RSS

2012 FOX Fall Preview

04 Sep

RETURNING SHOWS:

  • NFL Football (9/9)
  • The X Factor (9/12 & 13)
  • Glee (9/13)
  • Bones (9/17)
  • New Girl (9/25)
  • Kitchen Nightmares (9/28)
  • Fringe (9/28)
  • The Simpsons (9/30)
  • Bob’s Burgers (9/30)
  • Family Guy (9/30)
  • American Dad (9/30)
  • The Cleveland Show (10/7)
  • Touch (10/26)
NEW SHOWS:
  • The Mob Doctor (9/17)
  • Ben & Kate (9/25)
  • The Mindy Project (9/25)
SHOWS I AM MOST LOOKING FORWARD TO:
  • Bones (Bones is on the run from the law.  Will Booth clear her name so she can come back?)
  • NFL Football
  • New Girl
  • Ben & Kate
  • The Mob Doctor
  • The Mindy Project
SHOWS I AM LOSING INTEREST IN BUT WILL GIVE ONE MORE SEASON TO:
  • None
SHOWS I COULD CARE LESS ABOUT:
  • Glee
  • The X Factor
  • Kitchen Nightmares
  • The Simpsons
  • The Cleveland Show
  • Family Guy
  • American Dad
  • Touch
WHAT TO WATCH FOR:
  • Fringe the Final Season: People have been asking me to check out Fringe for a long time.  Now that’s it’s almost over…oh well!  I’m just kidding.  I will check out Fringe…hopefully it will be coming to Netflix sometime soon.  I’m glad they are going the Chuck route with Fringe.   Like Chuck, it was never a ratings darling but it was certainly a media and fan darling.  The people who watched it, loved it and were very loyal to it.  And also like Chuck, Fringe went through the stress every season of wondering whether or not what the fans watched was their last.  In fairness to the fans, we all know this will be Fringe’s last season and the writers will be able to send the show out on their terms…which I always appreciate.
  • Glee’s moving to Thursdays: I’m not sure why Glee is on Thursdays at 9pm, but it is now.   My Thursday night is already jam-packed and since this show didn’t deliver in its third season (until the last 3 episodes) I’m done with iTunes, I mean Glee.  The show is terrible and now that the cast is divided, I have even less reason to watch.
  • Bones moves to Mondays: Just like Thursday, I already have too much to watch on Monday night.  (Same with Sunday.)  Bones has been all over the schedule the past few years so I hope moving it again doesn’t screw up the ratings.  But I have a feeling, if you’re still watching Bones at this point, you’ll find it no matter what.
EARLY THOUGHTS ON NEW SHOWS:
  • I liked all three shows when I watched them.  Ben & Kate surprised me the most.  I really didn’t think I was going to like it and I ended up LOVING it.  The Mob Doctor looks fascinating to me.  But FOX doesn’t have much success with dramas and doesn’t have a lot of patience for them.  So I don’t know if a show like that will stick around but I hope it does.  I’m still mad Alcatraz was canceled.  Hell I’m still mad Reunion was canceled!!!!  The Mindy Project was ok. I didn’t laugh out loud but I enjoyed it.  It very much mirrored the romantic comedies Mindy loves and watches in her down time.  And since Iove them too, I didn’t mind that approach to the story.  But if it’s supposed to be a comedy, I need some humor at some point.   But overall, thumbs up on the new FOX shows.
 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 4, 2012 in Fall Preview, FOX

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “2012 FOX Fall Preview

  1. Eric

    September 4, 2012 at 8:56 pm

    I watched the first episode of Ben & Kate online and I thought it was hilarious. Thanks for the heads up, I’ll definitely be adding this one to the DVR list.

     
    • fortheloveoftv

      September 4, 2012 at 9:26 pm

      Me too! I was surprised how much I laughed out loud. I thought Ben would annoy the hell out of me but I found him so charming and likable and he was hysterical! I actually liked all the characters. the thing I liked most was how sweet the relationship between Ben & Kate was. You can tell how much they care about one another and I can’t wait to see more episodes!

      Thanks for the comments!

       

Leave a Reply

 
