RSS

REVIEW: Bones “The Blackout in the Blizzard” S6 E16

27 Mar

I’ll be honest, the case this week wasn’t that interesting to me so I am not going to touch on it.  Sorry!  But I want to talk about the 2 core relationships on the show: Angela and Hodgins and of course, Booth and Brennan.  So this was the much buzzed about episode with Booth and Brennan trapped in an elevator and a major conversation about their relationship takes place there.  I would say some interesting conversation happens there but I think a pivotal conversation happens later at Booth’s apartment.  But let’s get to Ang and Hodgins first.

I can’t even begin to tell you how many times I cried watching these two.  TJ Thyne and Michaela Conlin are so incredible.  People always talk about the chemistry between Emily Deschanel and David Boreanaz and make no mistake, those people aren’t wrong about that.  I am also one those people.  But no one every really talks about the chemistry between Conlin and Thyne.  It is wonderful.  They were so good, I felt guilty watching their scenes.  The reason why, is because I felt like I was intruding on a real couple’s private concern and pain.   Angela was very concerned about being a carrier for this genetic marker that could mean the baby could be blind.  Hodgins was just tested to find out if he was also a carrier (which is the only way the baby could be in danger of being blind.)  He spent most of the episode trying to reassure Angela that everything would be fine.  It was such a long shot (like 1 in a million) that he was going to be a carrier.  However, his buddy Wendell could see that he was also nervous.  Hodgins tried to blow it off and remind him he needs to be strong for Angela but Wendell could see right through it.  Finally Hodgins gets the call.  You don’t need to hear the conversation and you never need to hear him actually say it.  It is all over his face and in the tone of his voice that he is also a carrier.  He breaks down in tears in front of Wendell and is so worried to tell Angela for fear she is going to hate him.  I know I’ve been there when you hear news of something that is completely out of your control and you are so afraid to tell the person this also affects because you fear they will be disappointed in you.  I was crying right with him.  Wendell was being a really good friend by understanding Hodgins’ fear and sadness but also by respectfully telling him that Angela won’t be mad at him and that they will get through this.  As this is going on, Angela walks in with a smile on her face which quickly disappears when she sees Hodgins face.  Wendell excuses himself and we see Hodgins telling Angela through the glass window and she lovingly grabs his face and hugs him as he tearfully tells her that he’s a carrier.  It was such a touching moment and was crying like a baby!!   Towards the end of the episode, after the case was solved and they were heading home, Ang and Hodgins had another beautiful scene.  Hodgins started talking about how Ang would need to learn sculpting because if the baby can’t paint, he/she could sculpt and still have Angela’s artistic influence.  And he wants to take up piano so he can teach the baby piano together.  I loved how he was taking this situation and looking for all the positives.  Angela did remind him that there is still a chance the baby will be just fine and no matter what happens, they can handle anything because they have each other.  Another water works moment for yours truly!  Since the writers are farting around with Booth and Brennan, it’s nice to see such a strong, solid couple we can always rely on.   And speaking of Booth and Brennan….

What did you think of Booth and Brennan during this episode?  I love them.  I have always loved them and I will always love them.  I was cracking up with the elevator scene.  First and foremost, being from Philadelphia (where David Boreanaz grew up) and being an Eagles fan, I can COMPLETELY appreciate Booth wanting those Vet Stadium seats (I actually have 2 seats myself!)  There was some great interacting between B&B and Sweets with Sweets trying to get them to talk about their feelings towards each other.  It got a little ugly when he brought up Hannah but he and Booth were fine by the end of the episode.

What I was waiting for was this BIG conversation B&B were going to have about their relationship in the elevator that was teased to us but it never happened.  Unless you count Brennan bringing up the idea of them sleeping together..you know considering their stamina it would be quite satisfying!   Ha!!  That was fantastic.  But other than that, nothing of significance was discussed and it was the same old, “we’re not a couple” and “we don’t need to talk about this right now” and blah blah blah.  I was pissed.  I thought I was going to tweet Hart Hanson about how I have had enough of all of this teasing of B&B getting together and it never happening.  Because he would listen to me.  I’m sure of it.  But then the scene in Booth’s apartment happened.  And I’m torn on how I feel about it.

In Booth’s apartment, Booth admitted that what happened between him and Hannah really threw him for a loop.  Therefore, he is not ready to go down a serious path just yet.  His heart and head need some time to recoup.  On the flip side, Brennan admits that when he first asked her to get together, she was impervious to those types of advances.  But she also admitted that she could see a time where she isn’t so impervious and would consider opening up to the idea of a relationship with Booth.  So what they decided to do was write down a date and burn it for good luck.  Supposedly that will be the date they are ready to get together.   The good news is that I think this is great progress.  Both parties for the first time, basically admitted that they would like to start a relationship together, just not right now.  That’s a HUGE step from them never admitting to wanting to be together and being just friends and colleagues and also him being ready but she isn’t and then she’s ready but he isn’t.  They are on the same page to want to try just not yet.  The bad news is that with this blind date that was written down and not shared means Hart Hanson and crew can drag this on for seasons to come.  Ugh!!!!!!  Also, I understand what Booth was trying to do, but I thought it was incredibly silly.  I would rather him have grabbed her hand, looked her in the eye and said “look, we aren’t in a position to do this right now.  But I am willing to wait.  Wait until you’re ready and wait until I’m ready to give this a chance.  What do you say?   Do you agree” as he extends his hand for a “seal the deal” handshake.  Brennan would then slap his hand away and say “this is how you seal a deal” and rip off her clothes, rip off his clothes, and have sex with him during the 3 week hiatus.  Really, would that have been too hard to direct?   Ha!!!  In all seriousness, can you imagine how all the B&B fans would be for 3 weeks if THAT happened?  I know I would be dancing in the streets.

While I think it’s great that B&B are moving closer and closer to a relationship together, I still feel like this isn’t happening any time soon.  This is also seems to be the type of story you get after a major fight in the writers rooms.  I have no inside knowledge of this and I am only guessing but I can just imagine writers are very split on what to do with B&B.  I can see some writers vehemently opposing their getting together until the end of the series.  And I can see some writers vehemently saying that they need to stop jerking the viewers around or they are going to stop watching the show.  This placates both parties.  B&B didn’t get together but they did give the fans hope that yes something will happen just not right now.  I have to admit that for a while, I really wasn’t sure that the writers were going to ever put them together.  Now I have confirmation that they will I just may have to wait until I turn 80.

How did you feel about this episode?  Were pleased with the “advancements” in B&B’s relationship?  Or are you just as frustrated as before?   And aren’t 100% convinced the Angela and Hodgins are going to be the best parents ever?   I want to hear from you!!!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 27, 2011 in FOX, Recaps and Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “REVIEW: Bones “The Blackout in the Blizzard” S6 E16

  1. Allie

    March 28, 2011 at 10:08 pm

    Bones has gotten so boring now. I prety much just fast forward and only watch the Hodgela parts. They’re so sweet! B&B are really annoying. Hart Hanson obviously isn’t going to put them together until the end of the series so it;s pointless to watch.

     
  2. fortheloveoftv

    March 29, 2011 at 11:23 am

    Allie,

    I still love Bones because I love all the characters on the show and I think the cases are very interesting for the most part. I have some friends who have grown tired of Bones but it’s mainly because they are B&B fans and nothing else. They don’t care about Cam, Hodgins, Angela, Sweets, or any of the squints. I don’t know how you can watch Bones and NOT care about any of those characters but they don’t and all they care about is B&B.

    I think you get to the point where the very thing you are trying to avoid is exactly what is going to happen. I think writers worry that putting these couples together too soon causes people to lose interest in their shows because a big element to their show is this “will they or won’t they” underlying sexual chemistry and tension. I don’t think those people are giving their shows enough credit. While I understand it’s a huge part of the show, it’s not the only reason people watch. And if you keep jerking viewers around with “will they/won’t they” eventually people tire of it and will move on anyway.

    So wouldn’t you rather give viewers what they want (especially for a show like Bones in their 6th season going into their 7th) and therefore open the show up to go in a whole other different and interesting direction than keep doing the same old same old and risk frustrating your viewers and losing them altogether? I think the answer is pretty simple.

     

Leave a comment