RSS

RECAP & REVIEW: Dexter “Helter Skelter” S7 E9

26 Nov

Is it wrong that I’m a little sad that Issak is dead?  I really liked his character and I was hoping he’d be sticking around a little bit longer.  He was a great foil for Dexter and their chemistry was fantastic.  But it was inevitable that he had to die so I guess I can’t be too upset.

How do you all feel about Hannah?  I really want to like them together because of what she gives Dexter…someone he can completely be himself around.  She knows all about who he is and she doesn’t judge him because he doesn’t judge her.  In many ways, she’s the perfect person for him.  But I worry that she can’t be trusted.  One false move from Dexter or maybe he doesn’t put the dishes in the dishwasher correctly and poof!  She poisons him and he’s a goner.  I can see why Deb is so concerned about that.  Because she has no code like Dexter.  She’s just a killer.  Whatever her reasons or motives are, she’s more unpredictable and that’s very dangerous.

It appears as though the Deb being in love with Dexter story is finally put to rest.  I guess the writers felt they couldn’t just walk away and ignore it so this was a way to acknowledge the fact that it was there, it was addressed and now is handled.  Basically Dexter gave Deb the “don’t worry you are so screwed up you’re in love with me” speech.  He told her that while he can’t reciprocate, he can understand why her feelings went there.  Deb is still creeped out by the whole thing (as are we all) but is going to move past it and just go back to normal with Dexter.   Thank God.   I give Dexter mad props here because if it were me and my sibling told me they were in love with me, I don’t think I could ever be around them again.   But since Dexter is asking Deb, a police detective, to accept the fact that he’s a serial killer, I guess it’s only fair he learn to accept and move past the idea that his sister’s in love with him.

LaGuerta and Matthews are working together again…well, kind of.  I thought it took a lot of balls for Maria to go see Tom after she destroyed his career.  But to her point, kill or be killed and he was after her just as much as she was after him.  She just ended up winning.  We’ve already talked about how Maria never believed Doakes was the Bay Harbor Butcher.  Now she’s on Dexter’s trail.  The scent is getting stronger and stronger and now she’s strategizing with Matthews over the Butcher case and who the actual perpetrator is.  My question is, why does Matthews care?  I know why Maria is invested in this but why, with Matthews career  destroyed, care?  He cares because he wants Maria to get him reinstated so he can work just long enough to get his pension.  She agrees and so their investigation begins.   This is sooo bad for Dexter.  It’s one thing to have Maria on your trail.  Now he’ll have former Captain Matthews as well?  It’s really getting for ugly.   To the point of, what the hell is he going to do?  He can’t kill them, they don’t fit his code.  So what does he do when they find out?

Other Random Thoughts:

  1. At this point, it’s not a matter of if Quinn dies, but when.
  2. Looks like we have a new Big Bad in the form of a serial arsonist.  Will this story run into next season or be wrapped up this year?   It’s hard to believe we are throwing another element into this season with already so much going on!
  3. Does anyone else care about Batista’s restaurant?   I’m not sure why it’s being mentioned but part of me thinks it must be for a bigger reason.  At first I thought it was just to set up Batista’s retirement when the show ends next season but the fact that it’s mentioned in every episodes means it could be something more.   Then again, maybe I’m just reading too much into it.
  4. It’s also official that George is a dead man at this point and possibly Nadia as well.

Only three episodes left.   How will this season end and what will the set up for the final season be?  I can’t wait to find out!!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 26, 2012 in Recaps and Reviews, Showtime

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “RECAP & REVIEW: Dexter “Helter Skelter” S7 E9

  1. Mani

    November 27, 2012 at 3:22 am

    Mathews was Harry Morgan’s best friend and watched over Dexter and Deb. Not sure if he’s going to like Maria implicating Dexter as the BHB.

     
    • fortheloveoftv

      November 27, 2012 at 12:02 pm

      I agree but at this point, it seems he’s more concerned with his pension. So if Dex and Deb are collateral damage, I don’t think he’ll care. But I don’t know, because you’re right, he was very tight and protective of them.

       

Leave a Reply

 
