canceled by NBC.  I could be way off base, but that’s what my initial reaction is.  Revolution has a great premise, if it can hold the audience.   There have been many shows on different networks who have tried to capture the “mythological” show audience since Lost went off the air.  Shows like Flash Forward, Alcatraz, and Terra Nova have all failed at their attempts.  Can Revolution buck the trend?  I guess we’ll have to wait and see!
 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 2, 2012 in Fall Preview, NBC

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “2012 NBC Fall Preview

  1. Eric

    September 5, 2012 at 9:57 pm

    Any word on when Smash is coming back? Will it be premiering in the winter/spring like last time?

     
    • fortheloveoftv

      September 5, 2012 at 11:21 pm

      Smash will be mid season. My mother is devastated about that…LOL!

       

Leave a Reply

 
