RSS

2012 CW Fall Preview

04 Sep

RETURNING SHOWS:

  • Hart of Dixie (10/2)
  • Supernatural (10/3)
  • 90210 (10/8)
  • Gossip Girl (10/8)
  • The Vampire Diaries (10/11)
  • Nikita (10/19)
NEW SHOWS:
  • Arrow (10/10)
  • Beauty & the Beast (10/11)
  • Emily Owens, M.D. (10/16)
SHOWS I AM MOST LOOKING FORWARD TO:
  • Supernatural
  • Arrow
SHOWS I AM LOSING INTEREST IN BUT WILL GIVE ONE MORE SEASON TO:
  • None
SHOWS I COULD CARE LESS ABOUT:
  • 90210
  • Gossip Girl
WHAT TO WATCH FOR:
  • Gossip Girl’s Final Season: I used to watch this show religiously.  But I stopped last season.  I just couldn’t take it anymore.  The storylines were bad, the characters became uninteresting, and since Chuck and Blair were denied a future again, I was done.  I might tune in for the final season but I think I’ll just wait for it on Netflix.  But for those of you who have stuck it out, it will be a nice swan song for the fans.
  • Supernatural’s New Showrunner: Jeremy Carver takes over for Sera Gamble as co-showrunner (with Robert Singer) and I say thank God!  Last season was bad.  I thought Season 6 was bad, last season was worse. I’m not saying it’s completely Gamble’s fault but she was responsible for the direction of the show and it was….disjointed…to be kind.  Carver left SN two seasons ago to create Being Human on the SyFy Channel with his wife.  Now he is back.  Carver is known for penning some of SN’s most popular and best episodes such as “A Very Supernatural Christmas”, “In the Beginning”, “Changing Channels” and more.   He also wrote the 100th episode “Point of No Return.”  Will that make him a great showrunner, we shall see.  But I can’t see SN getting any worse than it has been the last two seasons, and I really want my show back!!!!
EARLY THOUGHTS ON NEW SHOWS:
  • Not many new shows this fall on the CW.  I’m most intrigued by Arrow, cautiously optimistic about Emily Owens, M.D., and completely unsure about Beauty & the Beast.  I haven’t seen any of these shows…only clips.  Arrow has an interesting premise about a wealthy playboy who is presumed dead only to be living on an island for five years.  He comes home with a huge secret and lives by night as a vigilante called…Arrow.  It’s based on the DC Comics character.  I was also really excited for The Cape when it was introduced on NBC a year and half ago and that didn’t turn out so well.  Not because the premise was bad, but the writing and execution wasn’t strong.  Hopefully, this show will be better.  Emily Owens stars Mamie Gummer (who I love) in the title role as a dorky intern fighting her inner high school demons when high school literally follows her to this Denver hospital.  It has a decent cast and Gummer is always so charming on-screen.  I just don’t know if the story will be good enough to maintain longevity.  BATB, to me, comes across as the typical police procedural that uses the popular story of BATB to attract viewers.  In fairness, I don’t know enough about it to make a very accurate assessment, but I will tune in to see if it can work for me.
 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 4, 2012 in CW, Fall Preview

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “2012 CW Fall Preview

  1. sportsattitudes

    September 17, 2012 at 2:40 pm

    You know I agree with you completely the last two seasons of Supernatural were about as disappointing as could be. Early things I am reading about how this season will roll out don’t sound very encouraging to me…but as usual I’ll give Jensen and Jared another view. At this point, I still plan on watching it to the end…if it ever does end!

     
    • fortheloveoftv

      September 18, 2012 at 6:20 pm

      I’m with you on that. As long as SN is on, I will be watching. And you know what, at some point, shows just run their course. Maybe that’s the case here. You would think though, the 6th and 7th seasons shouldn’t have run out of material to the point where what we saw was produced. I think it was bad direction and writing. But now we’re getting into the latter parts of this series so I’m with you, I’m getting nervous. No matter when it ends, I’d really like it to go out on a high note!

       

Leave a Reply

 
