RSS

RECAP & REVIEW: Once Upon a Time…Season 2 So Far

30 Oct

Does anyone else feel that there are starting to be WAAAAAY too many characters and lands?   We are only 5 episodes in and it’s starting to feel a bit too much.  Let’s take a look at all the new people we have met so far this season:

  • Aurora (Sleeping Beauty)
  • Mulan
  • Sir Lancelot
  • Captain Hook
  • Smee
  • Dr. Frankenstein

Rumored to be joining the cast this season are:

  • Aladdin
  • Jafar
  • Rapunzel
  • Ariel
  • Jack and the Beanstalk

And here is who we already have as the main cast or regular recurring characters:

  • Emma
  • Henry
  • Snow White
  • Prince Charming
  • Little Red Ridding Hood
  • The Evil Queen
  • Rumplestiltskin
  • Belle
  • Jiminy Cricket
  • The Mad Hatter
  • Grumpy (and the other 6 dwarves)
  • Pinocchio
  • Geppetto
  • The Blue Fairy
  • King George

Finally, other characters we have met:

  • Cinderella
  • Cinderella’s Prince
  • King Midas
  • Princess Abigal
  • The Magic Mirror
  • Cora
  • Malificent
  • Hansel and Gretel
  • Prince Phillip (Aurora’s Prince)

Wow.  Even I didn’t realize how many people/characters there were until I just wrote that list.  I love the show, but I think we’re getting slightly out of hand.  In addition to all those characters we also have several different lands and possibly another one on the way.  We have current day Storybrooke, past Fairy Tale land, current Fairy Tale land, Wonderland and possibly Neverland.   We are starting to creep into “Lost” territory of becoming too complicated with different timelines and too many characters confusing and frustrating viewers.

I remember when Lost hit its second season and they brought in the “tailies” as they were affectionately called.  Then you had all their back stories and story lines and it took away from the main characters we had grown to care about.  At least for me, and many other Lost fans I talked to, people wanted more focus on the driver characters….Jack, Sawyer, Kate, Charlie, Claire, Sayid, Jin, Sun, Locke, Michael, Walt, and Hurley.  Eventually that extended to Ben Linus, Desmond, Penny, Juliette, Farraday, Richard, The Man in Black, and Jacob.  But anyone else (especially Paolo and Nikki…ugh) were sort of distractions from the core group.  That’s how OUAT is starting to get, for me.   Yes there are lots of Disney and fairy tale characters that would be interesting to see on the show.  However, we don’t need to see them all at once and unless they make sense to the story, we don’t need to see them at all.  For example, Sleeping Beauty.  I love Sarah Bolger but I’m not sure why Sleeping Beauty is in the story right now.  What is her purpose?  Really?   So I hope that OUAT doesn’t get too carried away with all the Disney/fairy tale characters they want to introduce to us and keep it simple and streamlined and make it about the story.

Speaking of which, what do you think is the over arcing premise of this season?  Last season it was getting Emma to believe so she can break the curse.  Now what is it?  Is it getting the characters back to their true land?  Is it learning to live in this new land as their characters?  Is it taking down Regina?  Is it Rumplestilkin’s quest for magic so he can find his son?   Maybe it’s a combination of all of these things.   My early impressions are that season one really set the base of who these people are, how Emma is connected to them, and that once the curse was broken, it opened opportunities to go in many different directions in season two.  And while I’m on board for the ride, I hope the ride has a destination.

Having said all that, I’m really enjoying this season.  Most especially, I’m really enjoying seeing the relationship with Snow White and Emma develop while they are in Fairy Tale land.  Their relationship has to slightly shift from being a BFF type of connection to mother/daughter.   Not that mothers and daughters can’t be BFFs but you know what I mean.  It’s different.  I loved the 4th episode when Emma got to see what would have been her nursery and what her mother did to protect her.  All this time she was angry at Snow for sending her away and that she would have rather been scared but with her parents than safe and alone.  But after seeing the devastation, she can appreciate what they did to protect her.  And to be fair, isn’t that exactly what she did for Henry?  You would think Emma would be more understanding considering she gave her son up for adoption.  But the new closeness developing between her and Snow is awesome.  Likewise, the relationship between Henry and Charming is adorable.

We got a better understanding of one of the big stories this season…Rumpy and his quest for magic.  Belle seemed to think (as I’m sure most of the viewers) that Rumpy was going for the magic because he was still “The Dark One” from FTL (Fairy Tale Land) and he was obsessed with the power it brought.  While maybe there’s a small part of him feeling that way, it’s not the driving reason.  The driving reason is because he feels he needs that magic to find his son…Baelfire (Bae as he calls him.)

I’m going to go out on a huge prediction limb as to who Bae is going to end up being.  Are you ready?  Brace yourself…….I think Bae is going to end up being Henry’s biological father.  BAM!!!  I’m not sure how old Bae was when he went through the magic bean portal to the “land with no magic” and I don’t know when that happened in relation to when baby Emma went through with Pinocchio.  But I think it’s VERY possible, that that is who Bae will be.  You heard it here first people!!!

In Sunday night’s episode, we finally learned who Dr. Whale was.  There was much speculation that because of the “Whale” last name, that he could be Captain Ahab or Ishmael.  Instead, it a surprising twist, he had nothing to do with Melville’s novel and was actually the main characters in Mary Shelley’s novel….Victor Frankenstein. Now call me crazy but at one point, I actually thought he was possibly The Wizard of Oz but my husband said right away he was Dr. Frankenstein.   Before you bust a gut laughing, here’s why I thought he might be the Wizard of Oz.  First, the Mad Hatter described him not only as a wizard, but as wonderful.  Then, there was talk about how things happen in “his land.”  Finally he was looking for a heart (possibly for the Tin Man.)  So there were many references to the idea of him being the Wizard of Oz.  But when you see him bringing back someone from the dead (and his apprentice called him Victor) it was kind of sign, sealed, and delivered at that point that he was the famous Doctor.

I am enjoying this season and I’m anxious to see where all this is going.  What are your thoughts on Season 2 so far?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 30, 2012 in ABC, Recaps and Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “RECAP & REVIEW: Once Upon a Time…Season 2 So Far

  1. Kaylah Richards

    November 1, 2012 at 10:50 pm

    I never really thought about Bae being Henry’s biological father. There’s definitely a good chance of that happening with this show, so I’m very curious to see how your theory plays out! So far I’ve really enjoyed this season of Once Upon a Time too, but I can definitely see where you are coming from saying everything is getting a bit complicated. I have no idea what Aurora’s purpose on the show is yet either! I haven’t seen the Dr. Whale episode just yet, but I knew after one of my coworkers at DISH showed me a preview for the episode a few weeks ago that he would be Dr. Frankenstein. It was just way too obvious to me, but I’m still rather interested in watching the episode and seeing the Wizard of Oz connection. Lucky for me my Hopper DVR’s PrimeTime Anytime feature records this show for me every Sunday automatically, so I’ll be able to watch the latest episode I have saved this weekend before the new one. I honestly didn’t think this show could get any better after the first season, but so far I really love it, and can’t wait to see what happens next! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
